We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated right in the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Salisbury so historical buildings, shops, pubs and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. The Hotel looks recently refurbished and our double room was nicely decorated and equipped with additional items like a safe, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. The Hotel advises it is noisy at weekends because it runs a disco on the ground floor and the earplugs in the room were appreciated. All of the staff were very efficient and friendly and did their utmost to rectify any adverse situations. The breakfasts were especially good. I used the Public parking in Brown street 70 yards away which is for a maximum of 3 hours then becomes Free after 6pm. so if you check in after 3pm you wont have to move your car, although I believe there is a 24 hour car park a little further away.
When I return to Salisbury I will have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may be quieter if you are not taking part in the ground floor disco at weekends. A lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a15apl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to enter a review on tripadviser. I am delighted you found your room and the breakfast to be very good. We look forward to looking after you when you visit Salisbury again.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

his hotel has been repainted, recarpeted and generally updated. The rooms are fine, a little utilitarian perhaps, but comfortable. In a good central position, and the multistory carpark at Culver St is a good place to leave the car for 24 hours. The hotel did tell us about late bars, and the smokers congregate outside at night, and this could be a problem. However, the hotel also provides ear plugs, and this was not a great problem. There was a mysterious night time drone which came and went on one night (mostly came) which was a bit intrusive. Sounded like an extractor fan. The hotel was very sorry, ad promised to investigate.
All the staff here were very helpful, and it was a very happy stay.; Clean, good value, and happy atmosphere. I liked it.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your the generally good review of your visit to our hotel. Can I repeat the sincere apology you received from Suzy (our receptionist) on your departure. We take all feedback very seriously as I hope potential guests will see in the great improvement in our reviews. As and when guests give us feedback we correct things and change our systems and procedures to improve the service we offer. We also change and update our website on an ongoing basis to ensure guests are fully aware of the experience they can expect when they visit The Cathedral Hotel.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We enjoyed both our evening meals here while we were in Salisbury. The service was very friendly indeed.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jaguar7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited this restaurant with friends recently for a long lunch. The staff were very friendly and attentantive the food was excellent and the whole experience was very enjoyable. There are several deals which are on offer including a OAPs menu, and a loyalty card. The menu is very good. I would advise booking for lunch on a Saturday. The Cathedral Hotel is situated in the City centre and we would strongly recommend the Cathedal Hotel Restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Scoobie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hi just a quick note to say i won a party at the Cathedral Hotel to the value of £500
I took 12 couples to a two course dinner and had a table full of wine, some soft drinks and even a few coffee's. The food was lovely and the staff were faultless, they were polite, efficient and the evening went like clockwork. I have not been able to comment on the accommodation as didn't stay but try the food it's great. Lisa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple nights whilst visiting family in Salisbury. The staff we very welcoming and very accomodating. We had a baby with us and whilst we had to bring our own cot bed we were given a large enough room that it didnt feel at all cramped. The shower was AMAZING...very powerful and it was by far the best shower I've had in an English hotel. The breakfast was great and even though it's located in the center of town we didnt hear any noise. Would defintely stay there agan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hekta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review of your stay with us. We do have baby cots available on request. We also have a selection of family and adjoining rooms available that are great for families or groups. I am very happy that you found our team to be helpful during your stay and I will pass on your kind comments.

Regards
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Cathedral Hotel on a dinner included package, for one night in March.

The hotel is right in the center of town within walking distance of shops pubs & bars parking is available a 3-4 minute walk away for £7.40 for 24 hours.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and efficient. The room clean and fresh and well appointed. the room we had was on the top floor and was double glazed to keep out the noise of the city below.

The hotel do point out that at weekends they run a disco until the early hours so I guess weekends will be pretty noisy, but they supply earplugs in the bathroom if you cant sleep :)

The food which in our case was included was excellent quality as was the service and the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and your very good review of your stay. I will pass your comments onto our team. We have found our all inclusive packages very popular and would urge any potential guests to go direct to our website if they are interested in these packages. We are presently putting together a package page on our website.

Kind Regards
The Cathedral Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing