We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a mixed bag”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

It's quite difficult to give this hotel an overall rating - some aspects were fantastic, others were very poor. The receptionist (sorry, forgot her name) was an absolute gem, very welcoming and helpful. The room we got was not the one we had specifically booked, we wanted a room with direct access to the gardens but we were put on the first floor. It was a lovely and big room, very clean, comfortable and well kept with views of the river and a glimpse of the cathedral. When we booked in we were asked whether we wanted to have dinner there and upon perusing the menu we were happy to stay. Unfortunately, what was failed to be mentioned was that there was a wedding reception and we were not allowed to use the main restaurant or indeed other parts of the hotel. For dinner, we were shown to a small side room usually used for corporate conferences and it showed. There was no atmosphere, the other 3 couples dining there were as uncomfortable as we were. The service was terrible, we had to go looking for a menu as well as the waiter - we were tempted to leave at that point but manners prevailed. There was also a confusion over the food we could or could not order. The food was ok but expensive and spoilt by the cold and corporate atmosphere of the room. The most attractive part of the hotel, the gardens by the river, were out of bounds due to the wedding party as well. We did sneak to the furthest corner though and we found that the tranquility of the river was outstanding and well worth breaking the rules for! Continental breakfast was included in the fairly high room rate which, well, what can you say about continental breakfast, it's fairly basic. We could have opted for the cooked breakfast but this was very expensive; I simply refuse to be part of daylight robbery. We would recommend this hotel BUT prior to booking ensure that there is no wedding or similar function booked. Despite the negatives which all boil down to the wedding party and the attention of staff being on them alone rather than other guests, we would book this place again.

Room Tip: depending; the old part is definitely far more charming and characterful and the rooms in the new pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMK13Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    311
    138
    60
    38
See reviews for
107
519
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We arrived later in the day in Salisbury without having secured a room for the night. A lovely gentleman on the street directed us to The Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel, near Salisbury Cathedral. We were greeted very warmly by desk staff who booked us into the wonderful beam, four poster bed room. Original Tudor, but with all the mod cons!
We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening and were given a wonderful meal. I can't fault this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose the "four poster, beam room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We decided to stay here for one night on our way home from Wales. We had never been to Salisbury and got a last minute price of £59 including continental breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Seemed to good to turn down!

The hotel itself was clean and the room was nice and big with a lovely view of the river. The setting is beautiful and very very quiet, the odd duck quack and that's it. The room was also quiet, no strange hums, slamming doors or clanging air-cons which I've suffered from in other hotel. It's an easy walk to the city centre, cathedral etc. All in all it was a shame they were too expensive for us to think about staying another night because if I could have, I would have.

I didn't eat or use the bar so can't comment on the price or service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperfranKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I am most dissatisfied with The Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel as it appeared that they had cancelled my booking when I arrived to check in during my holiday, in spite of their written confirmation and my full payment several months earlier. The reason The Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel gave was, that they could earn more by renting my room again without the early booking discount. According to the booking conditions I was not entitled to cancel.

My opinion about this misconduct of The Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel:

Never book this hotel! The management is most unreliable.

The fees I had to pay my bank for 2 credit card transactions have not been refunded by The Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel.

Room Tip: Never book this hotel! The management is most unreliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harry654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We turned up without booking and they had a room free which was cheaper than the advertised rate on TripAdvisor etc. We were attracted by the fact that it was very central and had free parking which was brilliant for during the day and seeing the cathedral.

The room we stayed backed onto the private garden which was lovely although my only concern is that sometimes other guests walked past our patio doors unexpectedly. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean and good quality.

The standard of cleaning in the room was acceptable but not excellent, in particular the en-suite could have been better. Although the rooms had been refurbished in recent times, the windows could have done with a lick of paint and the en-suite needed some attention to a patch of mould on the ceiling.

We experienced the same issues with water pressure that other reviewers have commented on in that there were bursts of very hot water and then the pressure dropping off which made showering a bit of a faff.

The continental breakfast included in the price of the room was fine. There was the option to upgrade to a cooked English breakfast for an extra £5 each.

The staff that we encountered were friendly. The lady serving breakfast could have used some help as she was very busy on her own with a number of guests to attend to.

Overall our stay was acceptable but not exceptional considering the price paid for the room. The place did have a lot of character due to the historic building but the newer part at the back where we stayed was fairly average.

Room Tip: Be aware there are rooms in the old and new parts of the hotel. If you want character you may wish t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ad_herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We drove around for ages looking for a nice place to stay the night and then decided to ask two locals, they directed us to this beautiful B&B and I'm so glad! Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was outstanding, I recommend the Heath Suite, very reasonable price for a historic Tudor room! We had dinner there as well and the food was beautiful, fresh and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The Heath Suite is beautiful, very spacious, clean, full facilities and has all the original Tudor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Arrived for a 3 night break on a wine and dine offer lovely setting overlooking riverAvon
Bedroo0m and ensuite really nice staff ok ... Thats where it ended resturaunt conservatory windows very dirty. and the Food was pretty awful sorry just awful only 2 bitems plus a vegy to pic from all 3 evenings with a repeat on the third night over cooked little presentation no imagination third night i protested and was offered a Bar snack menu that was the worst Bar snack I have ever seen so settled for a Steak surprise that was tough they have a 4 star certificate but it was nowhere near the standard for that hece on 2 stars for accomodation food zilch ???

Room Tip: Room 24 room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing