We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Port Fairt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this lovely little hotel quite late and weren't too sure what to expect, but we were delighted to find such a pretty, quaint little hotel, right, as it said it was, on the river. Our room was delightful and very clean. The hotel has a lovely little garden area out the back overlooking the river, and a lovely little restaurant. The reception staff were very friendly. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your positive feedback following your recent stay the hotel is truly quaint and remarkable with many unique qualities.I do hope that you will continue ti use the hotel on all future visits to Salisbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    129
    59
    37
See reviews for
104
504
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a superb place in a great setting. However there were several problems which might put some off. We had rooms 5 (ask for this if you can get it) and 12A, another executive room, a more modern room with a wonderful view of the river and distant cathedral, which is an easy short walk away, so a perfect location. Breakfast was good but there were problems with the rooms given the standard expected. Bathrobes and slippers were not in the room as promised; we were told they were not part of the room despite the website. Had to insist and eventually something was done about it. Also missing was bottled water (later provided), body lotion which was in one room and not the other (this never came). The shaver point did not work, and flannels were not provided (not sure it they should have been, but usually expect them in higher category rooms). The shower controls were awkward to manage with wet hands and the temperature difficult to get right. The patio table was a disgusting mess, fortunately didn't use it otherwise would have had to ask for it to be cleaned. The floorboards creaked from upstairs, and it was strange to feel the room get quite cold in the evening despite a lovely June day. Discovered that the window did not shut properly and in fact it had not been secured properly, so anyone could have got in overnight! The latches were not adequate and I had to jam one of them to make it secure. So many disappointing features. Still giving a good rating as staff did try to put some things right, and maybe I had some bad luck. But they do need to up the housekeeping and general maintenance standards. Don't be put off going but do check carefully and be insistent if things aren't right. You will get a good response.

Room Tip: Room 5 is special. Other executive rooms are worth the extra, if you get all they say is offered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay,Please however accept my apologies for certain aspect sof your stay not exceeding your expectations,your comments are indeed welomed and please be assured that action has aready been taken to action the feedback that you gave.

I am sure that on your next visit you will see the noteable changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is located on the banks of the river Avon, a really pretty and peaceful setting. As we'd just flown in from Australia (Queensland winter) we found the UK summer surprisingly warm and our upstairs room (#23), with no air conditioning, rather stuffy and overly warm. Rushed to throw open the windows and it took until early evening for the room to cool down. Our executive room was nice and spacious with a king size bed and 2 couches; these we used for our suitcases. No fridge, but there was a long desk which was wonderful to spread out on and a large bathroom. We sampled the continental breakfast, included in our room cost, which had a good spread of cereals, fresh fruit, bread, juice and pastries. (We also ordered fried eggs and bacon.) We ate in their restaurant (River Edge) one night and really enjoyed our meal. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk to the Cathedral and a further 15 minutes easy walk to the city centre. Large (free) car park, lovely staff and we'd return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dera Guest

I was please to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the sun was shining over Salisbury during your visit,we all look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently for the Salisbury Arts Festival.

From start to finish the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was outstanding. Particularly the waiter who served us in the restaurant that evening.

The guest accommodation and communal areas were impeccable - old world charm but with a fresh modern feel.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and found the menu, presentation and quality of the dinner outstanding. There is a lovely outside area which overlooks the river - perfect for pre-dinner drinks.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrssec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest

I was so pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and we do hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a wonderful place - very quaint but very clean. Lovely views of the cathedral and river with ducks and swans right outside our window. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. Lots of small flights of stairs to get to and from the guest rooms, so a bit challenging if you have physical limitations or large/heavy suitcases.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilkS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you a great trip to Salisbury and The Rose and Crown,on your next visit please mention to reception that stairs may be a problem and will do our very best to allocate a room that does not involve stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a lovely hotel. We had a beautiful view of the Cathedral across the river with ducks and their young learning to swim and a swan that eats from your hand just idyllic.

A very welcome reception, nothing was too much trouble for the extremely friendly staff.

My husband and I spent two days and nights in a ground floor room that opened onto the garden which was great as we had Archie our Westie with us. We were allowed to leave Archie in the room while we had breakfast and take him with us onto the patio when we had lunch and dinner. This made such a difference as we felt really relaxed.
Only one minor criticism, the bed was too soft for me.

The menu was extensive and the food beautifully cooked and presented.
Fantastic!! Maureen B

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room and enjoy the gardens on a sunny morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderfull time during your stay at the hotel,we do hope to see you on your next visit to the lovely City of Salisbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A traditional hotel on the outside that brings a twist of modern class on the inside.
Staff are both warm and friendly, always happy to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. There are peaceful, tranquil views across the water meadows with a view of the Cathedral spire. Swans can be seen gently gliding by, and the calmness of the water make the Waters Edge Restaurant the perfect place to dine.
A perfect venue also for corporate meetings, weddings and family get togethers.

Room Tip: The new rooms are luxurious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your review following your recent stay,your comments will be shared with the team.We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing