We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed two nights , Christmas Eve and Christmas Day as we wanted a quiet but pampered Christmas.
We had trouble finding the hotel as our Sat Nav wanted to drop us off at the railway station. A tricky 20 minutes going round in circles then until we eventually typed in the street name for the hotel. So be warned folks! Its not that easy to find anyway.
Once at the hotel we had the nicest welcome anyone could wish for. The staff are delightful, faultless ! The service throughout the hotel was exceptional, so a huge "thank you" to everyone.
Our room was all we could have wished for. Everything was perfect down to the comfy bed, the view of the river, the quietness of the room too. It even had a iron and ironing board.
We felt the food was first class overall. Boxing day lunch was OK but not as special (naturally) as Christmas Day even though I opted for the Christmas Roast Turkey. But no complaints as it was still very good.
We walked over to the Cathedral - just a few minutes away - on Christmas afternoon and it was just beautiful. The choir were singing and it gave me goose bumps . The choir sang like angels; it was indeed heavenly and so moving!
If I had to find one thing to comment negatively about it would be the music in the restaurant. They played the same CD over and over again for the two days. Now I don't dislike Cliff Richard
that much but ........ !* ! *** !
It was such a shame as there is some really good Christmas music available. And music can make or break any party atmosphere. That was the only negative but we felt that it did spoil the ambience in the restaurant.
Would we go again? Yes but I would take some of our own CD's just in case ! :)

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nannabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thak you for your excellent feedback following your stay over the festive period,please accept my apologies for the delay in my response.We are just finalising our Christmas programme for 2014 and we will forward you a copy and the team will look forward to extending you a warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have visited regularly through the years as we spent our honeymoon there 40 years ago. Current ownership is a big improvement on previous years, Food excellent and service friendly and attentive plus the location by river and cathederal is unbeatable.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p_a_collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments following your return visit to the hotel,we do hope that The Rose & Crown and Legacy Hotels will be your first choice hotel provider.We look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel is in a good location at the other side of the Cathedral from the city. It is good to have a hotel near the city with good parking facilities. The room in the modern extension was very good and we appreciated the good lighting. Did not eat in the hotel as seemed quite expensive. Had a drink in the bar but were disappointed that the fire was not lit on a December evening. Continental breakfast was good but did not feel we could ask for cold meats and cheeses. Perhaps could be set out on the buffet if available. Overall felt that it was a good three star hotel rather than four star.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank langhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your positive comments on the site we look forward to being of assistance to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Never stayed in Salisbury before but made a very good choice in this hotel. Wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived as it looked to be 'oldy worldy' but not that inside. The rooms were very clean and remarkably spacious. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Everything you needed for the stay whether business or pleasure was available. The only possible downside to the hotel was the cost of meals in the restaurant but the meals in the bar, although limited, were very good. This is another hotel I have added to places I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the gardens at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments posted on the site,I was delighted that you found the Character of the hotel to your liking ,as you indicated the hotel is very quaint as it stands in it glory and character of the 13th Century Coaching Inn that is famous across the country.We do hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed here twice now and both times its been the best stay i have had in a hotel food is good staff very friendly went out of there way to help even had time to talk to you made you feel part of the place
would stay again next time in Salisbury

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting the hotel ,I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the third time we have stayed here and each time it gets better. Reception area has had a great looking 'face lift'. The managers Martin and Derek were very accommodating and yes we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SilverSurfer4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for returning to The Rose & Crown we value your business,I was delighted to read that yet again you enjoyed your stay,we look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As many other reviewers have said, but it cannot be stressed enough, the Rose & Crown is in the best possible position being only 5 minutes walk to the cathedral but overlooking the river in a very peaceful spot. We spent 2 nights after Christmas on a wine and dine break at a very reasonable cost of £100 per night per room for dinner, bed and breakfast including a nice bottle of wine in the room. The room was fine, usual layout, a little small compared say with the basic Premier Inn hotels but with that wonderful view over the river towards the cathedral. We were on the first (top) floor in the annexe so had no problems with creaky floors above as mentioned by other reviewers - being winter we did not miss having a patio! If the room had been a bit bigger there would have been room for a small table which would have been very useful for our room service breakfast! This was done very well, with two chaps bringing our food, and despite the fact we were the farthest away room from the kitchen, the cooked part was still piping hot. £5 extra was not much to pay to have the comfort of breakfast in bed without having the bother of getting washed, dressed, etc. for breakfast in the dining room - especially as breakfast ended at 9.30 which I thought was a little early. The only thing you couldn't choose was fruit, which we had on the second day as we decided to eat in the dining room that day. The cooked breakfast was in the end included, as I think it should be in a dbb package, although when booking I was told it wasn't, but this might change - great that it did change, hope the hotel keep to the policy of including a cooked breakfast in their packages, and maybe for all b & b bookings too as I like others think it is rather penny pinching to charge extra. The cooked breakfast was very good with decent well cooked back bacon, various types of eggs, tomatoes and all the usual things, all well cooked. Dinner was also excellent, quite fancy food very well presented, but which, if I had been paying the normal price, was extremely expensive. I found it a bit strange having a limit of £25 per person for dinner on our wine and dine package, and in fact this wasn't mentioned online nor was it mentioned on the booking confirmation, but as I had read other reviews which referred to this, I asked about it on the phone before arriving and asked again at reception, and was told yes anything over £25 per person would be invoiced as "overage". However if I hadn't asked I would have assumed there was no such limit so I think this needs to be made clear, both at the time of booking and at reception on arrival.

We stuck to two courses, having three courses would have meant going over the £25 each with perhaps one or two combination exceptions but it takes some calculating at the table to keep within the limit - personally I would have preferred the system where a table d'hote menu with 3 courses is offered in the package but certain more expensive items such as steak would incur an extra charge, clearly written next to the item on the menu - this would be far simpler for the customer to work out what, if anything, extra he/she was paying. Anyway by keeping to 2 courses we were within the limit, although even here you could be over if you chose side dishes and/or the most expensive starter/dessert and main course. Don't bother with the coffee - expensive and tasteless. You would be better having the free instant one in the room.

Service was impeccable, absolutely everyone was charming, friendly and helpful - I would say the best service I have ever encountered for being so consistently of such a high standard. Well done Rose & Crown!

Salisbury I loved and want to return, especially as we couldn't do the full tower tour of the cathedral due to high winds so we have half price tickets for our next visit. Will definitely go back to the Rose & Crown if they are doing their dbb package - too pricey otherwise. I really recommend this hotel, especially the wine and dine package. Hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Top floor in annexe for peace and quiet and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jilleastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest

I was delifgted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you will consider booking the hotel on your next visit to Salisbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £58 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing