We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the middle of Salisbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Cathedral Gate is a nice little Hotel in the middle of Salisbury, only a few minutes (5-10) away from the cathedral area. Although it's nice to have a restaurant / bar in the same building it get's rather noisy in front of the building, when the room is facing the street instead of the inner courtyard.
Breakfast was ok and the staff was really friendly.
Checkin was ok considering that we were a large group. Unfortunately you can't park your car close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you to you and your group for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Salisbury. We are pleased your overall experience was a good one and that our staff looked after you well during your stay. We hope you visit Salisbury again and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Visited with friends and had a good time. Staff at the Hotel are very attentive, helpful and friendly - breakfast was fresh and plentiful! Plenty of space inside but no parking for hotel guests.
The Hotel is used as a meeting place for young people at the weekend so lots of late night music and dancing - there are ear plugs in the bedrooms for a reason! All the same, we were on a higher level floor and the noise was OK as we were up late as well!!

Room Tip: Have a higher level floor room to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazzzylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor, being constructive, honest and giving potential guests a clear understanding of what to expect when they stay with us at the weekend. We would ask all potential guests to read reviews and ensure thay book with us for the right experience. During the week we offer a quiet relaxed experience with rooms that are well decorated, have no phones, but offer lots of little extras you would not expect from a 2 star hotel, free Wi-Fi, 22-inch flat-screen TVs with Freeview digital channels, plentifull tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplies. All rooms have iron boards, hair dryers, small safe and a high
standard of towels and linen.
At the weekends our bar gets very busy and is open until 2am with d.j. entertainment. You can hear some street or bar noise in some rooms.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

the hotel location was great central to every thing.the service was excellent.breakfast very good .a happy large bar with life in it. the reception were helpful and friendly the dinning area was a.lways busy thats a good sign .will stay at this hotel again in september.salisbury cathedral is 10 minute walk away you can get a bus from the station to stonehenge

Room Tip: i liked the top floor quite with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadviser, about your stay at our hotel.
I am very happy that our team where helpful and helped you enjoy your stay in Salisbury. It is great that you are coming back to stay with us in September.

Kind Regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have previously stayed her with my husband last year. I spent 2 nights there with a friend of mine this month for a birthday treat for her. The hotel is still 'as good as new', the staff welcoming, and for two women by themselves we felt extremely safe and secure. We used the hotel as a central, convenient base to explore all that salisbury has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you decided to come back and see us again and I am happy we did not dissapoint.

Best Wishes.
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed one night for business. Was a bit worried given that there's a pub on the ground floor and there were earplugs provided in the room but they weren't at all necessary. Only disappointment was Salisbury itself, where the shops closed before 6pm!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNTNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind comments. I am sorry you did not particularly like Salisbury. We would love to look after you again if you have the need to visit Salisbury again.

Kind Regards,
Tihe Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My wife and I found the Cathedral Hotel delightful, with a modern yet relaxing feel. The attentiveness and friendliness of all the staff I was beginning to think had been lost on most hotels, but we found it alive and kicking at the Cathedral Hotel.

The facilities were also exceptionally good. I wouldn't describe myself as much of a football fan, however I did fancy watching one of the few games I watch each year, the FA cup. I was surprised to find that our hotel had a great screen to watch the football on as well as a further two T.V.s in the bar area. There was a third televison in a quieter part of the ground floor that staff had not put on respectfully catering for anyone who just wanted a quiet meal or coffee. These wonderful facilities were completely understated with no advertising outside the hotel mentioning that the game was on or even that they had televisions. Again this was thoughtfulness on behalf of the management team making sure that they attracted the "right type of customer" and looked after the residents of the hotel first and foremost.

The room we stayed in was roomy and decorated so well you felt you were in a far grander hotel. Overall the Cathedral Hotel was a lucky find in the centre of Salisbury that had far more to offer than I had been expecting.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chilliguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for completing a review on Tripadvisor. I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us and noticed all the little things we do to ensure our guests have a pleasant time. We hope to look after you again if you visit Salisbury.

Kind Regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The good:
Friendly staff.
Breakfast included.
Located in city, convenient walk to dining, attractions, etc…
Fairly close to Stonehenge
The bad:
No free parking. Pay to park one block away.
Ground floor is used as a night club catering to rude, hormone-drunk, over-perfumed, and underdressed youths that guests have to swim through to get to the hotel part.
Night club is very noisy which can be heard on the second floor (third floor for US people) despite the significant sound insulation.
Avoid on Friday and Saturday nights at all costs. (Unless, of course, you are a rude, hormone-drunk, over-perfumed, and underdressed youth)

Room Tip: Seek rooms on the highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank codyayrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Dear Guest

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
We take all feedback very seriously and if possible improve our services and facilities. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, our location and your breakfast.

Kind Regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing