We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Edwardian Lodge Guest House
Ranked #30 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good B & B”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

When we arrived, the lady that greeted us was a bit stuffy and made us feel a little uncomfortable. Once we got past that, the stay was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the back and were very comfortable. Our friends stayed downstairs on the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
45
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Our accommodation at the Edwardian Lodge was very nice. The bedroom was small but homely and there was a good refreshment tray with Fair Trade products and some delicious biscuits. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was small but perfectly fine. The bed was very comfy and we had two very restful nights sleep.

The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. It was cooked to perfection and served in a delightful conservatory (although we didn't like having to decide what we wanted the night before).

What spoilt our stay here was the lack of warmth and friendliness from our hosts. We arrived half an hour earlier than the 4.30pm check in time and knocked on the door to ask if it might be possible to check in. (We would have been quite happy to come back later, if we had been asked to). We were begrudgingly ushered in accompanied by some mutterings about only just being ready and for the rest of our stay and we didn't really feel welcome.

For this reason, we would not return, but would not hesitate to recommend this guest house in terms of food, cleanliness and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here with my wife for one night last week and was pretty pleased. Gillian and Richard were very friendly hosts and offered any assistance required. Free parking on site and a pleasant 15 minute riverside walk to the city centre made it a great location too. We opted for the king size bedded room at the rear of the property and this was a good move as the road outside is busy most of the time. Room was clean , towels large and fluffy, plumbing all worked so full marks. One slight criticism there was no shower gel provided and no ST bags if required, but overall we would recommend this place 100%.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dovinesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We had one night at this guest house. We had a really nice twin room on the side of the house, which was quiet. However, Some of the rooms are on the road which is rather noisy.
The city is at about 10-15 minutes walk. The walk is very nice along the river.
Hosts were very friendful. Breakfast was good.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ComteLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed overnight over the Easter Bank Holiday. The welcome was nice and we were given directions for visiting Salisbury which is a 10 minute walk from the BnB. The room was pleasant and the bed was very comfortable and made for a nice evening of relaxing.

The en-suite shower was lovely and clean. Water was hot for a nice shower and breakfast was excellent. As we only eat veggie sausages, I had asked the night before and the lady had said she would see what she could do and indeed she did get some in for us which was much appreciated.

Overall made for a very nice stay and good base for visiting the local sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatface99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The Edwardian Lodge is managed by a couple, Richard and Gillian. Both are friendly and helpful. The place is perfect with its location near the city centre and Market Square. Salisbury Cathedral is just walking distance. Transport is convenient, with Old Sarum and Stonehenge just a bus ride away. The rooms we had were beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. The English breakfast were satisfying. We will not hesitate to stay here again in future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyjaneipoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The house had a very calm atmosphere. The room was huge, attractive and very well appointed. Lovely breakfast with delicious real coffee. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 57 in Salisbury
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#31 of 57 in Salisbury
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Number 64
Number 64
#20 of 57 in Salisbury
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#2 of 57 in Salisbury
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alabare House
Alabare House
#29 of 57 in Salisbury
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edwardian Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edwardian Lodge Guest House

Property: The Edwardian Lodge Guest House
Address: 59 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edwardian Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian house, all rooms with en-suite shower/toilet facilities,inclusive breakfast, flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, tea/coffee/biscuits, free parking. City centre and cathedral 15 min walk. Stonehenge 10 miles north ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Edwardian Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing