We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel, very good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, very good restaurant”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Mercure Salisbury for one night while driving from Gatwick Airport to Dartmoor. After surviving the horrendous traffic on the M25 we found the hotel restful and really enjoyed both the location (and easy after dinner stroll to the Cathedral and the centre of the city) and the restaurant meal which we found very tasty and well prepared and the service was excellent. our only problem on arrival was that the nav system placed us right at the front entrance where there was nowhere to stop and no sign where to park but luckily a right turn around the block got us to the car park - a sign out front would have helped. The breakfast was also very good. We had booked an air-conditioned room which was lucky since the weather was quite hot so we didn't suffer as others have reported. The only concern we had was the step into the bathroom and potentially navigating it in the dark at night but it all worked out OK. A very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear david42

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart and for taking the time to give your feedback.

I was pleased to read that you found your stay to be restful following your journey from Gatwick and finding both excellent quality food and service in the restaurant for both dinner and at breakfast.

Following recent comments we have added signage on the portico at the front of the hotel with direction arrows to the car park as the postal address directs you to the front of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    378
    208
    67
    35
See reviews for
160
452
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a brilliant 3 days here for a wedding, most staff helpful & friendly, Alex however stood out a mile from the other members of staff. In a party of over 100 guest, everyone spoke his name. Professional & courteous under pressure (as he was left on bar on his own) the supervisor popped his head in (but didn't help). The next day when Alex came in for his shift, he remembered individual guests from the wedding, initiated conversation & made all feel very appreciated. Only criticism, leaving the car park was a pain, having to wait each time for a card from reception (especially when busy could take a long time).

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsierusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear elsierusson

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know of your experience while attending a wedding celebration held at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your extended stay finding the staff to be friendly and helpful with Alex being mentioned by name for being professional throughout, you have my assurances that I have thanked Alex personally for the service provided and will serve as great motivation for the rest of the team.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The White Hart proved to be an ideal base for a couple of leisure days in Salisbury.

The staff were really friendly and gave us some good advice on places to see and eat. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. The rooms were a good size, and maybe because our rooms had no air conditioning, they had supplied a fan, which was an unexpected bonus. And the shower had a decent amount of power.

It's worth noting that the car park is accessed from the back of the hotel - so pass the hotel and take two immediate right turns and you'll come across the entrance to the car park.

Room Tip: Due to the hot weather I had the window open, and was therefore aware of road noise at night. Perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muppet1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear muppet1901

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart and for taking the time in letting us know of your experience.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be really friendly and as always these comments serve as great motivation for the entire team. I was further pleased to read that you enjoyed a good breakfast with plenty of choice of food on the buffet to set you up for the day ahead.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited this hotel for lunch last week and were very impressed with the service and the food.
Our waitress, Gloria, was so professional, friendly and cheerful that it was an added bonus that made our visit even more enjoyable. The food, too, was excellent. We were lucky enough to visit on a nice day so could enjoy the courtyard terrace for our al fresco lunch.

This was our first visit to the White Hart and we found it made a good meeting place - well-located and a pleasant welcoming amosphere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goldfinch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear goldfinch_10

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent lunch experience at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy dining in the courtyard and were well looked after by Gloria who provided you with both friendly and cheerful service as well as some excellent food. You have my assurances that I have thanked Gloria for being so attentive and thank you also for your direct e-mail which I also commended her on.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed at the hotel twice this year and both times the weather has been typically british summer heat. The rooms offered have been uncomfortably hot(ish) with little ventilation- both on the second floor. The electric fan on offer simply makes the room into a fan assisted oven. Opening the window - which had little effect - usually means putting up with the traffic noise and letting in the light from the street lamp situated some 6 feet from the window. I count a good nights sleep as being based on 3 things; temperature, noise and light and in all three the rooms offered failed. I later found out that another colleague had a similar experinence but that the second time of staying he occupied a first floor which had air con - so I suspect it is a lottery as to whether you are going to get a decent nights kip.
The hotel staff are friendly, the public rooms are excellent and the location for Salisbury very good.

Room Tip: Ask for an aircon room in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear pete e

Many thanks for once again choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel and for letting us know of your experience.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to your stay due to the current British summer heat, you have my assurances that we are reviewing the air conditioning units at the hotel.

Thank you also for your kind words for the staff and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wonderful old charm city centre hotel...Bang in the middle and so convenient for the Cathedral and shops. Good parking.
Pleasant staff and excellent restaurant and rooms. Surprisingly quiet for a city centre. Look no further.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden and car park are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterb1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear peterb1_11

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay finding the staff to be pleasant and were able to enjoy the excellent accommodation and restaurant facility at the hotel and whilst being located in the heart of the city that the accommodation provided was quiet.

Once again thank you and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were staying in our local Mercure with friends visiting from Edinburgh - it was too hot to stay at home!
Hannah, behind reception, was wonderful - so professional, helpful and friendly that we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Ask for Air con, not all rooms have it. The balcony of the honeymoon suite is great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank SHAJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear SHAJAS

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel and for taking the time to post your remarks.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay finding the staff and in particular Hannah to be wonderful, professional, helpful and friendly, please be assured I will share your comments with her as I am sure this will serve as great motivation for the entire team.

We hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the White Hart in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing