We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Brittish inn”
Review of Devizes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devizes Inn
Ranked #48 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
zaandam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Brittish inn”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at the Devizes Inn for two nights. The room was spacious, clean and had a very Brittish feel (as did the pub downstairs :)).
Besides the pub downstairs it is located in a quiet area, just a short walk outside of Salisbury centre.
Obviously, when staying here you will hear some noise from the pub, but personally this didn't bother me.

Great place to stay when visiting Old Sarum, Stonehenge and/or Salisbury.

Penny is lovely, and a very early check-out was no problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86anouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, hampshire
Level Contributor
248 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a room here as we were visiting Salisbury to see a comedian so we wanted somewhere close to the City Hall and centre which this is (10 minute walk).
Devizes Inn was much cheaper than other places in the area so we booked and went along.
The lady that owns the pub (I didnt catch her name!) was lovely, so friendly and couldnt do enough for us, she even got us a map to show us where we needed to walk and go.
The room was lovely, large room with a comfortable double bed, a pull out TV on the wall, tea and coffee, nice bathroom with small tubes of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel.
It is above a pub so there is *some* noise but we requested a quieter room and I have to say upon our return at 11pm there wasnt any noise and we slept very well.
There is parking outside the pub and also in the surrounding roads at the weekend which is free.
Our breakfast was bought to our room at 9.30am as agreed.. 2 glasses of Orange juice, 4 slices of toast, freid egg, hash browns, beans and sausages.. delicious!!
I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a comfortable room, excellent hospitality and a good location. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1986Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

First impressions of the devizes inn are not good it has to be said. A slightly run down old pub a fair hike (15 -20mins) from the city centre. Also, there is a very inconvenient check in time of 5 pm ie when the pub below opens.

However, these were made up for by the spacious room, owner Penny's friendliness, and a great full English breakfast brought to the room in the morning. There is noise from both the busy road and the pub below so perhaps request a back room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenbosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We used this place for an overnight stay on our way to Cornwall. Just a few minutes away from the city centre, providing a small free car park, nice and clean room with room served breakfast in the morning. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Marjan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxlles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Last time, we didn't stop long enough to visit Salisbury, that's why we choose to spend the night there. Devizes Inn is not too far from the centre of the city, 15 minutes walk to the cathedral, and the commercial centre. The room was very clean, and the breakfast ...served in the room great.
There's a small private car park, and if you choose to stay at the Inn, I would recommend you to resreve the parking place while booking your room. There's a pub on the ground floor but not noisy in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Used this place for an overnight stay. A few minutes walk from station and town centre. Spacious room and good breakfast. Be warned - the water is very hot!! Recommendation: ask for room away from the road.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank shargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Lovely rooms less than a 10 min walk from station. Clean, comfortable and spacious room. I cannot fault this inn, even as when we made our visit Brian was the only member of staff left standing, due to staff holidays and illness, yet, he was last to bed and first up, and there was no compromise on the quality of care and detail. Thank you Brian. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devizes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devizes Inn

Property: Devizes Inn
Address: 53/55 Devizes Road, Salisbury SP2 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Devizes Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devizes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing