We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge(Salisbury)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$144
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
366
347
146
64
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
347
146
64
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercontinental breakfastcathedral groundsmodern extensioncity centrelovely hotelsalisbury cathedraloriginal buildingnewer partexecutive roomnespresso machineshort walk to the cathedralnight breakexposed beamshotel restaurantground floorfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Booked for business, arrived very late, the reception was not particularly helpful and the room was like a sauna

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night,. On arrival the receptionist was very helpfull, he told us we had a room with a view, looking over the river, which did but on looking out of the window you couldn't but notice thge bird droppings, the feathers and dead insects stuck to the window. When the shower was used the inside of the window steamed up and the inside of the window had not been cleaned properly as it was all smeary.

The bottom of the shower curtian was filthy, it was the colour of rust, as was the non slip mat in the bath. There is no excuse for this as a new one only costs a few quid.

The wine is over priced for the standard of hotel, we ordered a bottle of white wine, when it came up the waitress told us that there was no ice for the wine cooler, yet when we went to the bar afterwards the barman said I will go to the kitchen to get some ice, I suspect that they did not have a wine cooler.

I had the fish cakes, which consisted of sloppy potatoe and a small amount of tastless fish, there were two of these on a bed of salad that looked like a ile of rubbish I ate one and that was enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is such a lovely hotel, we got the same room we stayed in last time, which was in the old part of the hotel, which is jam packed with character, and just gorgeous.

Ventured into the garden for the first time, which was also lovely, so close to salisbury, and yet not so in the hub of things you get kept awake. Brilliant, can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The room we stayed in was reasonable, however the zip that held the twin beds together was broken so you couldn’t go near the centre of the bed without falling down it. The shower head was so old and damaged it was no longer a shower. The hotel saved the best until last, breakfast was appalling, two members of staff rushed off there feet who chuntered to each other as they worked. We waited 10 minutes to be seated, and 10 minutes to get a pot of tea. The orange juice, bread rolls, fruit salad and croissants ran out, when we inquired we were told breakfast had finished and nothing would be replenished. They failed to see that they wasted 20 minutes of our time. Nearly forgot to mention the sweaty cheese wrapped in cling-film, and the dishevelled dress of the night porter who served us flat lemonade.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room in the old part if you want any features. This also avoids the numerous flights of stairs, handy when you have a case!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Enjoyed Salisbury very much, the stay at the Rose & Crown, being a period building felt just about right.

Booked an upgraded room which was excellent, sadly there was confusion over the aditional charge for Full English (which I'd asked for within the confirmed quote), just took the edge off of what otherwise was a pleasant short break.We took an all inclusive option, the meal was adequate, not extensive, and well prepared. Service was quick and not rushed, Breakfast is normally Continental (my only grump) and that's fine for many guests. Perhaps ensuring that guests are more aware that there's a choice and making it clear upon booking confirmaton exactly what is included will set aside any misunderstandings.

Room was spacious and well appointed, the view over the River Avon to the Cathedral was enchanting as was the short walk from the Hotel to the Cathedral itself and the City centre. Staff were attentive despite being very busy, we felt they were pleased to see us and we came away feeling valued as guests.

In all we enjoyed it and will return another day

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new part - they overlook the river and have a small garden patio style area
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews