We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
A TripAdvisor Member
London
12
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We failed to stay at the Mercure Salisbury as we were unable to complete our journey due to heavy snow which forced us to turn back part way there. I called the Hotel to explain the situation and was told that we would not be eligible for a refund.

We were travelling to Salisbury for a wedding which was postponed as a result of the conditions and tried to get the hotel to credit our booking against the rescheduled date - however this was a no go too. We were charged £100 for our room eventhough conditions made it impossible to get to the hotel.

So I have never stayed at the White Hart and never will do. Nor will the rest of the wedding party when we return to Salisbury in March.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

I can understand your frustration with not being able to travel however, I must point out that when you book a room at the Mercure Salisbury White Hart you are presented with a number of choices. As with most hotels and airlines the cheapest option is very cheaply priced due to the restrictions clearly specified about cancelling. You had the option to book a flexible rate which allows you to cancel up until 6pm on the day of arrival. If you had choosen this more expensive rate then we would have cancelled your room without charge. If you would like to discuss this further I am available on 01722 327476 or by email on h6616-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveiow2015
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2010

The fourth stay at The White Hart , Salisbury.
Reception was excellent, big comfy sofas and a log fire , met with a warm greeting by Kerry , this really does make a difference and can set the scene for the stay , we had arrived early , this was not a problem , the room was not ready however Kerry checked us in to save time later , it was suggested we leave our luggage maybe have some lunch and go out and about. and the room would be ready in approx an hour.
The room was good ,clean and comfortable , there is only so much you need and can use in an hotel room and The White Hart has it all. The lounge/reception area is great place to order coffee , read the papers and just watch the world go by whilst sat beside the fire.
Breakfast was its usual high standard . It was good to see painting going on in some of the bedroom corridors obviously the hotel is being maintained well.
The car park is an unbelievable bonus ,I have to recommend The White Hart as just a very good and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed here the weekend of the 11/12 for two nights. The staff could not have been more helpful and despite it being a busy weekend with parties we were not disturbed by them. The atmosphere was lovely and the lunge was delightful with a fire burning and lovely afternoon tea if wanted. Its ideal for being in Salisbury only a short walk to the shops and the cathedral. The only drawback for me was that I could not get Radio 4 on the television! this, however did not detract from our stay. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trogladyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Two double rooms booked for two nights, for a wedding - one standard and one upgraded. The standard room was very pleasant, clean, spacious, and warm and with a place for two to sit as well as a desk and chair. There were no complaints.

The upgraded (newer) room was small – with no place to sit other than at a desk so that one person had to sit on the edge of the bed to watch TV etc., and had a very unpleasant smell of drains. Reception moved us to another room – this time with no smell – and we were initially happy with the change. However, this being one of the coldest weekends of the year thus far, we were amazed to find that the newly refurbished bathroom had no heating - of any type: no radiator, no heated floor or even a heated towel rail. A design fault – the architect and designer should be shot, or at least made to stay in the room! With two single-glazed windows and a ceramic tiled floor the bathroom was extremely unpleasant to use. We assume that the air-con unit in the bedroom was meant to heat bedroom and bathroom - it failed miserably and was, at times, blowing out cold air so that even the bedroom temperature fluctuated tremendously.

Sunday morning breakfast was a fiasco. The hotel was full due to several weddings in the area and we were told at check-in on the Friday that the main function and dining rooms would be in use from around 09.30 on the Sunday for a pre-booked Physic fair: therefore room service breakfast would be available at no extra charge. A good alternative - except that there were too many rooms taking up this offer and the hotel had not thought to increase staffing levels to cope with an increased and totally predictable demand.

Our breakfast was over 45 minutes late and others were even later – and at check out we were then asked to pay full room-service breakfast charges. There were also several other incorrect items on our bill: we had been told that parking was free for the wedding, but were initially charged, and also asked to pay for someone else’s room. The poor receptionist was doing her best to remain calm and helpful whilst working single-handed: a ‘manager’ appeared to be sitting in his office behind reception. The queue for check-out just kept growing behind us as we queried one item after another. Forward planning by the hotel management should have foreseen that a full hotel may all be checking out at around the same time on the Sunday morning, and therefore increased reception staff.

The main pluses were location, quality of food both in the restaurant the evening before and at the wedding reception, and the staff, Judit from Hungary gets special mention for her friendliness and attention, as does the other waitress (Friday night and Saturday service – sorry I cannot remember her name) who was peasant, attentive and industrious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I believe I have already responded personally to you regarding the points you raised, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Salisbury White Hart very soon. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ampthill
22
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Overall, the hotel ticks all of the right boxes. The room was pleasant, but as a result of one relatively small window, it was dark. The location was good and only a short walk from the city centre and Cathedral. Friendly atmosphere restaurant, helpful and courteous staff. One negative point for the visit was a lack of a bar. The one and only bar had been taken for a wedding reception. Although drinks could be ordered from the lobby area, at least 1 bar should be available for customers as a matter of course and I assume, star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
417 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £83 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing