We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
North Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riverside delight”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a lovely hotel. We had a beautiful view of the Cathedral across the river with ducks and their young learning to swim and a swan that eats from your hand just idyllic.

A very welcome reception, nothing was too much trouble for the extremely friendly staff.

My husband and I spent two days and nights in a ground floor room that opened onto the garden which was great as we had Archie our Westie with us. We were allowed to leave Archie in the room while we had breakfast and take him with us onto the patio when we had lunch and dinner. This made such a difference as we felt really relaxed.
Only one minor criticism, the bed was too soft for me.

The menu was extensive and the food beautifully cooked and presented.
Fantastic!! Maureen B

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room and enjoy the gardens on a sunny morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderfull time during your stay at the hotel,we do hope to see you on your next visit to the lovely City of Salisbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    129
    59
    37
See reviews for
104
504
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A traditional hotel on the outside that brings a twist of modern class on the inside.
Staff are both warm and friendly, always happy to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. There are peaceful, tranquil views across the water meadows with a view of the Cathedral spire. Swans can be seen gently gliding by, and the calmness of the water make the Waters Edge Restaurant the perfect place to dine.
A perfect venue also for corporate meetings, weddings and family get togethers.

Room Tip: The new rooms are luxurious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your review following your recent stay,your comments will be shared with the team.We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We've just got back from another weekend break at this Hotel. The big selling point for us is the peaceful and scenic location. It is situated on Harnham Road which is on the South side of the cathedral. There is a large car park at the rear of the Hotel.The check in was very friendly and we were allocated a room overlooking the river. There is a premium for these rooms, but the lovely gardens and view of the cathedral justify the extra cost. The room was very spacious and clean. We both slept very well and in the morning we went for breakfast. Continental breakfast is included in the price and we were impressed with the refurbishment made to the restaurant. The continental breakfast was enough for us, cereal, toast, orange juice and tea. There is a cooked option which costs £5 per person. I think that is fair give that it is a small hotel.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are good for views of the garden and cathedral. If you prefer a more traditional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your continued loyalty and I was delighted to read that you once again enjoyed your stay.I was also pleased to read that you are a fan of the recent developements that are now complete,we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We only stayed one night but the room and beds were very comfortable with a lovely view of the river. The continental breakfast which is included was more than adequate with fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants etc. Very enjoyable. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booksearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel,we do hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a great place, full of old world charm, yet it has all the modern comforts (free Wifi, TV etc) and a great restaurant looking over the river with very attentive staff and well priced meals.

We stayed in one of the rooms above the hotel, it was fantastic. Old exposed beams in the walls and ceilings etc, we just loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the actual hotel, they are full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the 13th Century part of the hotel as you said full of character.We do hope that you will continue to visit the hotel on future trips either on leisure or business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On May 27, 2014, 20 of us arrived at the Legacy Rose and Crown in Salisbury, UK, on the last leg of our 16 day pilgrimage through Scotland and England. This lovely, restored coaching inn provided all of us with a delightful stay.

The views from most of the rooms included a beautifully kept rose garden, just feet away from the historic Avon River. There is a lovely walking path that takes you back to the city centre.

The rooms were adequately furnished with a flat screen TV, a telephone, free WI-FI, and excellent beds with very comfortable mattresses, luxurious sheets and duvets. The bathrooms were clean, somewhat modernized, with a deep tub and shower (handheld or stationary). For an elderly person or a person with mobility deficiencies, the deep tub could present a challenge for entering or exiting the bath.

There were many outlets available for charging IPads, IPhones, and other smart devices frequently carried by travelers today.

The chef has been with this hotel for over 40 years and his food was superb. It was beautifully presented, well seasoned, and delicious. The wait staff was efficient and courteous. The wine and champagne were reasonably priced. The breakfasts were cooked to order with many other foods available for those desiring a Continental breakfast.

The management and inn staff did a great job attending to our every need. Several in our group remarked that next time they returned to Salisbury, this is where would stay, for sure, but for many more nights. That's a great review coming from folks who are sophisticated and frequent world travelers!

Room Tip: Our room faced the beautiful rose gardens and the Avon River. It was is the back or "newer"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesKWinc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

What a truly remarkable review,it was a pleasure to take care of you and the rest of the group and the added extra of the birthday cake and the sing song was a delight.We do hope that on your next visit to England that you will come and stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Hey this place is a little beaut!
Great down to earth staff, good grub, and a great location.
The staff really looked after us and think they may of been appreciative of our non stuffy approach to them.
Can appreciate those guests that may of given the place a bad wrap about not getting the best service if a wedding was on but due to the current economic climate the business needs to make a go of it and if it means the wedding brings in the $ and the gem can stay afloat then that's kewl!
Loved the room, the ambiance, the location yada yada!
Thanks guys for a great stay, food, service and time!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

I totally agree with you the hotel is a beut,the staff are very attentive and do a great job to ensure we deliver a four star standard,we do hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing