We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to get the locals back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
1 review
“Trying to get the locals back.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just been down for the BBQ that was put on. Lovely food and staff were fantastic. Not many local people there, a pity as the staff made a lot of effort. Really nice afternoon and the manager was mingling with everyone to make sure people were having a good time. This should be done twice in the summer then once near Christmas (perhaps not BBQ) to bring in the locals. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruisomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I am pleased that you enjoyed the BBQ we all enjoyed being part of the day,we are certainly looking at hosting pther events for the local resident and hope to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    311
    138
    59
    38
See reviews for
107
518
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed one night, had room 8A which was large and had a comfy bed. Good modern bathroom with nice toiletries. Enjoyed trying out the tassimo coffee machine.The breakfast buffet was good and all staff were very polite and helpful. The only problem for me was the room was in the old part and the windows were painted up and I couldn't open them, subsequently the room was very hot.
It was good to have free wifi, you don't find that often.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with windows that open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at The hotel,I was pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very attractive dining room, wonderful views, helpful staff -but let down by its cooking...... uninspired "seasonal vegetables", soggy pastry on pie and very expensive wine list.....a wider range of prices and quality would suit more diners but still allow wine-buffs to exercise their expertise.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nodge94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that the hotel has a lovely location,I was however saddened to read that you did not enjoy your meal with us,your comments are taken very seriously and they will be discussed with the chef who has great pride in the food that he prepares.I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently spent a two night stay at the Rose & Crown. Having read the room advice on Tripadvisor we requested and were given a ground floor room in the modern block. From our room we were in sight and sound of the cathedral and had a beautiful view over the river and meadows. It was quiet and peaceful and lovely to open the patio doors to sit outside the room after a day out. The patio furniture wasn't great but we sat at the picnic tables available. There is a separate garden for residents with a gate to the main hotel garden. The room was large, immaculately clean, with an equally good bathroom. The more traditional rooms are in the main hotel. We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the first night as part of the deal. Food is fine and service from the charming bar and restaurant staff is excellent. The spelling on the menu is appalling, though (one of my bugbears, sorry).

The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk through cathedral grounds to the city centre and is preferable to staying there. All in all I would return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Salisbury.

Room Tip: In the summer go for a room looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your trip to Salisbury I do hope that we will continue to be your first choice when planning your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my husbands birthday treat and after a mix up with a twin room on arrival the reception staff were happy to swap us....and actually upgraded us to the bridal suite. The room is lovely, lots of exposed beams and beautifully decorated. The hotel was a short walk in to Salisbury which after a big meal was needed!! The only downsides to such an old room was the amount of spiders in the room....especially the bathroom. We were also woken by a leaky roof in the middle of the night which wasn't great. I'd stay here again but not sure I'd have been happy with it on my wedding night.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jojo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your stay I was pleased that reception were helpfull in relocating your room,please accpt my apologies for the rather large ammount of spiders we will endeavour ro resolve this issue immediately
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed overnight on business. The place doesn't look particularly special from the outside, but the room was very clean, modern and spacious and comfortable. We dined there for our evening meal - the dining area is large and pleasant - menu was fairly standard but food was pretty good. There's an outside area (can eat out there) and as the sun was shining and it was a lovely summers evening, sitting out overlooking the River Avon was very nice and peaceful. Only negative was the the room was not cheap and a cooked breakfast was extra. Continental breakfast included and was quite varied but nothing special.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay at the hotel,I was pleased to read that you found the bedroom comfortable.I was saddened to hear that the menu was not to your liking and your comments will be taken into consideration when we are compiling our next food and drinks menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this hotel can't really be beaten. Easy to park at and a 5 minute walk takes you to the cathedral grounds (a further 5-10 minutes stroll takes you into the city centre). The room itself was an executive double with a large bed, well appointed bathroom (excellent shower, freebies and towels) and good in-room facilities (including robes to chill in).
In terms of look and feel, the accommodation extension to the original, fabulous old world building is starting to look a little dated (if that's not ironic), but being riverside has its advantages. No air-conditioning so tjhe warm summer means a stickier night (even with the windows open), but this is England after all.
Room rates only include a continental breakfast (although the receptionist took pity on us and comped a full English) - it is clear when you look at the rate terms (who does that when they see B&B tho? In the UK B&B in a hotel usually doesn't mean continental so it doesn't jump out at you). The full breakfast is really good though (it's a opportunity missed by the chain not to include it as standard to cement the good vibe you get otherwise from the hotel).
That niggle aside, a good hotel for couples and families and an excellent place to base you visit to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs executive rooms - you get a door into the gardens (there are no balconies on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review,your comments are greatly appreciated,we do hope that we can extend a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing