We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta
from US$79.34
More Info
from US$119.69
More Info
from US$168.10
More Info
from US$154.65
More Info
Reviews (6,011)
Filter reviews
6,011 results
Traveller rating
4,553
1,246
175
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,553
1,246
175
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower tour chapter house salisbury cathedral oldest working clock suggested donation tallest spire modern font magnificent building well worth a visit the stained glass windows awe inspiring guided tour on display entrance fee cloisters copies architecture
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 6,011 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This spectacular cathedral and its setting is quite unique and awe-inspiring. We enjoyed the cream tea in the refectory before attending Evensong with the accompaniment of the beautiful singing of a choir from a London high school. The atmosphere in the candlelit church filled with music was unforgettable.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank World_traveler_mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had planned our visit to Salisbury during the long 'clean up' when the town was struggling to attract visitors and were pleased that on the day we arrived it was officially declared to be completed.
The cathedral was at the top of the list of places to see and we were not disappointed. Approached from the Close with its collection of historic buildings, the cathedral rises from the surrounding lawns, the spire soaring upwards. Inside the cloisters there are sculptures and, on this occasion, an art installation of ladders made from lighting tubes.
The interior of the cathedral is light and elegant, mainly due to the lack of stained glass. We were directed by one of the many volunteers in the suggested clockwise circuit. Most visitors seemed to be taking guided tours but the guides were spending a lot of time over each element and we chose to self guide using the leaflet.
The cathedral certainly tries to use 21st century methods of informing visitors and the interactive exhibit about the organ repair was very engaging, especially for children. There is modern art and concerts are held regularly. The cloisters restaurant serves a good range of foods and was very popular. The impression was of a Church conscious of the need to be relevant in today's world even though it holds one of the 4 remaining copies of the Magna Carta (free to enter).
Although the cathedral claims to only ask for donations, the main entrance is dominated by its 'ticket desk' and I was in a minority of one when I declined to pay until I had visited. I'm sure that many people would be too embarrassed to do this even though the lady on the desk was still welcoming. In the event, we felt it was worthy of a donation close to the suggested amount and made a point of returning to the entrance to hand over the cash.
My husband declared that Salisbury cathedral was the best he'd been to but unfortunately for me it can't match my native Durham!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank LaNyonsaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for writing a review and we're pleased that you enjoyed our current exhibitions. The staff at our welcome desks are trained to approach donations with sensitivity, so we aim to make our Cathedral inviting and accessible to everyone. We appreciate that visitors may wish to make donations of different amounts and in their own time, which is why we have donation points around the Cathedral. We hugely appreciate every donation, so thank you so much for yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the cathedral one cold day in January. The leaflet we were given was very informative for walking round the cathedral by ourselves. There are many different facets to this cathedral and lots to see. The nativity scene was still out when we went reminding us of Christmas and the purpose of the church. I enjoyed reading the information boards about the work which goes into the conserving and repairing of the stained glass windows, and how many stages are involved in the work. The Magna Carta was not available to view when we went. Outside were some art installations which we enjoyed looking at. A good place to visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kath00000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We also offer guided tours as well as our self-guided leaflet. We're pleased to say that Magna Carta is now back on display for all to see. We're glad you enjoyed our art installations. We're very proud of our arts programme and we usually have 2-3 major exhibitions each year, so it's always worth checking our website before your visit to see what's on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Splendid cathedral very well renovated, lots of information inside, free entry but advised to leave a donation.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MarineM1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An unusual cathedral in having no apparent additions or subtractions - the whole bullding is Early English Gothic. It has the oldest working clock in the world, too precious now to be kept working full time but it's demonstrated a couple of times a week and we were lucky enough to be there for this.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank weatherwax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews