We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at legacyrose and crown salisbury,quaint hotel.Stay includedwine and dine offer,bottle of wine in room and 2nights db&b .lovely outlook from restaurant overlooking river. room had view of cathedral,seating area outside to relax before meal.Only 5min walk into city and cathedral.Would book again to see more of surrounding area

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BROMLEY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay,the hotel is set in a truly remarkable setting and I do hope that you will consider the Rose & Crown hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    301
    127
    59
    36
See reviews for
104
502
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived at the Rose & Crown to find the staff very friendly and cheerful. After some confusion we were given Room 23, which was excellent with a view of the canal and Cathedral. Room lovely and bright and clean. Hotel only 5 minutes walk to Cathedral and town centre, no car parking problems at hotel. We were booked in for a 2 day heritage break with dinner on 1st night. Restaurant food delicious and good varied menu, bottle of wine included in deal. The staff very polite and attentive. Breakfast again great, food cooked to order and good choice of menu. The two waitresses were excellent, nothing too much trouble and always smiling. Sharon on reception sorted our room and could not have been more helpful. Will return again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend high floors as views wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristineJohn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Wow !!!! Really Lovely Hotel Really Lovely Friendly Staff. We Had Such A Lovely Stay In This Lovely Hotel Easy Walk From Salisbury Railway Station Right Throug Cathedral Grounds And Arrived At This Lovely Hotel. Just As Pictures On Line Only Better !! Such Lovely Reception Staff Arrived At Hotel Early And Before Checkin Just Hoping If Could Leave Case While We Explored The Lovely City. Reception Kindly Checked And Room Was Ready Which We Didn't Expect We Stayed In The Executive Rooms And OMG !! How Lovely Lovely Room Plenty Of Room Complementary Robes And Slippers And So Loved Being Able To Open Door To Lovely Patio Table Outside Overlooking Cathedral And River Wow !!! We Unpacked And Went To Explore On Our Way Out We Looked At The Menu And Reserved A Table For Our Evening Meal And Grabbed A Drink In The Lovely Quaint Bar And Again Really Friendly Staff. After Our Little Explore Again Through Cathedral Grounds And Into Town Lovely Short Stroll From Hotel Returned Got Changed And Went To Dinner. OMG !!! How Lovely Can Honestly Say Best Meal Weve Ever Had Was So Lovely Really Friendly Waitress Lovely Service Amazing Food Were Even Offered To Have Our Coffe's Sat Outside Our Room At Our Table. Wow !! We Treated Ourselves To Breckfast In Bed Wow !! Soooo Lovely Thoroughly Spoilt Patio Doors Open Amazing View Amazing Breckfast Such A Shame We Had To Leave. Easy Checkout Reception Kindly Looked After Case While We Explored Again. We Had Such An Amazing Time And Can't Wait To Return Again & Again.
Thanks Again
Wayne & Debbie

Room Tip: Really Would Reccomend The Deluxe Rooms Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have nothing but glowing and sickly-sweet words to say on our brief stay at the Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel. So I will begin.
I booked a last minute 1 night stay on Late Rooms at a fantastic price. I called to confirm our booking, and the room that we were staying in (Executive Double) as any prudent holiday maker should. All was glitch free.
We arrived at 4.00pm to a very warm welcome by Sharon at reception who was efficient, very professional and approachable with a wicked sense of humour. She relayed some brief information on the hotel that was helpful and informative before handing over our keys.
As is the case for the majority of hotels that are not of large chains, we of course carried our bags to our room. If you can't carry it, you shouldn't pack it is always my motto, and I would shudder at the thought of a "bell boy" having to carry my things (this is what my husband is for...)
Our room was utterly perfect, spotless and very comfortable. We had patio doors onto the garden, with our own set of chairs of table which in which to watch the ducks. A couple of steps away was the beautiful river and gardens. Heaven.
The shower was a fantastic treat, and I indulged in 2 very long, wonderfully hot showers. I was half expecting the hot water to run out at one point, but it never did. Perfect.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but were warmly invited to. Instead we pottered into Salisbury to look around and eat out. Dinner did look lovely, however, and I would have happily eaten.
Coffee in the morning outside by the river and the ducks before anyone else was awake at the hotel was a memory that I will never forget. Bliss.
Breakfast was a good selection of breads, pastries, cereal, fresh and dried fruits and juices, followed by a cooked breakfast which my husband thoroughly enjoyed.
What a wonderful experience. Every member of staff that we met were friendly, kind and courteous. We had a lovely time talking to Sharon at reception who was a delight. We were also very honoured to have the presence of a cat come to visit us as we sat outside. He told me he was called William, but I could not vouch for this.
A fantastic stay, a wonderful break, a brilliantly friendly hotel and wonderful reception (which is the founding stone of a good business). I could not rate our experience higher.
We will definitely come back when finances allow to treat ourselves to another stay at a little slice of Heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leelouballoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed one night. The room was large and well appointed although the wallpaper was coming off the ceiling a bit. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had trouble with the control for the shower (a common problem we were told.) Don't pack too heavily because you will have to carry your case up or down some stairs. We had a lovely view of the gardens and we sat outside enjoying the view of the river and the spire from the cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valleytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay,the team hope that we will have the opportunity to continue to offer a first class service on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked 2 rooms for a night for a family of 4 via Expedia on the same day. On arriving at the hotel reception @ 9 pm, were told the hotel was full and the Expedia reservations had not come through. Were offered the option of a single room with 2 extra beds for the teenagers. We accepted with gratitude!
The kids excitedly ran to the room and by the time my wife and I had arrived there, they had found and killed a spider which they found on the bed. Took a picture as a souvenir!
Few hours later around 11 pm, the phone rang and we were offered the other room. The kids took the offer. Thanks.
Next day morning, at the breakfast, the manager mentioned the episode and apologised. Appreciate it.
The breakfast was ok. Although, the front 2 legs of my chair creaked and gave way (I only weigh 70kgs). Inconspicously replaced it with another one.
On a positive, the ground floor room was decent, the back doors opening into the garden and riverside. The location was good and walking distance to the Cathedral and the city centre.

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room reservations directly with the hotel, especially if it is a late booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Please accelt my apologies for the misunderstanding that occurred on your arrival at the hotel,I was pleased ro read that we were able to resolve the issue and that your overall stay was enjoyed by the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

On arrival we found out there was a wedding going on that day any my heart sank but in fact all was well and we were not disturbed by any late night revellers. Could have been the room we were given was well placed as I was told it was changed from our original allocation. Room itself was large, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good, didn't have enough staff on duty to keep up with replenishing the buffet and constantly ran out of orange juice, milk, bowls etc but the staff on duty did their best to keep everything as it should be. Our waiter was a very pleasant young man and when the stress subsided the girls on duty were chatty and lovely. Hotel is very well placed to walk into Salisbury city very easily and we managed to park ok but space is limited in the hotel car park. Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persephone273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on Sunday morning for breakfast,please be assured that I will discuss the breakfast service with the team and plan the structure as we move forward.I was laso pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing