We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 17:00
Salisbury and Magna Carta Private Tour from Southampton
0 reviews

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta
More Info
Reviews (7,040)
Filter reviews
7,040 results
Traveller rating
5,354
1,424
213
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,354
1,424
213
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower tour chapter house salisbury cathedral tallest spire oldest working clock modern font magnificent building the stained glass windows well worth a visit guided tour awe inspiring on display entrance fee cloisters donation architecture copy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 7,040 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2019

What a beautiful, awe-inspiring place! I could have spent many hours just wandering the interior of the cathedral looking at burial inscriptions, architectural details, and finding hidden niches within its lovely interior. My husband ascended the spire on a guided tour but I demurred tackling the 332 stairs, but I must say that his pictures from the top were breathtaking. It was wonderful to see the best preserved of the 4 remaining original sealed Magna Carta documents.

Plan to have lunch, or at least a cup of tea and a scone, in the cathedral's refectory. The food is good but, better yet, there is a glass ceiling through which you can see the magnificent cathedral spire while you eat.

There were two slight negatives about our experience: there is work being done on the cathedral's organ and the scaffolding hindered our views of the main altar within the cathedral. I was told the work should be done in time for Christmas, so be prepared for this if you plan to go between now and the end of the year. The second negative wasn't really that of the cathedral itself - I planned to go to the Salisbury Museum while my husband ascended the spire and found that it was closed (despite being advertised as "open" and with no note or other indication at the museum, just a locked door) This was disappointing.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank GrandmaBarbara0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

We hope the work to our organ didn't disrupt your visit too much. Scaffolding will be removed by Christmas, but there may be noise disruptions at the start of the new year while the organ is being tuned. We hope you had a chance to visit our organ exhibition to learn more about why this essential work is being done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019

We were here for the day and glad we went here. The sight is beautiful and the tour guides that were there couldn't be more helpful. We didn't have time for a tour, but that would have been great. I would try to leave time for that if you go.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Jamaicaman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

We hope you return for a tour in the future. Our guides would be more than happy to show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

FINE ARCHITECTURE ! Be prepared to queue to view the ' Magna Carta ' .
Very impressive building ; especially to tourists , wich do not have such places .
In the 'Cloister area ' are the toilets and gift shop .

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

This was my second time visiting the cathedral and I was as impressed as the first time. The exterior is beautiful and impressive and the interior is stunning. The arches and the stained glass are gorgeous. Seeing the Magna Carta was an added bonus and a must do for any history enthusiast.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank CatalinaPetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

The Cathedral is stunning. loving it. Great place for photo opportunities and also a great time to reflect.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank AChee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch0rister, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews