We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early September break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Early September break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hotel in the style of "Country House".Very old building in parts with some character.Very good lounge areas.Breakfast excellent with extensive choice.
Situated a few minutes walk from Cathedral and the town centre shops,cafe's,bars,restaurants etc.However on corner of 2 main roads so quite noisy at times.
No lift so a good climb if you are on the second floor and a problem if you are disabled.There are no rooms on the ground floor.
Has own car park at rear of hotel but is chargeable at £5.00 per day even to guests staying at the hotel !!
Staff very helpful but short staffed when we were there so impeded on what was excellent service.
Be warned that hotel caters for many functions (weddings etc) and this takes over the Hotels only restaurant and some bar areas at these times.
We found the executive room quite tight in size.Rooms are usually larger in these style of hotels.
Tried to up rate but was told this was one of their best rooms!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are apparently the least noisy of all the rooms in the hotel. No ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear John H

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was delighted to read your positive comments about the team who were very helpful during your stay and that you were able to enjoy the relaxing environment of our lounge and lobby area.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    374
    206
    66
    35
See reviews for
158
445
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I decided we would stay at the White Hart in Salisbury for our 27th wedding anniversary, having stayed there a few times in the distant past we were looking forward to the stay. We paid £150 for bed and breakfast. The room was gloomy and hot, we could not have the windows open because our room was next to what sounded like the busiest traffic light junction in Salisbury, nightmare, we actually had to have a sleep when we got home as we were so tired from a disturbed sleep.
We looked at the hotel menu, which was pricey, however, it was our anniversary so we decided that we could splash out on an expensive meal which looked from the descriptions of the dishes to be classy. How wrong could we be, the starter was very good, main course, we both had the fillet of Sea Bass, £16, I thought they were taking the Mick when it came out, small, tasteless and over cooked, we come from Cornwall and are used to our Sea Bass, I'm not even sure it was Sea Bass, the staff did try to appease us when we complained but we decided to leave and eat somewhere else.
The White Hart used to be a fantastic hotel and we had many happy times there, unfortunately we will never go there again, well done the French!!!
On a final note the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear 91Bob

Thank you for taking the time in posting your recent review.

However I was disappointed to read of your concerns and have discussed these with both the Head Chef and F&B Manager to ensure that the appropriate measures are taken to prevent future occurrence.

Upon investigation with the team I was pleased that the team made the necessary gesture upon your comments at the time.

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
182 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Traveling from Salisbury, Maryland, I was a guest at the Mayor Making of the 753rd Mayor of Salisbury, Penny Brown. The White Hart is walking distance of the downtown area, so it was not necessary to have a car to drive on the "wrong" side of the street. My single room was on the second floor with no "lift." Breakfast was included and there was a nice pub in the hotel. Being an older building, the floors did creak, but that's a part of the charm.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear RetiredAnalyst

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks following your stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart for such an important event. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be perfectly located for your needs near to the centre of Salisbury.

I hope we have the pleasure in your company upon your return to the UK in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here as a result of attending a wedding in the nearby Dorset border. The bride/groom chose this hotel because of its proximity to the station and easy access.

I stayed 2 nights and found the personal service and customer care to be really excellent. It really was the USP for this hotel. The receptionist who checked me in could not have been more helpful.

My room was lovely and the hotel in general lived up to its reputation as being one of the finest hotels in Salisbury.

Room Tip: I had a room with a four poster bed which was large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear JanetMay2013

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that your stay was made enjoyable by the staff who gave excellent customer care and service throughout your stay and have shared your comments with them especially the Reception team with whom you made reference to.

Once again thank you for your review and hope we may be of service in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing