We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How cinemas used to be”
Review of Odeon Cinema

Odeon Cinema
Ranked #4 of 11 Fun & Games in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Welwyn
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“How cinemas used to be”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went here to am NT live showing when visiting the city. Just the same sort of audience as at home for such events - preponderantly middle aged and conservatively middle class. It was like climbing Everest (or so I imagined) getting up to the back row of screen 1. The décor and seating was so like my recollection of cinemas of a bygone age but with a good bit more room for ones legs. Relatively small screen and not highest quality sound but, nonetheless we had an enjoyable evening

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank puttingitright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    24
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watching Movies in Salisbury”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went to watch Mrs Browns Boys D Movie in the Odeon Cinema in Salisbury. We had pre-booked and paid for our tickets online. The collection of the tickets from the automatic teller in the foyer was a breeze, simply insert the card use to purchase your tickets and hey presto they were printed for us. The foyer of the cinema is impressive, with old world architecture and décor, spoil a bit by the sweetie shop and to selling the most expensive snacks and drinks in the local area.

The movie was been screen in Screen 4, a room that could probably seat about 100 pers, but there was only about 20 of us in attendance for this screening of the movie.

The seat were reasonable comfortable and sufficient space between rows not to crowded

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaxmanwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Terrible Cinema - Avoid”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I'm sorry to be negative, but this is a very bad place to see a film. Yes it is a historic building but not for a cinema! In the main theater, you are back miles away from the screen. And the seats had duct tape on them. The whole place is worn and shabby. Dismal inside.

For the full price charged for a ticket, I expect a professional, modern, and comfortable experience. Not so here. And the food concessions are also full price and popcorn was not that good.

This place needs to be closed down. Avoid!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UKD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Watch a movie here”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

No need for the priority seats. But catch a movie here to see this well preserved ancient building and fascinating architecture

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TumbleWeedTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“odeon without the frills”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Its quaint, reminds me why I stopped going to the cinema in the 70's. For a step back in time use, it but for serious viewing quality and comfort go to a purpose built modern alternative odeon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MeonValleyOdbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odeon Cinema also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
 

Been to Odeon Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing