We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, but ...”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel looks very nice when you get in and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are pretty big, so far all is good. But as you go along you'll notice all kind of little things wrong with the room: light switch that doesn't work, The door that isn't very easy to open, the water in the shower that doesn't run away properly ect.
The breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijketje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, but we cannot correct any of these items for future guests as you did not tell us before you left. We can sometimes work out which rooms or guests are leaving reviews but on this occasion we have no idea which room you stayed in.
We would ask all guests either to let our receptionist know if there are issues with any of our rooms facilities or complete a maintainance form that can be found at the back of all the welcome packs in our rooms.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    140
    75
    23
    23
See reviews for
71
156
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for one night only for a Saturday, from the moment we booked we were made aware of the late night disco that would take place, we received 2 emails confirming our booking and pointing out there would be noise so we were made fully aware of what to expect. There was noise so if you want a quiet Saturday night break this is not the place for you!
Otherwise I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel, it is in a good central location, very clean, staff were welcoming. The restaurant food was excellent, good choice on the breakfast menu so no complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceyp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Guest

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your heading of a good honest hotel. We try very hard to ensure guests book rooms with us for the right occasion. During the week, ''relaxed and quiet'', at the weekend, ''lively busy bar in the heart of the city''. We hope you visit Salisbury again and look forward to looking after you.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good:
The design was very nice in the rooms and in the bar. Hotel was also very clean.
The hotel felt very secure as you had a key to use the lift and to get up the stairs meaning that guests from the pub could not get up to the rooms.
The bar was quite busy and I was not disturbed by the noise at all.
Great Location - 10 minutes walk to station, right by the shops and restaurants

Not so good:
Whilst the bathroom was clean it had a funny smell in it.
Room was very warm and bordered on uncomfortable.
The first day I went down to breakfast I received a very frosty reception from the girl on duty and she took so long to acknowledge me that I didn't have time to try the cooked breakfast.
When I ate in the bar on the last night of my stay, they ran out of the dish I had ordered and whilst they offered me an alternative I was not offered a price reduction. It also took 45 minutes for my food to come and whilst the staff were pleasant I had to get up and ask to pay the bill as the service was pretty inattentive

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest feedback on your visit to our hotel, your kind comments about our staff, the cleanlyness of our hotel and the decor. Unfortunately sometimes when guests have issues during their stay, they choose to only share those issues on their reviews and this is not very helpful for potential visitors or to us, as we cannot correct things that have gone wrong. I am very sorry for the service issues you had. I have found your details on our system, so will investigate these and the issues you mentioned with the room, so I can feedback to you directly.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Thank you for a very comfortable overnight stay to enable us to attend a family wedding.
Staff very polite and helpful.
We stayed on the 3rd floor and nose from below not noticable and we did not need the
ear plugs provided.
Very impressed on arriving back to the hotel late with a well behaved group of youngsters
waiting to get in,once we informed the doorman we were guests of the hotel we were shown in ,a table cleared and are order of drinks taken and brought to the table.
Lovely breakfast a wide choice. Thank you we will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floor if possible to avoid noise at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lerwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to looking after you again when you visit Salisbury. We are always very grateful, when our guests appreciate the little extras that our staff do, to try and make their stay a grate one. This gives us the opportunity to feedback and reward our team.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We recently spent a night at this delightful hotel in Salisbury. We booked a three bed room and were very happy to find it quite spacious, with very comfortable beds, lovely soft white sheets, and a well appointed ensuite. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the meals were great - a lovely cooked breakfast was included in the price and we also had dinner there which was also very good. Our room was on the street but we had no problems with noise. The hotel is right in the town and just a short walk away from the wonderful Salisbury Cathedral (the Magna Carta is found in the building next to the Cathedral). We arrived at Salisbury by train and took a bus tour to Stonehenge (which leaves from the train station). The Cathedral Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station but the tour bus dropped us off in town close to the hotel after the tour. We came to Salisbury to do the 2 day Clarendon Way walk to Winchester (24 miles) and were very happy that we had chosen the Cathedral Hotel. Apart from the great service and facillities, it is on the road where our walk commenced! Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GortyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and I do hope the walk was not too challenging.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Wasn't sure about booking this as no parking and nightclub which I thought may become too roudy. However, I take it all back. It was fantastic!! The lunch was outstanding. Then had a stroll around the town, all within walking distance. Then back to hotel to freshen up and dinner before the night club opened. A brilliant atmosphere!!The breakfast topped off a brilliant stay!
I would certainly visit there again and would recommend it!!!

Room Tip: A good party with brilliant atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you took the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users so they could have the benefit of your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to look after you in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Cathedral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The owners must decide if this is run as a hotel or and exceedingly noisy nightclub. Although you cannot fault the friendly staff or the hotel’s cleanliness they don’t supply you with free earplugs for no reason. We had a room three floors up with triple glazing and the noise was still very disturbing. The decibel level from the nightclub must exceed all allowable levels. This noise continues beyond 2am and is then followed by loud revellers in the street below awaiting taxis. To say on the website that locals enjoy a chat there is not credible. We left the restaurant because you couldn’t hear yourself talking. We complained and received a refund of one night's stay. The manager agreed there was a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms very noisy. Disco some nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandsworthlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and hotel. We are sorry you booked for the wrong experience - our website clearly states at weekends we are a busy bar and disco in the middle of the city and are open until 2am with a DJ. We have secondary glazing installed which I believe you had opened, due to the hot weather. This of course will lead to you being able to hear noise from the city centre. We do suggest guests use the ceiling fans to help cool the room, instead of opening the windows. Contrary to what you stated, I did not agree with you that we had a problem and I gave you a refund as a gesture of goodwill. This was because you had told me you paid a lot for parking as you had parked in the wrong car park as well as not having had a very good stay. During the week we offer a relaxed environment with very good quality rooms, with lots of extras you would not normally receive in a two star hotel in this area at a great price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing