We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a quiet spot by the river with postcard views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellent hotel in a quiet spot by one of the Avon river canals, not far Cathedral and town center (about 400m).
Part of the hotel is a historic building from middle ages, but all rooms have modern facilities and are decorated with good taste.
Reception service is very sociable and informative.
Our room had views over the canal, a large and comfy bed, good noise insulation, and a huge bathroom (you will need to carry your lugagge up the stairs for one floor, unfortunatelly).
Hotel garden (or "patio" as they insist to call it) is a nice place to sit by the canal sipping a beer and watching birds (we spotted ducks, swans, moorhens, a kingfisher, crows, and jackdaws while having an ale pint there)
In the evening you can hear the ducks doing their quacks and the sheep doing their behs in the other bank.
We had a tasty and delightful a la carte dinner at the hotel, served by discreet and true professional waiters.
Good buffet breakfast, with habitual Brit hot options on demmand (only questionable detail: no natural yogurt available).
We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Views to the canal are a must. We preferred the first floor rooms, and to avoid groundfloor appartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Torremaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay wa are all proud to be part of the Rose & Crown team,the facilities we have ar second to none,we do hope that you will continue to travel to Salisbury in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel at the rivers edge with views of Salisbury Cathedral. Breakfast is an easy going affair in the large dining room,with the river just metes away. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Ours had just had a bathroom makeover which was well done. Only negative comment is that the bar is too small for a hotel of this grandeur

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished suite at the far end of the row of bedrooms. Ask to go up rather than d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jomsomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay,we do hope that we can extend you a warm welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in July on a last minute booking. Sharon on reception had only just started that week but was very friendly and helpful....we did leave a camera cable there and contacted the hotel to forward it on to us, but as yet they haven't had an opportunity to do so. We found the hotel to be the perfectly located for our needs, with only a short walking distance to the centre ( 8 mins approx.).

There is no worry about parking, unlike in the town centre. We hope to stay again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jules121_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read thet you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the hotel,the hotel is a fantastic product and we pride ourselve on exceeding our guests expectations,we do hope that you will visit Salisbury in the not to distanr future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The problems began with one of the hotel staff forgetting to type in the "twin beds" I had requested on the online reservation form. With no other rooms available, the desk clerk suggested putting some pillows between us. Fortunately another staff member walked by and said Room 9 could be adjusted to 2 separate beds. The room looked lovely, but the ground level location next to a Ladies Room and Staff room was terrible. In the morning we could hear a lot of doors banging closed. The windows opened onto the parking lot, so there was also noise from late-night party-goers returning to the hotel, as well as cars & trucks driving up in the morning. Since we arrived late, the restaurant was closed. The desk clerk suggested "ordering a pizza or Chinese food." She called for Chinese takeout, which was of poor quality. Then we attempted to watch TV, but something was wrong with the remote control. When we called for assistance, the young staff member remarked: "You're really getting your money's worth from us tonight." It took 10 or so minutes, but he finally got the remote to work. Soon after, we moved a chair and discovered the previous guest's dirty clothes on the floor. The bath/shower was in good condition, but the sink faucet leaked. The heater for the towel rack turned on with the light switch, which made us uneasy (our previous hotel had warned us to turn their towel heater off when we were done bathing because it was hazardous to leave on). At next morning's Continental breakfast, I had fresh croissants and a choice of juices. The 2 varieties of yogurt were both fat-free, which was a disappointment, but the waitress was kind and did her best for us.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 9 - or any room on the ground floor with windows opening up onto the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Satya_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback in relation to your recent stay and please accept my apologies for the misunderstanding with your room type on arrival.I have spoken to Martin Lewis who is the hotel`s assistant manager who assisted you with your concers throughout the evening.
I do hope that you would have the confidence to rebook a room at the hotel on your next visit thus allowing the team an opportunity to demonstrate our ability to offer a 100% service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at legacyrose and crown salisbury,quaint hotel.Stay includedwine and dine offer,bottle of wine in room and 2nights db&b .lovely outlook from restaurant overlooking river. room had view of cathedral,seating area outside to relax before meal.Only 5min walk into city and cathedral.Would book again to see more of surrounding area

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BROMLEY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay,the hotel is set in a truly remarkable setting and I do hope that you will consider the Rose & Crown hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived at the Rose & Crown to find the staff very friendly and cheerful. After some confusion we were given Room 23, which was excellent with a view of the canal and Cathedral. Room lovely and bright and clean. Hotel only 5 minutes walk to Cathedral and town centre, no car parking problems at hotel. We were booked in for a 2 day heritage break with dinner on 1st night. Restaurant food delicious and good varied menu, bottle of wine included in deal. The staff very polite and attentive. Breakfast again great, food cooked to order and good choice of menu. The two waitresses were excellent, nothing too much trouble and always smiling. Sharon on reception sorted our room and could not have been more helpful. Will return again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend high floors as views wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristineJohn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Wow !!!! Really Lovely Hotel Really Lovely Friendly Staff. We Had Such A Lovely Stay In This Lovely Hotel Easy Walk From Salisbury Railway Station Right Throug Cathedral Grounds And Arrived At This Lovely Hotel. Just As Pictures On Line Only Better !! Such Lovely Reception Staff Arrived At Hotel Early And Before Checkin Just Hoping If Could Leave Case While We Explored The Lovely City. Reception Kindly Checked And Room Was Ready Which We Didn't Expect We Stayed In The Executive Rooms And OMG !! How Lovely Lovely Room Plenty Of Room Complementary Robes And Slippers And So Loved Being Able To Open Door To Lovely Patio Table Outside Overlooking Cathedral And River Wow !!! We Unpacked And Went To Explore On Our Way Out We Looked At The Menu And Reserved A Table For Our Evening Meal And Grabbed A Drink In The Lovely Quaint Bar And Again Really Friendly Staff. After Our Little Explore Again Through Cathedral Grounds And Into Town Lovely Short Stroll From Hotel Returned Got Changed And Went To Dinner. OMG !!! How Lovely Can Honestly Say Best Meal Weve Ever Had Was So Lovely Really Friendly Waitress Lovely Service Amazing Food Were Even Offered To Have Our Coffe's Sat Outside Our Room At Our Table. Wow !! We Treated Ourselves To Breckfast In Bed Wow !! Soooo Lovely Thoroughly Spoilt Patio Doors Open Amazing View Amazing Breckfast Such A Shame We Had To Leave. Easy Checkout Reception Kindly Looked After Case While We Explored Again. We Had Such An Amazing Time And Can't Wait To Return Again & Again.
Thanks Again
Wayne & Debbie

Room Tip: Really Would Reccomend The Deluxe Rooms Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing