We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently stopped at the Rose & Crown while on business. The room I was allocated was in the older part of building. It was decorated to a high standard, clean and very spacious. The restaurant serves a good choice of food. The bar serves local beer which goes down well, while sat in the beer garden next to the surroundings of the river.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gnosallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that yiu had a great time at the hotel,please do not hesitate to contact us when your are ready to book your next break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have stayed here twice in the last 12 months and would stay here again. Had a room in the original part of the hotel overlooking the road. Excellent décor, comfort and facilities. The hotel has ample car parking and is a ten minute stroll to the city centre through the cathedral grounds. Good service and food in the restaurant and bar. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

I totally agree with you we do pride ourselves on the quality of service that we offer,the hotel laso has a truly unique location enjoyed by many guests and I am pleased that you had a great time,we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent two days in this hotel, very nice, situation along the river Avon, Good food, limited choice but excellent.
Good service.
The Cathedral is accessible by foot from the hotel and the Stonehenge site 15 minutes by car.
Wi Fi access painfull via web site, but once connected the speed is good.

Room Tip: best choice, room with view to the river and cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guybalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after arriving back in the UK after our honeymoon. The garden and hotel itself are beautiful and the location is very convenient for the city and cathedral.
on arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and chatty and we felt very welcome. Unfortunately, other areas of the hotel seem to be slightly more lacking in Customer Service training. Our main disappointment was the service at breakfast. The staff there seemed willing enough but on both mornings, didn't seem to have any system/organisation as to which table needed what at any given time - they seemed to do the task they had decided to do rather than meeting the guests individual needs. One example of this was on the second day, we ate our buffet food and waited 30 minutes to be asked what hot food we wanted (and gave up after it still had not happened). Despite the not being asked, both staff were clearing tables with no guests on!
Unfortunately, a lovely hotel is, at the moment being let down by a fairly quick piece of training to get restaurant staff to put guests needs first - If this were to change I would recommend this as a place to stay but until then, I'm afraid not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveDD126YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A lovely hotel in a quiet road. There is a walk that takes you to the town through the grounds of the cathedral, which must be one of the best settings of any cathedral in England.
We had a huge, comfortable room and the view of the garden and river was delightful. The bathroom too was large and smart (let down slightly by difficult tap and shower). The breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff helpful and friendly. If we were to visit Salisbury again we would go straight to the Rose & Crown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location as it is an easy walk to Salisbury Cathedral and the town. It has a lovely setting on the Avon River with rose gardens. Breakfast was nicely done with linens and in spite of the buffet, the service was attentive. I rated VG instead of excellent due to some mildew issues and attention needed in the bathroom, and the shower control was difficult to figure out. The front desk acknowledged reoccurring problems with the mechanism. I wouldn't let that stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed Saturday and Sunday; on Saturday there was a wedding party with a very loud band late into the evening, followed by drunk guests slamming doors into the night. The room was very hot but opening the windows would have let in even more noise. This made for a less than restful experience. The location is good, a short walk to the Cathedral close and then on into the city. The bedroom was comfortable though the shower appeared to have settings of hot or scalding. We ate out on Saturday and in the hotel on Sunday evening. The food was average at best; both of us had indigestion afterwards.
Overall, the hotel has a lovely location and is comfortable, but check whether there is a wedding before booking and eat out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BasilBulgaroctonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time and trouble to post your constructive feed back.I am sorry that the wedding music resulted in a restless evening for you we do try to control the volume of disco music however a live band can be a little more difficult,we will certainly continue to monitor this.

We continue to monitor the content of our new Riversedge Restaurant and make changes accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £56 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing