We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute booking... Pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Sunbury-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Last minute booking... Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Our friends were already staying in this hotel when they invited us along for the weekend. It was a last minute booking so me and my boyfriend ended up staying in their twin room with no bathroom en-suite.
To be honest the room was clean and perfectly nice. I would of liked a bathroom in my room but the loo was just down the corridor and we seamed to be the only couple using it anyway? So not a bit deal. We were on the top floor so noise was not an issue at all and we stayed on a Saturday evening.

The food was lovely and it was actually a really nice bar to be in, in the evening. The waiters were excellent and didn't let your drink empty before they were asking if you wanted another!

It did get loud and the place filled quickly with young clubbers but as soon as we were upstairs we were fine. So if noise would be a problem for you then request the top floor!!
Overall I was quite surprised how much we enjoyed this place and how friendly all the staff were.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsKAS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear KAMS22
Thank you for taking the time to place a review about your stay at our hotel. I am delighted we converted you as it sounds like you may of been a bit apprehensive. We take our customers feedback very serious and it is always nice if we can impress. I think on this occasion we have achieved that goal. I am delighted you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the general atmosphere in the bar. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    137
    74
    23
    21
See reviews for
71
153
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotei for one night, the staff were very attentive when we arrived. The room was pleasant but a little shabby. Our evening meal was excellent and the service was great. However breakfast was a let down,the buffet was poor and the wait for cooked items was a bit too long, although when the food arrived it was faultless

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Anne L
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. We have an on-going decorating programme for all our rooms which should maintain them to a high standard. I am sorry the cold buffet part of our breakfast let us down. I am delighted that the cooked breakfast was excellent although you did have to wait a while. I have discussed your feedback with both the front of house and kitchen breakfast team to ensure we improve our service for future guests. It is great that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We hope you come and visit again.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a brilliant hotel to stay in salisbury. The staff were lovely, the room was a great size for a short stay, clean and we couldn't ask for a better nights sleep, amazingly comfortable. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, and there was a great atmosphere in the bar after 10 too. The noise from downstairs wasn't a bother, this may be from being on the third floor however. Brilliant hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Victoria F,
Thank you for your great review. I am so happy we helped you enjoy your valentines night,. We look forward to seeing you again. It is great for ourselves and the team when our guests have such a great time, as it fantastic reward for all our hard work.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My friend and I came to Salisbury for a course at Sarum College and stayed at The Cathedral for two nights in February [in the middle of the floods, gales and storms!] The Hotel is ideally central for the town - the one drawback is lack of parking, but this seems to be the norm with most hotels there. We were fortunate to be able to leave our car at Sarum College and walk to and fro. Overnight parking seems very expensive at £30 for the nearby multi-storey but no doubt there are cheaper options available - as the weather was so bad we didn't explore these! The mark down of 3 dots for location is purely down to the lack of parking.
The reception rooms - bar/lounge and breakfast area are warm and welcoming and the staff are very accommodating without being intrusive. Our room was large, and clean and comfortable. It was a pity that the shower room, although exclusively for our use, was next door - it was difficult to see why it couldn't be made en-suite, although perhaps there are building regulations due to the age of the property which made this impossible? We stayed in room 311, situated at the rear of the hotel so there was no traffic noise. The three dot rating is due to the non en-suite facility as the room itself was fine.
Breakfast was very good - with a wide choice - and at the price of £75 per room to include full breakfast we were very impressed.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel obviously quieter - don't opt for 311 if you want en-suite or don't fancy a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgathaBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear AgathaBideford
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip to Salisbury. It is great to hear that we perfectly suited your needs and that you enjoyed the inclusive breakfast. The cheaper option for 24 hour parking is Culver Street at £7.40 for 24 hours or you can park at the Southampton road park and ride for just under £3.00 and the bus stops right outside our door. The room you stayed in is the only non en-suite room we have and we have investigated removing the wall between the bedroom and the shower room but there is a stairway to the roof that makes this impossible. Once again, thank you for your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitez, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here in February and found the rooms warm,comfortable and nicely decorated
The restaurant served good food at reasonable prices and the included breakfast was filling and tasty
The staff were professional and friendly and our bill was reasonable
As its in central Salisbury and part of the late night clubbing/bar circuit on Friday and Saturday evening it is full of youngsters and has loud music which we personally enjoyed---however some older people or those looking for a peaceful stay may be unhappy with this!!!especially as the music continues till 2 am----
On the whole this is a good choice for a visit to the area especially if nightlife is part of a planned trip

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't above the bar where music is played late
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jacky G

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had a great night and you found our team to be professional and helpful. We aim to be good value for money while offering great service and I think on this occasion we achieved our goal. I will ensure our team see your review and feedback. Once again, thank you and we hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Extremely pleasant and helpful staff, hotel decor good. Breakfast was good, served hot. Walking distance to main areas.The reason I am giving 3 star is because ;

- the room was extremely small. I had a big luggage (for 2 weeks stay) and I have no enough room to place it. Had to squeeze it at the room entrance.
- WiFi was broken for almost a week which was really disappointing because I was traveling for work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySarah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear LadySarah9
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your visit to our hotel. I am delighted you found the staff so helpful and friendly. We have now changed our wifi supplier due to the issues we had during your visit, as it did cause us a lot of problems. We do have larger rooms, so would ask any guest who requires a larger amount of space to request one of these rooms and we will en devour to oblige.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

When we checked in, the gentleman was very helpful and friendly, acknowledging we could check our bags the next day and arranging a taxi for us early in the morning (we had to be at Stonehenge before dawn for our special access tour). It went downhill from there, though. The room was clean and adequate (we knew it would be small, no problem there) but it was barely above freezing in there. The only heating was a tiny radiator by the door (and quite far from the beds). It never really got warm in the room, all night. We had asked for the taxi at 715am, and when we arrived downstairs at 705, the taxi was waiting but there was no one to be found at reception. We rang the bell, called out, even used expensive minutes to try to ring the hotel, to no avail. No one appeared, until at 725 we absolutely had to leave. The front door was unlocked so I was not about to just leave the bags. We ended up having to pay the (very patient) taxi driver to keep our bags and wait for us. Because we had to go back to the hotel right after our Stonehenge visit, we missed another tour of Old Sarum we had arranged (and already paid for). So the nonexistent reception staff ended up costing us nearly double what we paid for the hotel (on top of the hotel cost). Oh, and also the walls are so thin you can clearly hear what the people next door are watching on TV. I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear J D

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am sorry we let you down and you had so much inconvenience on the morning of your tours, when trying to leave your bags. As per my personal contact with yourself, I hope you feel we have communicated our absolute desire to ensure no other visitors have the issues you encountered. We have instructed our electrician to move the heaters in three rooms that have the heater in the small corridor instead of in the main room. Normally we have small blow heaters in these rooms. Obviously this was not the case in your room, but now we are moving the heaters these extra heaters will not be necessary and this should not be an issue again. Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope after our contact you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to look after you as you would expect us to do so.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing