We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd time, and will stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3rd time, and will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

My partner and I have stayed here 3 times, once with his parents.Each time we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and did not want to leave. We initially selected the hotel for its closeness to the Cathedral. We loved the ambience in the hotel and the cosy open fire in the reception lounge that greets you when you come in from the cold. The hotel is a lovely mix of old and new and staff friendly. Great breakfasts with plenty of choice for all, in the large airy dining room. Salisbury is a lovely, "oldy worldy" town. This hotel is perfectly situated for shops, catherdral and lovely traditional pubs. Would also recommed the Thai Sarocha restaurant on New street 5 minutes walk from hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerlily83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. We pride ourselves on our friendliness so I'm delighted this was highlighted. I hope we can welcome you back to the White Hart again very soon. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    369
    203
    65
    35
See reviews for
156
440
34
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

My now husband and I held our wedding reception at the White Hart and the majority of our guests stayed there the night of the wedding. The staff were simply fantastic and could not do enough for us, the food was fantastic (and much better value than other venues in Salisbury) and the surroundings were wonderful. Not one of my guests had any complaints (and some of them are incredibly fussy!) but all praised the hotel and its staff. Sarah Archer in particular deserves a mention.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Hall290111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice comment. My team were very proud to be a part of your special day. We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future and may we take this opportunity to offer you our best wishes for your married life. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

A first visit to the Mercure (and to Salisbury) with my teenage son to celebrate my husband's birthday. The ambience was lovely. From the open staircase to the plush sofa's and roaring fire, our one-night stay really did feel like a little piece of heaven.

.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snidelyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

as a present for my wife's 40th birthday i book'd a w/e away in Salisbury a city i know very well as i was born & brought up in the city. The hotel ticked all the box's as others in the center dont have their own car park even though you have to pay for the use of it.even though the location is on a busy main road we didnt have any nosie problems.the room was very good which suited our needs.After walk around the city center we decided to eat in the hotel which proved to be a good choice as the food was some of the best we have ever had & very good value the service was excelent down to the offer of water & extra bread with out having to ask unlike some resturants & even thoug we were 1 of only 2 couples eat we were never made to feel we were in the way.The price's in the bar were more than we would pay @ home or the local Wetherspoons they are on par with what the pubs in Salisbury charge .over all a very enjoyable stax

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure White Hart very soon. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I recently stay at the Mecure White Hart hotel in Salisbury with my partner. From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left we felt welcomed by all the staff we met. We had a warm friendly greeting when we arrived at reception and were explained meal times and pointed in the direction of the room. When we got to our room is was spotless. The room though a little on the small side accomodated all of our needs. We were attending a function at the hotel and all of the staff that worked the function were polite and courteous and the food was fantastic. Breakfast in the morning was also great and it was a good idea that they had a hot and cold buffet so we could choose what and how much we wanted rather than ordering it and getting too much or too little and food being wasted. When checking out of the hotel the reception staff were very polite and asked us if everything was ok with our stay which I think should be done at all hotels but isn't very often asked. A big plus of the hotel is the car park, you do have to pay £5 for it but I found that was cheaper than parking anywhere else in Salisbury over night. Overall I had a great time and will definatly return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the White Hart again very soon. Kind regards, Olivia O'Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Property: Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing