We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for a night in September in room 21 & we would definately stay here again if in the area. We were in an adjoining part to the pub/hotel and these rooms are very new & modern. The room was huge including the bathroom. We were overlooking the garden, river and also had a view of the cathedral. It was all very clean and comfortable. The hotel is around a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Salisbury, There is a big car park out the back. There was a lot of choice for breakfast and although the waitress misheard me and gave a breakfast I hadn't ordered, the correct one soon arrived.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBirnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a nice break and that you are looking forward to returning to Salisbury and the hotel,the team will look forward to offering a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    296
    126
    59
    36
See reviews for
101
496
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed just the one night on a business trip. This was not the usual type of hotel I am used to-normally they are large with no character and where you feel you are just being processed. This was so different as all the staff were particularly attentive and had concern for your welfare and did their utmost to make a stay an enjoyable one. The bar is small and whilst I didnot feel the need to have a meal in the restaurant- preferring instead to order something from the bar menu- as the bar does not lend itself for sitting and eating food other than light bites I was readily offered a table in the restaurant. I had a small problem with the radiator in my room however this was attended to within 5 minutes without any fuss.
Overall this was a lovely place to stay, within easy walking distance of the town centre and close enough to the train station to walk as well.
Would ceratinly return, lovely character combined with attentive and pleasant staff make this hotel a must

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its lovely character,we are exteremly pleased with the product that we have,we do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Rose and Crown. More pricey than some other hotels where we stayed but did include breakfast, had free parking and was in walking distance to the cathedral and restaurants. Had view of Avon River and cathedral. Very clean and updated bathroom. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mozarteum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay at the hotel we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Just an overnight stay whilst me and the girlfriend took in some local history... the cathedral and Stonehenge.
A beautiful, well presented hotel in a great location for the city... Idillic setting and very quiet... although we had an executive room on the ground floor and you could here every step the people in the upstairs room took on the squeaky floor! But it was a minor thing.
The receptionist on our arrival in the evening of Thursday 24th was very helpful, had an excellent friendly and professional manner and lots of local knowledge. An excellent person to have welcoming guests.
Overall a great stay... would stay again for sure!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel and enjoyed the facilities that Salisbury has to offer.We will be delighted to extend you a very warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

On October 05th 2013, my son got married at the Rose & Crown Hotel. From the first contact he and his fiancee had with the hotel, they were very impressed. They consistently dealt with the same manager, who was extremely helpful and took away an awful lot of worries that they had. As the day approached, the final details were reviewed, and all the original promises that had been made were not only honored, but numerous small additions were readily accommodated. We were all confident by now that it would all go well - and so it did.

On the day, we were extremely impressed by the service given both to the young couple, and the guests, by the hotel staff. The attention to detail was superb, with the locations for both the ceremony and the reception looking absolutely wonderful. The weather was kind, so the photographs were able to be taken in the gardens on the bank of the river Avon, with Salisbury Cathedral in the background. Again, staff were on hand to assist in getting groups assembled for the photographer, with seemingly endless patience.

The meal was beautifully prepared and served, again with very attentive staff always being in the background to look after us.

All in all - if you are thinking about getting married in Salisbury, we would certainly recommend that you look closely at this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read that you all had a fabulous day at the wedding,it was a pleasure to play a large part in the success of the event.

The team pride themselves on the hard work and comitment that it takes to ensure your special day is truly remarkable.

Thank you once again

Derek McNeill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel has it all: comfort, cleanliness, great views, quiet rooms and tasty food. The teas, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room were also a nice touch. We also were thrilled with their half price special for a Sunday night stay. The shower was a little quirky (we needed management to adjust the temperature), but overall, we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kindafonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel beautiful with stunning views,we are extremely lucky to have a product with so mant unique selling points,the team do hope that the Rose & Crown will be your first choice for accommodation on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very relaxing stay, very courteous and accommodating staff. (Could have done without the fully decorated Christmas Tree, but this must be Legacy policy!) This was a surprise for my husband and I had asked for a river/cathedral view room and Beverley provided exactly this. The views over the river to the Cathedral are to die for and so mesmerising with all the wildlife there. Only five minutes walk to the Cathedral and a few more further into town, all in all an amazing spot. Room well furbished and clean, only slight concern was sticky door plates in the public areas. By the way, the old part of the original hotel is very interesting; here you get more historic rooms. Breakfast was good but a different experience on the two mornings, which is why we didn't leave our feedback form at the hotel, as we assumed our experience of it on day one would be replicated on the second day and we didn't have time to change anything before we checked out. Whilst the food and environment was of the same high standard, the serving staff were different and on the second morning they did not seem to be aware who had which package - cooked or continental - and this was queried quite loudly with each guest. As it happens, cooked was included with ours, but we felt very uncomfortable with this going on around us.

Room Tip: In the annexe, ask for river views, if traditional historic rooms are your preference ask for the or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolinoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the Rose & Crown experiance,please be assured that we will look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing