We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Smartly preserved on the outside, and lovely inside. There is a room with an open fire and some sofas that was a lovely place to relax.

The welcome was very pleasant, and the room was gorgeous. We stayed in one of the older rooms, which means you can hear the road by you, but it's not exactly busy, and never woke us up or kept us awake. The room itself was stunning, the beams and the shape of the roof where gorgeous, and the few bits of well chosen furniture meant that you would be comfortable, while in a gorgeous room that had been kitted out very sympathetically for the age of the building.

The bathroom was more modern, with a good sized bath and more than powerful shower. My only little niggle comes here, with the shower as hot as it goes i just didn't think it was quite hot enough, though i do have showers at a heat that would probably cause scalds for someone else, so that's purely subjective.

I would have liked to have had bath robes provided, but again this is personal taste, and if that's the only thing you'd change about a place you can't grumble really.

Loved it and we will be back!

Room Tip: an old room is prettier but the newer will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Enjoyed my stay here with my partner room was very clean and spacious. Couple of things over looked in bathroom though.
Only thing that let it down was booking, we payed for 2 nights with meal and one without and when i looked at bill it worked out we had payed £10 MORE to NOT have a 3 course meal :S i was told it was because the room was upgraded but by staff at hotel was told there was no upgrade??
Still the hotel was nice and although the restaurant lacked atmosphere the food was good and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are much more spacious than the older ones and the majority have views of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is my favourite hotel.

The rooms are cosy and beautiful with all the charm of what I presume to be much of the original architecture.

However, the rooms have been rennovated and kitted out well with all the mod cons and are warm and comfortable. The bathroom is especailly we rennovated and is clean, large and modern.

The hotel receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly and recommended a good pub in town (The Haunch of Venison) and equiped us well with a map. The hotel is in walking distance of the town centre and it is lovely walk over a bridge and past the Cathedral.

The big guy serving breakfast was extremely polite and professional. The breakfast was great too.

This hotel is somewhere I and my wife hope to return to someday. It was absolutely charming and very comfortable. Big thumbs up to the staff who work here.

Room Tip: Every room has a name rather than a number - we were in Stonehenge. This was pretty good, on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr.Ashwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Building looks interesting on arrival but inside it's quite bland and sterile. Receptionist unfriendly and stern so didn't feel welcomed. I arrived at 20.00 and wanted to eat but limited bar menu and I was informed that they stopped serving food at 20.30. Had to walk into town to eat which took around 15 minutes. Room acceptable, but certainly not luxurious - chipped bath and half used toiletries. Breakfast had a promising start with a good selection of cereals, pastries...ended poorly as after 30 minutes my cooked breakfast - just a poached egg! still had not arrived. I informed the waitress about this but she seemed completely uninterested and no apology. Best part of the stay was the river side location, but not enough to take me back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prince100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have just returned from the Legacy Rose and Crown for our first New Years eve break.
We decided to visit the hotel and stay for new year as we had stayed previously and really enjoyed it.
We had such a wonderful time, all the staff were welcoming and made our stay truly memorable.
The food was delicious, the wine flowed and the entertainment was wonderfully festive.

The hotel manager Peter Roche was second to none as host. Peter ensured we always had what we needed and danced the night away with us and all the guests.

A great location near the cathedral and a lovely festive, fun break! Thankyou all at the Rose and Crown for a lovely memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmabh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I arranged a business meeting at this excellent hotel and stayed on for a meal after my meeting. This is the first time I have been back for some 20 years and I was very impressed with pleasant staff and the fish cakes exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

There are two parts to this hotel, the original and ancient timber-beamed with plaster walls part and the much more recent(1960's) part. If you want the full-on traditional experience, stay in the old part, it dates from the 13th century and is replete with wooden pegged joints, hand hewn beams, angular doorways and creaky floors! The bathrooms, however, are modern and the whole place got an update just a few years ago(since my last stay in 2007) the plumbing and such. Just a two block walk from the Cathedral grounds and perhaps a mile to the train station(so skip the cab and enjoy a beautiful walk either through town or along a park, then through the Cathedral grounds). Service is friendly and very helpful, breakfast is a buffet with several items to choose from, including delicious Wiltshire ham. Not one, but two small pubs to enjoy a pulled pint which also features some local brews. Ample cable tv, wifi and hot water. The beds were typical. Another plus is there is a bus station just outside the hotel. The cute garden/patio area is alongside a picturesque river full of ducks, geese, etc. and last time I was there sheep were grazing on the other side.

Room Tip: All the "old" rooms from the 13th century face the street. There can be a bit of noise int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing