We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    389
    213
    70
    35
See reviews for
169
469
36
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at the White Hart to celebrate our 39th Wedding Anniversary. We had a very comfortable privilege room with a very comfortable bed. I was delighted to find a Nespresso coffee machine in the room. We had a very good dinner in the restaurant, which wasn't busy, and the staff were very attentive. The buffet breakfast was excellent and although the restaurant was very busy, we were well looked after. The public rooms with the open fires was a good place to sit with a cup of tea after the short walk back from the shops. The hotel is in a good position for the shops and the Cathedral and has a large car park.

Room Tip: I can only comment that the privilege room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Miriam T

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart to celebrate your 39th Wedding Anniversary and belated congratulations.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed one of our privilege rooms along with the Nespresso machine and hope you took advantage of the complimentary mini bar. I have shared your review of your dining experience with the team who will be happy and motivated that you enjoyed a very good dinner and enjoyed the food from the excellent breakfast buffet.

The hotel is in a good location for exploring this historic city and I was pleased that you took advantage of this as well as our ample car parking facility in the heart of the city.

Once again thank you for your review and hope we have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked for two nights at the White Hart, a Friday and Saturday. On arrival at reception we were informed that the restaurant would be shut on the Saturday night due to a private function. However bar meals (burgers, basically) could be served in the lounge area. Not the greatest of starts. The room was clean but although quite large it had the two single beds pushed together to form a double, (not that we specially requested that) which meant that there was off set lights for the bed and only one bedside cabinet. It looked a bit of a miss mash! Bathroom was very clean and well stocked with toiletries.
Our restaurant meal on the Friday was OK though my duck was well cooked it was extremely tough to cut. Food was well presented and delivered in good time. After the meal we went to sit in the lounge by the log fire, only to be told that this area was reserved for a private party. There were no reserved notices or any way of knowing which seats were reserved.
For our Saturday night meal we went to the Cloisters Pub just across the road and had a great meal.
Sunday morning we arrived for breakfast and were turned away as the restaurant was full and advised to return in twenty minutes. Not a good finale to our stay.
There was a saving grace to the hotel though in the form of the maitre d by the name of Ernest. Brilliant asset to the hotel perfect quality old-fashioned service, delivered in a quiet respectful manner.
Basically the hotel seemed under staffed and was struggling to cope with the demands placed upon it. We wouldn't use it again, though Sailsbury at Christmas is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear rogshe

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel, however allow me to apologise for the concerns raised.

I was pleased to read that the bedroom was clean and met your requirements, the bed is a zip and link bed to accommodate both as a twin or double room and has a topper on the mattress for comfort.

Although I was pleased to read your postive comments regarding Ernst I was disappointed to read that the duck that you requested to be cooked well done was tough and will review the quality with the supplier. In relation to breakfast on the Sunday morning this was well staffed and I can only apologise that you had to wait whilst a table was made ready for you.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have been coming here many years but I think its time for a change. Reception area with open fires are appealling however .Poor run down bedrooms - ripped curtains /broken taps / no power-shower /irregular heating. Certainly not good value, not worthy of its star rsting.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolves222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear wolves222

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I was concerned to read your remarks and can confirm that we are currently engaged in an agreed programme of investment incorporating bedrooms and public areas which were refurbished as recently as 2011 and are committed to delivering great levels of service.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
413 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing