We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful weekend break”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable weekend break at Legacy Rose & Crown, Salisbury. Unlike some poor reviews we had read, we had very good set evening meals there, and as part of their Wine&Dine Spring package, this was excellent value. Young, attentive dining staff, (probably new), tastefully furnished beamed room in old part of hotel, delightful location on river and 5 mins walk from cathedral. Worth checking there's no wedding party on, which would be noisy! Our reception was bizarre: we had written 'Late Arrival 9pm' on online booking, and had telephoned to ensure they knew this, yet on arrival were greeted with "Oh you're finally here then"? But from then on everything was fine.

Room Tip: Not much sound insulation between rooms in old part of hotel, you wouldn't want noisy neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    307
    134
    59
    38
See reviews for
106
514
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A one night stay here over the bank holiday weekend, we got a cheap deal online but thankfully the overall experience was anything but! Lovely big room with view over the river to the cathedral (we booked a standard double), nicely decorated, really comfy bed and good facilities. Continental breakfast the next morning offered a very nice selection, plenty of everything.
The staff was generally pleasant, although perhaps understaffed - the lady in charge of the breakfast buffet room seemed rushed off her feet and rather harassed, this showed a little in her manner.
We chose this hotel over some others in the centre as it offered free parking, but was still only a ten minute walk from the town itself. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Went to see Jimmy Carr at Salisbury City Hall & decided to stay over, not knowing the area we checked out a few places on the web & we picked the Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, from arriving to departure the whole stay was excellent, from a very warm welcome to the very nice breakfast, if you are visiting Salisbury I can highly recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEHOLIDAYINCROATIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We chose this hotel for its location and parking facilities and both were excellent. It is a delightful 5 minute stroll across the river to the Cathedral Close, and only a little further to the town centre. The view from the back rooms is outstanding. The staff were very pleasant, but a little thin on the ground in the evening. Only the Avon bar was open, which would not have been my bar of choice. High tables and a TV are not really expected in a hotel of this quality. After all, the rooms have TV if that is what guests require.The other bar appeared much more relaxed, but there were no staff here at all. The room (No.21) was large and well appointed, with all the usual facilities. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Quaint but a bit noisy at front. Quiet with lovely view, but modern at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angetate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

First the good parts. The hotel is beautifully situated and great looking from the outside. Some years ago I went there for a wedding and the food was exceptional for a large gathering. On this visit the receptionist was extremely friendly as was Andrew, front of house, waiter etc.
We did not stay there (thank goodness). We went on an allegedly 'half price' deal via Travelzoo which provided a three course meal for two, glass of champagne, all 'worth up to £75' for £35. Bargain? No....
Firstly we had a drink in the bar accurately described by another reviewer as 'soulless'. The lady behind the bar hardly portrayed an impression of a highly rated hotel and neither did the restaurant waitress. Every beer, except lager, was off. So I went for Guinness which immediately expired, too. In the adjoining bar football was playing on the TV. The worst was yet to come.
The wine, water and (free) glass of champagne arrived with the soup. Main course, I went for steak which was utterly terrible and clearly of poor quality more akin to stewing steak and fibrous. The chunky chips were soggy and the field mushrooms were oozing water and oil. Disgusting. My partner went for pork belly with mustard mash and cabbage. The meat and cabbage were fine but the mustard mash was very vinegary and completely inedible. Andrew came along maybe a quarter way through and I told him how awful it was (and he could see and agreed) and offered to change it. By now, it was too late and in my acknowledging it was hardly his fault he advised he'd only started the day before! The puddings were okay as far as I recall.
The resaturant ambiance isn't what you'd expect as it is a conservatory. One of the other diners, probably on business, sat there reading his newspaper. A couple of elderly ladies complained of their varicose veins. You get the picture. So, for £35 plus about the same for a bottle of wine, half of lager and soft drink we had a three course meal from hell. My advice to you is this. Go elsewhere. For example, Wetherspoons in Salisbury the day before provided two steak meals and a bottle of Hardy's red wine for £17.99 which was a lot less than the wine alone at the Rose & Crown and was infinitely better despite their usual clientele. From the Rose & Crown we expected a lot more and simply did not get it. We live locally and won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProblemPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights - 20th - 22nd April. At first glance this appears a lovely Hotel.. beautiful setting, friendly receptionist and decent bedrooms. It stops there. The bar is souless, lacks atmosphere and the bar service/food is poor. The Pavillion Dining Room overlooks the River, but as like the bar area is souless and just doesn't work. The food is awful and over-priced. There was just one elderley (but polite) waitress who said she was the only one on duty .. and couldn't cope with a large number of diners - there were only 4 other couples dining in this vast dining room. In future we'll stop at a Premier Inn and dine out !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel in Salisbury in March and was incredibly impressed with the staff especially Sarah Shepherd-Jones, the hotel receptionist. She went out of her way to ensure that we were comfortable. It was our first visit to Salisbury and she spent time supplying us with maps and directions to the local attractions. She was very patient and very approachable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 626Serenety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
762 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing