We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the White Hart for just 1-night for a wedding reception.

The hotel has a large car park at the rear, which is accessed via a one-way street and there was a £5.00 charge for use of this.

The room was a very good size and pleasant. We would have only 2-minor criticisms which were that they use (what must be) old compact-fluorescent bulbs which did take a long’ish time to brighten up and also our particular room had the shaving mirror positioned in such a way that you had to stand a little way away from it – so it felt awkward to use. However, this seems to be a one-off for our particular room as another member of our party did not have this problem in their room.

We found the bed comfortable and had no issues with noise.

The hotel has good and large ‘communal’ areas which are light and airy and a nice place to sit and read. The Hotel also has a very nice, secluded, courtyard area.

There was an excellent choice of breakfast and we found all the staff to be helpful and friendly.

In summary we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Kevin S

Thank you for posting your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at the White Hart in Salisbury.

As always it is pleasing to read such positive feedback concerning the team at the hotel and that all the staff were worthy of praise for their helpfulness and friendliness during your stay and will serve as motivation for the entire team.

I have shared your positive comments relating to the excellent breakfast buffet choices enjoyed with us with the Food and Beverage department and to ensure that we maintain the high levels expected by all of our guests.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the White Hart in the not so distant future and provide you the service and comfort you have recieved on this occasion.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I had a 2-night weekend break at the White Hart. It wasn't the hotel of our choice since we booked another hotel through Hotels.com only to find out a few days later there were no rooms! Since we had to be in Salisbury on that particular weekend, we decided to go for the White Hart.

On arrival, first impressions are favourable. Lovely quaint little reception area and pleasant reception staff. We arrived just prior to a wedding party's arrival so we had the red carpet treatment! The hotel's secure car park is also a bonus and good value for money at £5 per night.

We were in room 116 which overlooked the hotel courtyard where functions take place. Again, on entering the room, first impressions were favourable. The room was a little on the dark side though due to the mass of ivy and other stuff growing across the windows. It needs to be cut back to allow light in. On closer inspection of the room we noticed the absolutely filthy carpet. I can only imagine that given the hotel's dog friendly status, that previous guests' dogs had gone swimming in the river and then dragged most of it back into the room. There can be no other explanation for such a dirty carpet. Apparently the hotel charges dog owners an additional £10 for cleansing of the room but £10 would not go far enough to clean this carpet which needs replacing. Our feet were black from walking barefoot on this carpet. In fairness, if we had realised the hotel was dog friendly, we would never have booked it. In our opinion hotels should not allow animals in guest bedrooms (unless they are guide/assistance dogs). It's actually really rather icky. The hotel don't have any checks in place to ensure that the dogs who will be in their rooms are worm and flea free (we asked). Sorry, but it's a massive turn off as we wouldn't allow a dog into our bedrooms at home yet we are expected to sleep in a bed that may well have had a dog sleeping on it the night before. Yuk, yuk, yuk!!! Rooms that had animals in them would need, to our mind, a proper deep clean and £10 would not cover that if it were to be done properly and professionally.

Bed - way too soft but that is personal preference, particularly when one is used to a memory foam mattress but in the grand scheme of things it was perfectly fine.

Quality of sleep - nothing to do with the soft mattress, everything to do with open sash window which we simply could not shut on the Friday night (we tried but were scared we'd end up breaking it!) and the fact that we were right next to the wedding party and the loud music went on until midnight. The windows have secondary glazing but even with that, the noise was terrible. We did speak to reception that evening and asked if we could possibly move the next day and were told we could but my husband was categorically told the following morning that we couldn't despite the fact that many guests were checking out and we could easily have been swapped over with one of the incoming Saturday wedding guests. However, the receptionist did get onto the maintenance man who came up immediately and with some sheer brute force, he shut the sash window. Alas closing the window didn't really help much and we did have the same noise that night (plus the constant barking from the Hound of the Baskervilles in the room across the corridor). Given that we had to be up early doors the next morning we didn't get as much sleep as we would have preferred as the guests continued to party on after the music finished. We fully appreciate that the hotel is a very popular wedding venue but why put non-wedding guests on that side of the hotel when guests attending the wedding are given rooms on the quieter side of the hotel? We could have had the Hound of the Baskerville's room (obviously without the hound) as his owners were having a right old time of it at the wedding whilst Hound suffered separation anxiety and barked constantly.

Breakfast - the young staff who waited on us in the breakfast room were all very polite, diligent and efficient. We appreciated how as soon as we had sat down, a member of waiting staff was straight over to ask whether we wanted tea or coffee. We've stayed in hotels where you could be sat at a table all day and you'd be ignored. The breakfast was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfast room was really nice although we did notice that attention to detail viz a viz cleaning was a little hit and miss for a 4 star hotel:

• mirrors very smudgy and dusty
• brass kick plates on kitchen doors seriously long overdue the application of Brasso
• glass stands/boxes self serve fruit sitting on covered in drips, smears and finger marks (we only noticed this as we were sat at the table nearest to this food table)

We did have a very enjoyable time in Salisbury and it is a lovely city. If ever we had reason to go back to Salisbury, we probably wouldn't return to the White Hart as we don't think it quite lives up to its 4 star rating and because we don't want to pay to stay in room where the previous occupant had four legs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the courtyard, especially if you are a weekend guest, as the music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prinny2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear LindyLoop

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your weekend break with us recently at the White Hart in Salisbury.

I was pleased to read that the refurbished areas of the hotel at reception and lounge were appreciated and the great breakfast you enjoyed supplied by the catering department.

However I was disappointed to read your comments relating to the bedroom cleanliness and have shared these points with the housekeeping team as there is no excuse for this lack of attention to detail. You have my further assurances that the appropriate action will be taken to ensure no repetition of this in the future.

Like most hotels we are dog friendly and can apologise further for the noise from the dog in one of the rooms during your stay, where possible we allocate rooms accordingly when we have functions occurring and by room type requests and were unable to realocate you upon your request the following day.

Once again thank you for your feedback and still hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

We booked via Expedia for an overnight stay. Despite its central location, it was easy to drive to the hotel. It has its own car park at the rear which costs 5 UKP per night, although when we were there the barrier was broken and permanently in the "open" position.

The hotel location couldn't be better - just across the road from the Cathedral and handy for the shops. For steak lovers, the Lazy Cow restaurant is particularly convenient, just a few doors down the road.

The hotel is an old building, but our room at the front was well equipped. It did get hot overnight - we had to shut the secondary double glazing to keep the street noise out. The chargeable wi-fi was a rip-off - who charges for wi-fi these days?

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise as Expedia had led us to expect continental. Instead we found the full works on offer from the usual heated buffet bar. Gluttons could easily stock up for the day.

Checking in and out was painless with generous time allowed (2pm and 12 noon respectively).

Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmcc_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear jpmcc_ta

Thank you for your review of the hotel in relation to both the service received and the location of the hotel in the centre of this historic city.

It is always pleasing to read such comments and will serve as great motivation for the team, I was also pleased to read that your experience at breakfast was above your expectation.

We hope to welcome you back to the White Hart in the future and provide you with a similar experience in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Martyn Grubb
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

If you want the hassle taken out of organising your wedding this is the place to go. Sarah Archer is the Wedding organiser and she is amazing. She put us at ease made sure everything happened the way we wanted it and took the pressure off us on the day to make sure everything went smoothly. The hotel is clean, the Breakfasts are superb with plenty of choice. All the rooms we had on the (14) day were comfortable and all our guests were very pleased. All the hotel staff were friendly and efficient and nothing was too much for anyone. We had the honeymoon suite which also opens on to the Balcony on to the road but it didnt matter as it was so comfortable.
The Hotel generally made us all feel very special for the day and so were they .

Room Tip: rooms at the front can be noisy as they are on the main road into Salisbury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverilSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Averil Smith,

Thank you for choosing the White Hart for your wedding and I was very pleased to read that we gave you, your family and friends a day to remember and memories to last.

Sarah, the wedding co-ordinator takes pride in her work ensuring that from the moment you walk in as an enquiry until the big day itself that nothing is too much trouble, and ensuring that the day runs smoothly, so that you can relax and enjoy the day as much as your guests.

I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team in relation to the professional manner they looked after you as well as delivering a comfortable nights stay and a superb breakfast offering for you and your guests, this will serve as great motivation to the whole team.

Once again thank you for choosing us, and I hope that we can be of service in the future.

Kind Regards
Emma Kempson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We held a dinner to celebrate a special occasion at the Hotel recently and I could not have been more pleased. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the attention to diet for the Ceoliac in our party was superb the best she had experienced. The food for 80 people was served to quickly and well and tasted delicious, everyone who came commented on how good it was. I would thoroughly recommend the venue to others they gave us an evening to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Debbie W,

Many thanks for taking the time in letting us know about your dining experience at the White Hart Hotel.

We take great pride as a venue hotel for the events market, as well as celebration dinners we cater for weddings, anniversaries etc and host many conferences and meetings also, ensuring that all needs are catered for both prior to, during and after the event.

I have perosnally thanked all the team involved who take great pride in delivering a memorable occasion through our customer service programme Passion for Service.

Once again thank you for using the White Hart and do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any further assistance with any future events.

Kindest Regards

Martyn Grubb
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed for two nights on a summer break, on a Mercure pre-payment rate, which was a bargain.
The location is perfect for exploring Salisbury, as others have mentioned the car parking is a bargain at £5/day. Service was excellent, with particular praise going to to the reception staff who always has a friendly smile and could not be more helpful. Room was well furnished with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was of good quality. Would stay again if coming back to Salisbury.

Room Tip: This a bit of a tricky one, it is a city centre hotel located on one the main thoroughfares into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Stuart01160

Many thanks for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us at the White Hart in Salisbury and for your kind words about the team and hotel.

I was pleased to read that we were able to deliver the expectations of a great stay away in a hotel with excellent service, where you found the reception staff always friendly and a good quality breakfast to set you up for the day ahead when exploring Salisbury.

Once again thank you and we look forward in your company in the future when returning to Salisbury.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Before booking this hotel I had read several reviews which rated the hotel very low. We found the hotel to be a great location. The rooms were small, but what rooms in English type hotels are not small. The breakfast was a great value the food was excellent. Staff was very helpful during out 2 night stay. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear OnVacationMay2011

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel, the feedback on the site are personal to that individual stay and all are welcomed and responded to accordingly so that we can improve the services provided.

We have varying room types in the hotel from the more traditional to executive and 4 poster bedroom suites and try and accomodate all requests when available.

I was very pleased to read your comments relating to the helpful staff at the hotel as this can be the difference in our industry ensuring that people like yourself recommend us to others, I have also shared your positive thoughts on our breakfast being good value and the food being excellent.

I hope we have the pleasure in your company in the future and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £65 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing