We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming and right in the centre of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We only stayed one night, as we wanted to visit Salisbury Cathedral, which is located very close by. White Hart is in a great location if that's why you're visiting Salisbury. Room was pleasantly decorated and quite spacious (by the standards of UK hotel rooms, which do seem to be on the small side). Only complaint was the TV, which was tiny and ancient. Television reception was through rabbit ears, didn't seem to tune into any channels properly. We were only there one night, and were out until quite late so were not bothered. Staff were pleasant and efficient -although we only dealt with reception. Lobby was beautiful - warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2009

The White Hart is an excellent hotel conveniently situated for straightforward car access from the ring road and easy walking access to the town centre and the cathedral which are both very close. Lovely rooms, plenty of hot water, car park, pretty courtyard useful for smokers, pleasant reception area/lounge with open fireplace (welcoming fire when we were there), very good breakfast buffet and both restaurant & bar menus available (though we didn't use this facility choosing to eat at a couple of recommended town centre restaurants). The staff were very helpful and friendly even though they were busy with Christmas parties. Our room was quiet even though parties were going on downstairs. All in all, a very good find which I will return to when next visitng Stonehenge which is all of 20 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gongolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I can't really fault this. It was excellent value and a very welcome break. If there was one criticism, it was that the restaurant was fully booked in the evening due to Christmas parties. But the staff were very helpful in finding an alternative, non-pub restaurant. The room was great, good size and well kept. The location is also ideal for exploring the town centre and the cathedral.

It had a really good feel and we loved it. Looking forward to going back in the spring.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank WordsworthFhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Sarah and Ed couldn't have done more to make our day perfect. All the staff in the hotel made our special day thier priority. The hotel is beautiful and the food was amazing. The honeymoon suit and all the rooms our family had were lovely. Can't say how amazing everthing was. We have already booked for new year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed in a Beautiful and Elegant bedroom (4 poster) we were at the hotel for our Birthday Party, with about 60 guests, we were made very welcome by the events organiser Sarah, and nothing was too much trouble for her. I would definately recommend this as a venue for an event/ business or pleasure.
Breakfast was great - A full buffet and a menu also available to cook to order - Highly recommend the Eggs Benedict!
There is no pool or Gym, which is the only down side, but they do ahve an affiliation with a local private leisure centre in the city, which we didnt use - as its a bit of a walk away!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bear19590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I fondly remember the White Hart when in previous ownership. My recent 3 day stay was a disappointment when I felt that the independant traveller was disadvantaged by the financial allure of business seminars. The main restuarent was out of bounds for the duration and the non conference guests were packed into a side room for all meals. I booked an executive room but was unimpressed--I do not have exceptional expectations but found stained upholstery and stained bedcovers unaccepable. The room was adequate and the breakfast acceptable. The French owners seem to have reduced the staff numbers to a minimum which caused delays at reception when answering telephone calls etc. The Hotel has good car parking. I will look elewhere the next time that I need to stay in Salisbury.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theriviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We arrived cold yet feeling like we were on an adventure - the snow had unecpectedly fallen and we came out of the cinema to find we couldn't get home. We'd only ever eaten at the White Hart (we love the cream tea!), but now found ourselves staying the night unexpectedly. What a treat! We had a lovely unrenovated room that we thought were nicer than those that had been renovated, it was spacious, the receptionist went to a lot of trouble to get the pillows we liked (it was now about 11pm) and we felt thoroughly pampered and thoroughly loved the spontenaety of it all. The room was very clean, the bathroom had lots of hot water and a great shower and we even got that day's newspaper. Breakfast was just beautiful, as was the view towards Salisbury's cathedral. What a wonderful surprise this hotel was and we'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Forever_a_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
567 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £78 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing