We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Love this place.. Staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms and the hotel itself are very clean. Love the new restaurant too; the food is of good quality and amazing value, not just the usual trash.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments following your stay.I was pleased to read that you like the new developemnet in the restaurant and terrace,the food is certainly affordable,we do hope that we can welcome you on your next visir to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    129
    59
    38
See reviews for
104
504
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in May 2014 on a week day - had a ground floor room with double doors leading out into a delightful garden on the riverside with fantastic views across the river to Salisbury city centre. Nice size room with a comfortable bed, good sized bathroom with all required facilities, but bizarrely with one of the smallest wash basins I have ever seen in a hotel, which made shaving a messy experience!!
Location was excellent - a pleasant 5 min walk to the cathedral. I did not use the bar or restaurant so can't really comment on that - had the included continental breakfast which was ok but I think it a bit tight to charge extra for anything cooked at breakfast ..... Include it in the price !!
Overall a very nice place to stay and would certainly return on any trip back to Salisbury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive review following your stay I was pleased to read that you had a great break I do hope that we can assist with all future bookings at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Booked this hotel for 2 nights stay. Lovely location, a short and pretty walk through the cathedral grounds to the town. Vast majority of staff efficient and friendly and one in particular was amazing! Hotel has been recently refurbished in a lot of areas, and looks lovely. I am sure it will be even better once its all complete.

We had a newly refurbished room in a very old part of the building which was lovely, but disappointingly was very noisy due to a water pump, early deliveries and very creaky (not totally unexpected in such an old building) floors/ceilings, the guest above was a very early riser and noisy with his/her/their ablutions! Staff were very apologetic and changed us to another room immediately. 2nd room whilst not having the character of the first, was lovely. Spacious and a super view of the river and the cathedral spire. Both beds were very comfortable and rooms clean, tea/coffee making facilities first rate (nespresso machine and branded tea and biscuits etc).

Dining room light and modern, staff were attentive and although only continental breakfast was included, there was sufficient choice and everything was of good quality.

Whilst we all want every hotel stay to be perfect, in reality sometimes things go wrong. The measure of a good hotel is how well they put things right. The Rose and Crown did this very well indeed, thank you. You turned what could quite easily have been a miserable time into a great stay and one we will talk about (in a good way!) for a long time.

We would be more than happy to stay again, although would probably ask not to have a courtyard room.

Room Tip: Not one overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your positive review your comments are truly appreciated as the team work extremely hard to ensure that a first class service is provided on every occassion.I hope that the Rose & Crown will continue to be your base on all your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Our hotel room had a beautiful view of the Avon river with the Salisbury cathedral in the background. We enjoyed watching the sheep graze and ducks swim around in the river as we ate at the hotel restaurant thru large windows. Food was good, staff was attentive. A mix of 16th century and modern. The only complaint is that the room was a tad cramped.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Legacy Rose and Crown in Salisbury is one of the nicest places one visit while in the UK. The rooms are spacious and charming, the views spectacular and the staff is wonderful. The restaurant is quite nice and the food is very well prepared and presented. Perfect location for a visit to Salisbury.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have incredible views of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBlaine6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

I totally agree with you probably the best views in Salisbury surriunded by a lovely 4 star hotel with Alfresco dining looking over the River,we are all priveledged to work at the Rose & Crown and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit,we do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked for Dinner at the Hotel on a Saturday Night and have to say that the service was excellent. The reception, bar staff and waiting staff all worked very hard to make our evening fantastic. There was 6 of us and the food was all brought out to our table all at the same time, piping hot and delicious (10 out of 10 to the chef). We would like to thank the manager and staff at the Hotel for a really good night. Go there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to take care of your paty of six and I am pleased that you had a fabulous time,we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Situated beside the river with a view of the cathedral from our room and the restaurant. Large patio. Our room was tight but comfortable and led out to the lawn overlooking the river. The hotel is just a short walk from the cathedral.
Seemed to be short-staffed borrowing from the restaurant to assist with check-in. Friendly dining room staff. Dinner was tasty with each course served promptly. Cold breakfast was buffet style. Hot breakfast limited each morning to what was being served for that day. Porridge was not available every day. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiseowl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your most positive comments they are truly valued,I do hope that we can extend you a warm welcome on your next visit to Salisbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing