We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2008

The Legacy Rose & Crown is clean, quiet, comfortable and within a 10-minute walk of the town center. That would be good enough, but in addition it was in a beautiful location on the river and had a very good restaurant.

We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, and were slightly disappointed not to be in the older part. However that soon passed given the comfort, size and amenities of the rooms.

I can't recommend it highly enough - it was definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hastings1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2008

The Legacy Rose and Crown is an absolutely georgous hotel! First off, we got lost for an hour thanks to our google map, and when I called the hotel for directions the receptionist gave us step by step directions from where we were. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and friendly, and told the best route to Salisbury Cathedral (a pleasant, picturesque 5 minute walk).

When we got to the room (room 5 the Heath Suite) we were dumbfounded. Stepping into the room, it was as if we walked into history. The room was a very well preserved historic site, from the high ceiling to the four poster bed. As a history teacher, I was in seventh heaven!

The hotel pub is a warm cozy enclave off the reception area, and was staffed by a genuinely warm and friendly young lady. A plus was that when we checked in the receptionist who had just finished her shift had a dead battery in her car, so we gave her a jump start, and she had a bar tab set up for us!

The food at the hotel is lovely. The pub menu selections are few, but classy and delicious. The full English breakfast in the beautiful patio area was fabulous...This was the best English hotel we have ever stayed in, and only 80pounds!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nemoandchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

To arrive at someplace charging £80 for B & B , and be told that the hotel wi-fi was not working, did not impress.
Neither did the lipstick stains left on the "cleaned" cup in the bedroom.
The best thing was the Thai restaurant half a mile away en-route to Salisbury centre.
Unlike others, I didn't get a view of the river, just the terrace across the road.
Go back ? I doubt it !

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This hotel should be listed under Salisbury as it is a 15 minute walk through the lovely old part of Salisbury to the City centre.

This old inn has recently undergone refurbishment and our room (ground floor in modern extension) was very spacious with a delightful outlook over the hotel gardens gardens and the River Avon with meadows and the cathedral spire beyond.

The service was fine, a minor cleaning complaint we made was dealt with efficiently. Furnishings good and a flatscreen tv. Bathroom good.

The modern bedroom block is in an interesting curved shape. The only criticism we have is that the upper floor seemed to be Brit type suspeneded timber rather than continental solid concrete. The guest in the room above us seemed to find the one squeaky board and walk about on it for an hour at a time.

Breakfast was the usual - fine, though staff a bit pressed and finishes by 9.30 am.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbgeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We got a great deal via Last minute and had a great stay at the rose and crown. it's a lovely 10 minute walk into the centre of Salisbury past the river and cathedral so it was a lovely and quiet location but not inconvenient. Our room opened out onto a lovely garden with views of the river and quacking ducks. The room wasn't well sound-proofed - we could hear everything going on in the hallway outside and also from a function room across the garden (very early 7.00am meeting!!). There was also no hotel info in the room which i normally look for straight away - ie breakfast times, bar opening times, checkout and everything. but these were minor grievances from a lovely stay at a lovely hotel that seemed to blend modern/smart rooms with a well preserved historical building.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank London1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

Forget those earlier unfavorable reviews. I stayed at the Rose and Crown for three nights in May 2008 as part of an Elderhostel program and, believe me, this is a great place. The owners, Legacy Hotels, have spent $2,000,000 in the last few months to upgrade and refurbish this hotel and the results are wonderful -- modern, comfortable rooms, bathrooms with all the mod cons, including a wonderful shower, excellent meals, and very friendly staff. Add to that the location on the banks of the River Avon with views of the cathedral tower and the lovely garden bordering the river and you can't go wrong. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arthurquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We had our silver wedding celebration here. A restaurant with wonderful setting. Excellent food at a very reasonable price. The staff made us feel welcome even though they were very busy.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £68 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing