We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Susanville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I loved the Cathedral Hotel because all the staff were so kind and friendly and helpful, and the food was very good. Jamie, the chef, does an excellent job in the restaurant. Definitely a great place to stay!

Helpful?
Thank Jeanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Jeanie F,
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted our team could help you enjoy your visit to Salisbury. Jamie was delighted that his cheesecake and him of course got a mention. We hope you get to visit Salisbury again and come and visit us.
Kind regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    137
    71
    23
    20
See reviews for
70
151
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was a very well presented hotel, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Very well equipped comfortable rooms, with great power shower. The only fault was the noisy beer garden late at night but to be fair they did warn you about this in their information and did supply ear plugs in your room. Situated in the City centre with everything on your doorstep

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Carey C
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury and taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. I am delighted you found our hotel to be efficient and well presented. We are continuously reinvesting in the building to ensure the rooms, bar, garden and restaurant area are of a high standard. Noise is generally a bigger problem for us at weekends during hot spells as guests prefer to leave the secondary glazing open and have some fresh air. We have installed ceiling fans, but as you will be aware these cannot cope with the present extremely hot spell we are having. The mobile air conditioning units we have installed in the corridors have helped a little. We are presently reviewing if we can have a quieter more permanent solution to this problem. I will ensure our team see your review and I will pass your comments on. I hope you get a chance to visit Salisbury again and come and stay with us.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Everything about our stay was fantastic. The staff were magnificent,with a special thank you to Andreea and Anna,and to Poppy and a massive cheers to Stevie who made sure we didn't get into too much trouble!!! (He'll know what I mean) Breakfast was superb,couldn't fault anything about our stay. Comfortable room,great food,and a decent pint!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear spike d

I am delighted our team helped you enjoy your weekend away. It is great that you were able to enjoy our hotel, restaurant and late night bar. The breakfast girls and Steve, always appreciate when they get a special mention. I will ensure they see your great review. We hope you get a chance to come and visit again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I would like to give this hotel a 4 rating for rooms, 1 1/2 stars for its restaurant. I tried to sit at a clean table, but was directed to one with dirt and cigarette ash on it. I eventually got a waiter's attention. The egg I was served was burnt, the fries were the lowest quality frozen. It took some time in an almost empty restaurant to get the bill.
The next morning, even my tomato was burnt, and the food had little taste. When I left, the receptionist asked me how I had enjoyed my stay. When I mentioned the food, she dismissed my complaint with "other people love our food".

There are plenty of other hotels in Salisbury.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Flying_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Flying_Chef
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am sorry our food was not up to standard and dampened the spirit of your overall stay and subsequent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your room facilities. It is disheartening that you thought the receptionist was dismissive of your comments. We take customer care very seriously and she had passed your comments onto me and we were in the process of reviewing which chef was on duty etc. I think the comment was meant to be consoling rather than dismissive and she was trying to say she was sorry we had let you down, but we had being receiving some great comments about our food recently. Once again thank you and I do hope you enjoyed your overall visit to Salisbury.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed there for one night and had two adjacend rooms with one bath for our family of three. Very friendly people who helped us with finding the right parking (free between 6 pm and 8 am) around the corner and for the sightseeing spots.
We had an excellent service by Katie for dinner outside and especially Tony, the manager, made us feel comfortable and gave us some lessons in "Whiskys" after dinner, as we needed to buy a bottle the next day as souvenir.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Guentherandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guentherandfamily

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit. I hope your son enjoyed the whiskey you brought home to him. It was great to look after you folks and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shown Katie your kind words and she was very appreciative. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the U.K. Maybe you will get another chance to visit us again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've stayed in many places in Salisbury this is my favourite as the beds are comfy, rooms extremely clean, the staff are more than helpful and the breakfast is amazing. Couldn't of asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kateaaa
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted our team have helped you enjoy your stay with us. It is great that we are your first choice hotel in Salisbury. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were booked in to a second story room overlooking the courtyard, arriving on a Saturday after a long flight. Unfortunately the courtyard was packed with people out for a Saturday night and the noise didn't let up until 2am, despite the double glazed windows. When we complained on check out we were offered profuse apologies but also the comment that their website says it is noisy on a weekend. We have traveled a lot and are not precious when it comes to where we stay. Certainly no one said when we booked in that we wouldn't be able to sleep until 2am without earplugs. Do not consider staying here on a weekend!

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms facing the street might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear DDLB
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would ask all guests to ensure they book for the right experience. During the week we offer a quiet relaxed environment, at the weekend our bar on the ground floor, comes to life and is part of Salisbury's club circuit. We do have quieter rooms available at weekends, but these must be requested at the time of booking. I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip to the U.K.
Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing