We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to visit more than once.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to visit more than once.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fantastic 2 day stay. Lovely room overlooking garden and river Avon. Enjoyed evening meals sitting on terrace with a good choice of food.Staff very helpful and welcoming. Fantastic location and we will certainly be returning in the future. Good car parking and excellent location in order to walk into the historic part of Salisbury with the Cathedral within 10 minutes .

Room Tip: Modern room on 1st floor overlooking garden and river with wide opening windows which were a must in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you had a great time on your break and should you choose to visit Salisbury again in the near future you will give the hotel an opportunity to continue to provide a great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    311
    138
    59
    38
See reviews for
107
518
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The main building has character and the location by the river is very pretty with an attractive terrace and garden offering views towards the cathedral. It is only a a few minutes walk to the Cathedral Close and town centre. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large, clean on arrival and the bed was comfortable but housekeeping was not up to standard. On our second day our toiletries were not replenished and our bed was not made up. It appeared that somebody had made a start servicing the room but had not completed the job. We reported this to reception who said they would inform housekeeping.There was a wedding party using the main restaurant on our arrival. As a result we were unable to use the terrace, although we could use part of the garden, and we were relegated to the second restaurant, which is smaller and less attractive than the main one. I understand that the hotel frequently has wedding receptions, especially during summer weekends. It would seem that wedding groups do not have exclusive use of the hotel. Independent guests beware.The restaurant food was acceptable but nothing special and wine prices were higher than I would have expected for the quality of the wines and the establishment. Breakfast was a continental buffet with or without a cooked option depending on the room booking. The cooked breakfast was fine although on the Sunday morning it was a long time before anybody came to take our order. Wifi internet access worked after a fashion and was free but the log on procedure was a complete pain. The weather was very warm during our visit. There was no air conditioning in our room and even with the windows open it was too hot. Despite the faults I would, on balance, stay here again but I would probably eat out in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are more likely to have a view of the river and water meadows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback which is valued.The hotel has thirty two bedrooms and requires a diversity of function business all year round to ensure that funds are available to continue to enhance the property and retain its character.
We do on occassion utilise our Cathedral restaurant with terrace,river and garden views and opearte the same menu.

I do hope that your overall experiance was an enjoyable one and that you would consider visiting the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stopped at the Rose & Crown while on business. The room I was allocated was in the older part of building. It was decorated to a high standard, clean and very spacious. The restaurant serves a good choice of food. The bar serves local beer which goes down well, while sat in the beer garden next to the surroundings of the river.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnosallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that yiu had a great time at the hotel,please do not hesitate to contact us when your are ready to book your next break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have stayed here twice in the last 12 months and would stay here again. Had a room in the original part of the hotel overlooking the road. Excellent décor, comfort and facilities. The hotel has ample car parking and is a ten minute stroll to the city centre through the cathedral grounds. Good service and food in the restaurant and bar. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I totally agree with you we do pride ourselves on the quality of service that we offer,the hotel laso has a truly unique location enjoyed by many guests and I am pleased that you had a great time,we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent two days in this hotel, very nice, situation along the river Avon, Good food, limited choice but excellent.
Good service.
The Cathedral is accessible by foot from the hotel and the Stonehenge site 15 minutes by car.
Wi Fi access painfull via web site, but once connected the speed is good.

Room Tip: best choice, room with view to the river and cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guybalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after arriving back in the UK after our honeymoon. The garden and hotel itself are beautiful and the location is very convenient for the city and cathedral.
on arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and chatty and we felt very welcome. Unfortunately, other areas of the hotel seem to be slightly more lacking in Customer Service training. Our main disappointment was the service at breakfast. The staff there seemed willing enough but on both mornings, didn't seem to have any system/organisation as to which table needed what at any given time - they seemed to do the task they had decided to do rather than meeting the guests individual needs. One example of this was on the second day, we ate our buffet food and waited 30 minutes to be asked what hot food we wanted (and gave up after it still had not happened). Despite the not being asked, both staff were clearing tables with no guests on!
Unfortunately, a lovely hotel is, at the moment being let down by a fairly quick piece of training to get restaurant staff to put guests needs first - If this were to change I would recommend this as a place to stay but until then, I'm afraid not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveDD126YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A lovely hotel in a quiet road. There is a walk that takes you to the town through the grounds of the cathedral, which must be one of the best settings of any cathedral in England.
We had a huge, comfortable room and the view of the garden and river was delightful. The bathroom too was large and smart (let down slightly by difficult tap and shower). The breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff helpful and friendly. If we were to visit Salisbury again we would go straight to the Rose & Crown.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing