We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights,room very clean and comfortable.free wi fi and coffee making facilities .Breakfast was very tasty and plenty to chose from.parking is free if you have a disabled badge,ask at reception as they don't advertise it.Right in the heart of Salisbury so no need to use car.

Room Tip: Had an executive room on front,was noisy with window open but didn't spoil sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear gill t

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed a very comfortable stay with us, enjoying a very tasty breakfast to set you up for the day ahead and that the complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel was appreciated.

Once again we appreciate the feedback hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    389
    213
    70
    35
See reviews for
168
469
36
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as we were going to see a music performance at the Salisbury Arts Centre and didn't want to have to drive home to Bristol. Staying here was definitely worth the money. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The place has a lovely atmosphere especially whey the fire is lit in the reception area. The location is great being very close to shops and a stones through from the Cathedral which I thoroughly recommend a visit to. Overall, very happy and satisfied customers. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear CandidOne

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart and for your recent feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, helped by the very friendly and helpful staff and enjoyed the log fire, lit now as we enter the Winter months. The hotel is situated perfectly for visiting the city and its many attractions and I was glad to note that this was appreciated also.

Once again thank you for your remarks and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

4 star hotel, 2 star food, the restaurant is best avoided. A cheerless space with food to match –our second evening saw us eating on our own until we were joined 45 minutes later by one other diner. The principle supplier to this restaurant is the distributor 3663 so despite several search engines advertising Wiltshire’s award winning food & drink, the award winning food did not appear in this hotel. As for breakfast if you like your scrambled eggs swimming in liquid then this is the place for you.

We paid £170 per night for dinner, bed & breakfast and then told our menu was the £19.73 option (a 70’s based menu). Staff could not tell us whether we had the option of ordering from a different menu for which we would have happily paid the difference!

Despite an ineffective air conditioning unit and windows that had a limited opening, which could be a problem in warmer weather, we could not fault our room.

Would we go to the restaurant again – NO!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the traffic at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoMash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear YoMash66

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

However I was disappointed to read of your concerns with your dining experience during your visit and have ensured that the team communicate all menus available, the menu mentioned is our 1970's inspired menu as part of the Mercure 40th Birthday Celebrations. You have my further assurances that I have discussed in detail the breakfast quality with the Head Chef to prevent any future occurrence.

Thank you for choosing our privelege room for your stay and I hope that you enjoyed the complimentary nespresso machine, free soft drinks mini bar and bathrobes and slippers provided, and hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Reception staff pleasant. reception area nice - loads of newspapers etc.
There was a wedding taking place - no disruption for the rest of the guests.
Not noisey (we were right above).
Did not have breakfast or dinner - so can't comment.
Room a decent size, clean and bathroom fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear michael c

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks following your stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay recently and that the Reception team were pleasant and have shared your praise with them to serve as great motivation to them and the entire team.

Once again thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here with friends while we explored Salisbury and we were very happy with our choice. The rooms are comfortable, the Hotel is right in the city centre and the staff are friendly and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant so we can't comment on the food or that side of their service but we were delighted with our stay at the hotel. The building itself is attractive and there is a lovely area at the back where you can sit with a coffee or a beer if the weather is good enough. The bed we used was very comfortable, there was free wi-fi which was 100% reliable, the bathroom was well equipped, we had a safe, a fridge and the room was a comfortable temperature the whole time. The cathedral and the main shopping area is a very short walk away from the White Hart. We got a good deal on the room and we had no complaints at all and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Andrew H

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay and was pleased to read such glowing comments for the staff and hotel itself.

It is always pleasing to read that the staff are friendly and helpful and this always provides great motivation for the entire team.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is right in the center - 5 mins walking to to the center - in a very old building. My room was a bit small but spotless clean and in very good condition. Perfect bath, comfortable bed. Internet in the room is complimentary and works well.
The staff is very helpful and friendly - breakfast is fantastic.
Paid parking in the courtyard

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stone_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Stone_xxx

Thank you for posting your remarks following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly and helpful, I will share this with the team as I am sure this will serve as great motivation for them all, and was pleased that you enjoyed a fantastic breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.

Thank you for your comments on the accommodation provided and I was glad that the free WIFI was appreciated.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing