We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis with dinner included on the first night.
At check-in we asked what was the latest time we could have dinner as we'd had a larger than intended lunch en-route. The Receptionist at first told us 7:30 then extended to 7:40 but another lady on reception said we could have it as late as 8:45 which we did.
The room was lovely. Quite big, twin beds (as requested) dressing table, two chairs and a table, flat screen TV and a huge bathroom The only downside was that the shower curtain could do with a good wash in bleach. (Does wonders for mildew and water stains.) We had doors opening out onto the garden with access directly to the river. We were lucky with this as I'd emailed the hotel before hand to ask if we could have a ground floor room opening up onto the garden as my husband has recently had a knee replacement and is waiting to have the other one done later this year. It was only after sending the email I realised that the rooms with garden access are executive rooms. Nevertheless, the hotel duly obliged, at no extra charge.
Dinner was edible though not overly exciting. I had the chicken liver pate followed by chicken supreme which was very nice but because of the aforementioned over eating at lunchtime I was unable to finish. Vegetables were well cooked and not hard at all (cauliflower, carrots and parsnips) with cubed roast potatoes. My husband had the whitebait for starter - quite a large portion, followed by the hake on ratatouille which he said was lovely.
We found the restaurant to be clean and welcoming with lovely views over the river. Did not notice any of the problems mentioned in previous reviews. The staff were very pleasant and unlike a previous reviewer, we were brought our white wine already in a wine bucket complete with ice, but yes, the wine is very expensive with the cheapest white being £19.95!
From the restaurant we went to the bar. This was my only disappointment with the hotel. Instead of being cosy and oldy worldy it had been modernised with half of the seats being on high stools at high tables in a very modern minimialistic area, and the other half consisting of modern leather bucket charis and a leather sofa, all of which everyone complained that they constantly slid out of. I did not feel that this was a very welcoming area of the hotel at all and it really should be taken back to its state as part of the old original building.
I was not particularly looking forward to breakfast the next morning after the reviews I had read but was very pleasantly surprised. We were quickly taken to our table, the waitress bringing the menus for the cooked breakfast with her.
The breakfast was lovely, all very hot and on hot plates. Coffee and tea was hot and strong and plenty of it.
The hotel was very close to the cathedral and town centre via the cathedral grounds. We spend the day exploring the cathedral and the town with a bus tour to Stonehenge and old Sarum. While we were exploring the town we took the opportunity to find somewhere to eat that evening and stumbled upon The Pheasant in Salt Lane and opposite there's Conran's Irish bar with live music on Friday and Saturday nights and Sunday lunchtimes. Both pubs we can highly recommend, with the food in The Pheasant being delicious and the staff very friendly and welcoming.
All in all, a lovely weekend, at a lovely hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend the Legacy Rose & Crown. My only reservation (pardon the pun) was the service in the bar where the barman, not being very busy (I suspect because of the not very welcoming decor of the bar) kept leaving the area to go for a chat to the reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Thursday 21 June 2012.
My wife and I ate lunch at this restaurant under a Travelzoo local deals arrangement. Choice was from the a la carte menu. Both starters were nicely presented and enjoyed, the sweets likewise; but the main courses were absolutely disgusting.

Our choices were; stuffed red pepper with couscous and tomato sauce, the other was steamed hake with risotto and hollandaise sauce. The hake was edible but undercooked and the other components bland, tasteless, grey and unappetising. The accompanying vegetables were spinach, broccoli, courgette and carrot; limp and poorly cooked.

Had we not pre-paid for this meal our subsequent discussion with the restaurant supervisor would have concerned a severe reduction to the cost of the meal.

Whilst we were in the dining room only seven clients ate lunch, we can now understand why it was quiet . An unmitigated disaster, never to be repeated.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Turbo-Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A lovely old building in a fine location with great views.
Restaurant quite expensive.
Tried it out again recently.
NEVER AGAIN.
Really bad cooking.
Empty at lunchtime and very poor service.
NEVER NEVER again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ArchbishopJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The setting is classically English with river frontage, views of the Cathedral and beautiful gardens. This hotel surives purely on its picturesque location as the staff, service and quality of the product fail to reach AAA 3 star standard , let alone the 4 star it claims. Our experience started with difficulty in making reservations... reaching a live person seemed to be a work of art. It should have been a red flag. The rooms we booked were not correctly configured but we made it work although our double room as configured by the hotel was two twins pushed together with no attempt to conceal the gap between beds albeit with the correct size duvet on top. Rooms were well appointed with modern bathrooms and free WiFi. No complaints here.

Breakfast was very average and staff poorly trained. "Stressed" was the look presented and ordering a hot breakfast seemed outside of the norm - menus had to be requested each day and placing the order a work of art based on trying to catch the eye of one of the two waitstaff. Incidentally tea was both weak and luke warm on both occasions. The nicer of the two bars never opened, despite it being a weekend, and finding a bartender in the more basic bar was difficult. On Sunday night this bar was also closed when we returned from dinner at 10 pm.

Some of the reception staff needed a refresher course in customer service. Newspapers needed to be ordered the night before but nowhere was this procedure apparent and no one could share where the nearest newsagent might be. Equally we felt almost attacked on return one evening when a receptionist scolded us for failing to turn in our keys on going for a walk.

We could go on but if you are looking for a real 4 star hotel, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel has a nice old part (from the 13th century) and a great location on the Avon river (lovely view from the breakfast room). It's a short walk to the magnificent Salisbury cathedral. I would have rated it 4 stars, but for it being just a bit under in several respects. Scrambled eggs at breakfast were rubbery and appeared to be microwaved. Breakfast time only 8 - 9.30. No tissues in bathroom. Hot water took forever to come on in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed her for one night on a "special deal" basis.
The initial impression of the location & the actual building was good.
Our room was in the old part & we were impressed when we first saw it.
Sadly, on closer inspection, there was a lack of attention to detail where cleanliness is concerned.
The bedside table lamp shades were stained & dusty.
Although the linen on the bed had been freshly laundered, there was a patch of chewing gum stuck on one side of the duvet cover.
The room was chilly & although this wasn't a big deal, the bathroom was exceptionally cold when wanting to use the shower.
There was a heated towel rail in the bathroom but unfortunately this could not be switched on from our room. No heating came on at any point.
Virtually every sound could be heard from the adjoining bedroom.
The evening meal in the conservatory area was a severe disappointment.
The room itself lacked atmosphere & smelled damp & musty.
The window sills were dirty & stained.
The redeeming feature was the view of the river.
The continental breakfast was poorly presented, e.g. cheese slices wrapped in cling-film, cold hard boiled eggs on a plate.
Our hotel deal included a packed lunch..there was no mention of this from the reception staff upon checkout. However, we were not bothered about this, considering the poor quality of the meals we had already had.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celandyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Booked for business, arrived very late, the reception was not particularly helpful and the room was like a sauna

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £51 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing