We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We recently spent a night at this delightful hotel in Salisbury. We booked a three bed room and were very happy to find it quite spacious, with very comfortable beds, lovely soft white sheets, and a well appointed ensuite. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the meals were great - a lovely cooked breakfast was included in the price and we also had dinner there which was also very good. Our room was on the street but we had no problems with noise. The hotel is right in the town and just a short walk away from the wonderful Salisbury Cathedral (the Magna Carta is found in the building next to the Cathedral). We arrived at Salisbury by train and took a bus tour to Stonehenge (which leaves from the train station). The Cathedral Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station but the tour bus dropped us off in town close to the hotel after the tour. We came to Salisbury to do the 2 day Clarendon Way walk to Winchester (24 miles) and were very happy that we had chosen the Cathedral Hotel. Apart from the great service and facillities, it is on the road where our walk commenced! Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GortyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and I do hope the walk was not too challenging.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Wasn't sure about booking this as no parking and nightclub which I thought may become too roudy. However, I take it all back. It was fantastic!! The lunch was outstanding. Then had a stroll around the town, all within walking distance. Then back to hotel to freshen up and dinner before the night club opened. A brilliant atmosphere!!The breakfast topped off a brilliant stay!
I would certainly visit there again and would recommend it!!!

Room Tip: A good party with brilliant atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you took the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users so they could have the benefit of your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to look after you in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The owners must decide if this is run as a hotel or and exceedingly noisy nightclub. Although you cannot fault the friendly staff or the hotel’s cleanliness they don’t supply you with free earplugs for no reason. We had a room three floors up with triple glazing and the noise was still very disturbing. The decibel level from the nightclub must exceed all allowable levels. This noise continues beyond 2am and is then followed by loud revellers in the street below awaiting taxis. To say on the website that locals enjoy a chat there is not credible. We left the restaurant because you couldn’t hear yourself talking. We complained and received a refund of one night's stay. The manager agreed there was a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms very noisy. Disco some nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wandsworthlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and hotel. We are sorry you booked for the wrong experience - our website clearly states at weekends we are a busy bar and disco in the middle of the city and are open until 2am with a DJ. We have secondary glazing installed which I believe you had opened, due to the hot weather. This of course will lead to you being able to hear noise from the city centre. We do suggest guests use the ceiling fans to help cool the room, instead of opening the windows. Contrary to what you stated, I did not agree with you that we had a problem and I gave you a refund as a gesture of goodwill. This was because you had told me you paid a lot for parking as you had parked in the wrong car park as well as not having had a very good stay. During the week we offer a relaxed environment with very good quality rooms, with lots of extras you would not normally receive in a two star hotel in this area at a great price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Cathedral Gate is a nice little Hotel in the middle of Salisbury, only a few minutes (5-10) away from the cathedral area. Although it's nice to have a restaurant / bar in the same building it get's rather noisy in front of the building, when the room is facing the street instead of the inner courtyard.
Breakfast was ok and the staff was really friendly.
Checkin was ok considering that we were a large group. Unfortunately you can't park your car close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you to you and your group for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Salisbury. We are pleased your overall experience was a good one and that our staff looked after you well during your stay. We hope you visit Salisbury again and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Visited with friends and had a good time. Staff at the Hotel are very attentive, helpful and friendly - breakfast was fresh and plentiful! Plenty of space inside but no parking for hotel guests.
The Hotel is used as a meeting place for young people at the weekend so lots of late night music and dancing - there are ear plugs in the bedrooms for a reason! All the same, we were on a higher level floor and the noise was OK as we were up late as well!!

Room Tip: Have a higher level floor room to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazzzylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor, being constructive, honest and giving potential guests a clear understanding of what to expect when they stay with us at the weekend. We would ask all potential guests to read reviews and ensure thay book with us for the right experience. During the week we offer a quiet relaxed experience with rooms that are well decorated, have no phones, but offer lots of little extras you would not expect from a 2 star hotel, free Wi-Fi, 22-inch flat-screen TVs with Freeview digital channels, plentifull tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplies. All rooms have iron boards, hair dryers, small safe and a high
standard of towels and linen.
At the weekends our bar gets very busy and is open until 2am with d.j. entertainment. You can hear some street or bar noise in some rooms.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

the hotel location was great central to every thing.the service was excellent.breakfast very good .a happy large bar with life in it. the reception were helpful and friendly the dinning area was a.lways busy thats a good sign .will stay at this hotel again in september.salisbury cathedral is 10 minute walk away you can get a bus from the station to stonehenge

Room Tip: i liked the top floor quite with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadviser, about your stay at our hotel.
I am very happy that our team where helpful and helped you enjoy your stay in Salisbury. It is great that you are coming back to stay with us in September.

Kind Regards,
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have previously stayed her with my husband last year. I spent 2 nights there with a friend of mine this month for a birthday treat for her. The hotel is still 'as good as new', the staff welcoming, and for two women by themselves we felt extremely safe and secure. We used the hotel as a central, convenient base to explore all that salisbury has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you decided to come back and see us again and I am happy we did not dissapoint.

Best Wishes.
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
943 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing