We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visit Salisbury annually and have tried all of the different options over the years. Lately we have come back to the R&C, because they are very accommodating and lately they seemed to have raised their game in terms of service, facility,cleanliness good food etc. Went out of their way to accommodate our early arrival.
Will be booking with them again on our next trip. And by the way, you won't find a spot with a better view/garden dining/bar area overlooking the river and Cathedral Green!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajgibb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your continued loyalty and I was delighted that we continue to exceed your expectations.
The team look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    296
    126
    59
    36
See reviews for
101
496
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel does the job it needs to do. Clean, conveniently located and good food. The staff are friendly and professional too.

If I had any criticisms it would be that the decor is a little dated and the bar lacks atmosphere. Also, a cooked breakfast costs £5 extra and the only option is porridge or full English. It would be nice to see other options on there.

This hotel doesn't leave you feeling like you have had a fantastic hotel experience, but it is good value for money and ticks all of the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your trip to Salisbury and that you found the facilities and staff to your liking I certainly hope that you will consider the Rose & Crown as your base when you next visit the Salisbury area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed with a group and we were given first class treatment for the entire week-end. The attentiveness of the staff could not be faulted. The quality of the food is first class. Although south of the city it's only a 5 minute walk to the cathedral and has stunning views across water meadows, so is perfectly located. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Salisbury,It is a lovely City.The Rose and Crown is a fantastic base as you consider your daily schedule.should you visit the Salisbury area in the future I do hope that you will consider the Rose and Crown as your accommodation provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights on their "Wine and Dine" offer at around £95 per night for 2 people dinner bed and "full" breakfast, plus a bottle of wine in the room.

The staff were mostly friendly and helpful, but did seem overstretched at times.

The room was pleasant enough with nice views of the river and Cathedral, however there was black mould on the windows and window sills in both the bedroom and bathroom. There was also a large patch of mould on the bedroom wall behind the curtains, a mouldy non-slip mat in the bath, and cobwebs in the bedroom.
As has been mentioned before, the shower control was very difficult to adjust, so as not to scald oneself.

We were given an allowance of £25 per person per day for dinner, but due to the prices in the restaurant, this wouldn't stretch to 3 courses. A typical dinner for 2 with a cheap bottle of wine would cost over £85.
The food was pleasant enough, but we thought it overpriced for what it was.
We were allowed a cooked breakfast on our package, but others were being charged £5 to upgrade.

Upon checking out, someone had mistakenly charged additional extras to our room, which were waived, but we suggest checking before paying.

Overall, for the price we paid, it was OK (apart from the mould), but certainly not worth anything like their regular prices.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay.Your comments ahve been reviewed at hotel level and action has already been taken to rectify the points that you addressed

We have a new Restaurant menu and we have allowed for different price options in order for the allocation to be provided over three courses.
I do hope that the experiance that you had will not deter you from visiting the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Worth going to Salisbury just to stay at the Rose and Crown.My wife and i had a large room with a king size bed.The room overlooked lovely gardens and a river .Picture perfect.The staff were excellent The restaurant was delightful ,and also overlooked the garden.It is just a pleasant walk to the cathedral and the picturesque town of Salisbury.

Room Tip: As we only saw the one room it is difficult to recommend ,but certainly a room with the view over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 64KelvinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.All our bedrooms are beautifully equipped throughout the hotel.I do hope hope that we will have an opportunity to extend a very warm welcome on your next visit to Salisbury and The Rose & Crown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We planned on staying here for one night during a 3 week guided tour of England. Reservations for two rooms were made through the Legacy Hotel web site several months in advance. We received confirmation and had all the paperwork with us upon arrival. However, at check in we were informed that they only had one room for us and that there was no record of the second room. Now, mistakes do happen, but the biggest problem was the way it was handled by the staff. The lady at the reception desk told us that "this happens all the time" and that "to ensure that you get rooms reserved, you must call the hotel directly, not use the website". She insisted that the online reservation system was owned by some other company (like a third pary booking agent) and they were to blame, not the hotel. We were then informed that there was nothing they could do since there were no more rooms available. The problem here is that we used the Legacy Hotel reservation system, not a "third party" booking agent. So the staff was basically lying to us in order to shift blame. She also told us she was new to the area and was unable to help us find another hotel. We then asked to see the property manager, but since he/she was unavailable, the "duty manager" came out. He told us that all he is obligated to do is help us find another place to stay. The staff didn't seem interested in making the effort to call other places, and our tour guide basically had to pressure them to make some calls. He even had to give them names of other hotels to try. After finding a new hotel for us, we asked the duty manager if they were willing to make any concessions (such as paying for part of our other hotel, or at least some dinner vouchers) to make up for the massive inconvenience. His response was "I said I would help you find a new hotel and I did. That is all I will do". To make things worse for us, since this issue added over an extra hour to our day, we were obligated to pay our guide for his extra time as well. When informed of this, the staff just said "sorry" and again refused to do anything for us. It just amazes me that a business would put so much effort into placing the blame elsewhere and refuse to take any responsibility. We got the impression that they really didn't care about the situation, or about us. We will never use Legacy Hotels again after this experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to the hotel,I am deeply saddened that the experiance you had at the hotel was less than favourable.We certainly ensure that our staff receive adequate training in customer care.I will certainly investigate the cooments that have been made,I would ask that you me at the hotel on 01722 328615.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uckfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The executive room was on the ground floor and had lovely views of the back garden,river avon and the cathedral.The room and bed were comfortable and the meals had over 4 days were good.The seasonal menu limited meal choice after a few days.However,the manager and staff down to the cleaner were very helpful,efficient and friendly.We will certainly be visiting the hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room backing onto the river avon ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlest t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can extend a warm welcome on your next visit to Salisbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing