We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch a movie here”
Review of Odeon Cinema

Odeon Cinema
Ranked #3 of 11 Fun & Games in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Watch a movie here”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

No need for the priority seats. But catch a movie here to see this well preserved ancient building and fascinating architecture

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TumbleWeedTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    24
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“odeon without the frills”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Its quaint, reminds me why I stopped going to the cinema in the 70's. For a step back in time use, it but for serious viewing quality and comfort go to a purpose built modern alternative odeon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MeonValleyOdbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice building, poor film choice and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Odeon in Salisbury is set in a nice, albeit hidden building. However, that's just about the only thing going for it. The tickets and refreshments are grossly overpriced, there is a very poor choice of what to watch and despite Salisbury being a fairly large city, even in the larger (and presumably more popular) screens, it's pretty dead most of the time. Before I moved to Salisbury, I used to go and watch films weekly at my local Cineworld but the overpriced tickets, lack of most recent films and sheer emptiness of Salisbury's Odeon have resulted in my weekly visits being demoted to once every 6 months, and that's only if there's a film I really want to watch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very expensive and small”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Went to watch bad neighbours tickets came to just under £20 for two of us. When we got to the screen which seemed to be tucked away in the back it was aboit half the size of a normal cinema screen, the sound was okay not great and the seats looked ancient with ni cup holders meaning that drinks etc had to be either held or left on the floor. The building is nice to look at but if you are going to pay the money for a cinema experience it would perhaps be better invested elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old cinema”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a lovely cinema with great character as you walk in and buy tickets. Went to see 'Pompeii' over the weekend and enjoyed it but was a little chilly so worth brining layers with you and maybe some heating would be good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 46Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odeon Cinema also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Odeon Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing