We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

From the moment we checked in until we left five days later the service, amenities, and reception staff made our stay a never to be forgotton one. The triple room (16) looked out to the garden, Salisbury Cathedral in the background over the river Avon, we also had access to the garden from our room. Only a short walk into the city centre through the Close. The room was clean, plenty large enough for three, with a spacious and well equipped bathroom. The English Breakfast was included in the room rate which was a surprise for us reading previous reviews. The new manager has certainly made some improvements. Hope to be back in 2014 !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jushernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

I was dekighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us at the hotel,the team are certainly focussed on custoner service and we do hope that on your next visit you will consider tha Rose & Crown as your destination

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Legacy Rose and Crown. The large triple room we booked had wonderful views over the river to the water meadows and beautiful cathedral. The bathroom was spacious with a very good shower and a large counter-top for all your toiletries (something that is often lacking in hotels). We enjoyed great breakfasts in the sunny conservatory - again with cathedral views - and the staff were lovely. Reception staff were friendly and helpful too. The hotel has its own car park and the close proximity to the city and cathedral were a real bonus. We would definitely recommend the Legacy Rose and Crown to anyone visiting Salisbury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jacaranda9927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest

The team were delighted to hear that you had a mervelous time on you vaccation,we hope to extend a warm welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

All staff (except one person) were extremely friendly and helpful while remaining professional. The view was wonderful - we looked out over the River Avon and the Salisbury Cathedral spire - marvellous! The beds were excellent. We had some problems figuring out how to use the shower and both the receptionist and maintenance man came and showed us how it worked. Apparently lots of people get caught out with this. They were friendly and willing to help.

The negatives - its really not worth the money they charge for accommodation, and the food was a total rip-off. We got in trouble by the one staff member, as we did not book for dinner in the morning one day (we just turned up at dinnertime). They require a booking and a time that you will want dinner in advance, which is very difficult when you are touring and not sure when/where you may be eating. The menu is very limited (I know that a large menu is not necessarily the way to go, but this menu left little option) and when comparing prices between this hotel and others we were ripped off - to the point that J20's are 85p each more expensive than anywhere else we have been.

One last issue - when opening the shower cap (which was in a sealed plastic packet) I found it was still wet from someone else using it.

Despite the friendly staff and lovely view, we really didn't get value for money and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vannsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay,I was pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay,I will off course also look at the areas that we failed to meet your expectations in order that we may continue to deliver a first class service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have recently returned from an overnight stay at the Legacy Rose and Crown and we really enjoyed it so much so that we are returning to the hotel for a longer weekend break in November.
The staff really make this hotel special and everyone I came into contact with really seemed caring, polite, freindly and very customer centric. Credit to Sharon on reception who gave us a terrific welcome ! We enjoyed a lovely lunch followed by afternoon tea and what we had was of a high standard and competitively priced. Breakfast the next day was excellent and enjoyed all the more with the pleasant views of the river. Our room was one of the largest rooms we stayed in and very comfortable with a large super king bedroom and fantastic views over the gardens and river. Its a good ten minute walk to the centre of Salisbury so very easy to get to.
I would highly recommend anyone visiting Salisbury to stay at this quintessential English hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grantie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your at the hotel and the wonderfull facilities that Salisbuty has to offer.I do you hope that on your next holiday that we will continue to be your service provider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have been introducing our American daughter-in-lawand grand-daughter to the delights of England, booking in the Legacy Rose and Crown ito enable visiting the Cathedral, Stonehenge etc.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable with views of the beautiful rose garden, All the staff we met were welcoming and friendly, the dinner and breakfast well presented and delicious.
The check-in lady was extremely helpful in directing us to various places in Salisbury.
The family are returning to the USA soon, we shall be returning to the Rose and Crown as soon as we can find the time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and/or the river are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We recently spent ten nights in Rosé and Crown while vacationing in the Salisbury area. We love the Rose and Crown and have stayed there numerous times over the past 40 years. The location and the view of Salisbury from the hotel is fantastic. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful especially Sharon in reception. Breakfast now includes hot food and is very good. Our room was very comfortable and extremely clean. House keeping did a great job every day. The parking lot had plenty of spaces which is unusual for hotels in the Salisbury area. Again, a great place to stay with a wonderful atmosphere. We will certainly go back there the next time we are in England.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments following your recent stay we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Booked a room overlooking river. The view of the river was delightful. We were given a room on the first floor. A balcony would have been lovely! Room was spacious. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Arrived at lunchtime and had a very enjoyable bar snack. I found the continental breakfast perfectly fine with plenty of choice. However I do agree with other reviewers. This hotel needs to drop the five pound charge for a cooked breakfast. Just factor it in to the room price!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pat580426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel,the hotel certainly is ih an ideal setting as a team we are all delighted to be part of the hotels success,we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £57 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing