We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th birthday treat a letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
milton keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“60th birthday treat a letdown”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed for 3 days from 3-6 March as it was my husbands 60th birthday on the 6th and I thought it would be nice to have a short break and for us to be there on his actual birthday in the hotel. The hotel was in a lovely spot by the river with a view of the cathedral but we found a couple of things could have been better. We were in one of the newer rooms in the extension but there was no fridge and very squeeky floorboards which we thought a bit strange in the newer part. Tthe staff were not that friendly in particular the restaurant manager? named Sean could not raise a smile or even a "good morning" the 3 days we were there, he looked totally miserable and as though he did not want to be there . The reception staff were not much better and on the day we arrived the man behind the desk I think he was French watched us struggling through the doors with our luggage and did not offer to help in any way or ask if we needed any help in taking the luggage up to the room which was upstairs, he just came into the bar area where we had to wait as the room was not ready and plopped the keys down on the table and said "your rooms ready now" . The bar prices were expensive and there was no atmosphere at all, the barman did not exchange any pleasantries either. The only staff worth a mention was a young lady called Nicki who tried to help us when we had a problem with our tv and the breakfast waiter named Gill who was very nice and SMILED! and chatted to us. We would not go back here as the atmosphere was not welcoming at all, it is as though the staff were all having a bad day or 3! it was dissapointing and we did not enjoy our stay there and wished we had gone somewhere else, my husbands birthday was not acknowledged at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltonKeynesNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    129
    59
    37
See reviews for
104
504
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Found hotel, checkd in, found room 11 very comfortable but with a tiny window overlooking a carpark and walkway with no nets, just curtains which block out the light.
It was quite slow for us to be shown to a table in the restaurant, and it was deathly quiet with no background music, only some music coming through from the kitchen. Not much on the menu but what we had was nice. The bar was also quite with again no background music. it had flat beer (well, tetleys was the only option if you didn't want a lager as the bitter was off) and bad wine, served to us by a seemingly unwitting bar man, and it was realy quite expensive. the bed was fine and wireless worked, the bath and shower were fine, the room was a little noisy from the room above, but thats to be expected in a hotel generaly. parking was good and we heard that it was the only hotel in the area to offer free parking. the breakfast was not great, rubbery toast, tough poached eggs, tough mini croissants. an ok, but not huge selection was a little disapointing.
a concern is the £2.95 charge they add onto any payment by credit card. with alot of visitors during the week being on business, i'm sure they would all be paying on credit card, and not paying out of their bank accounts or paying cash. the hotel have got themselves a good little mark up and profit there, especialy if you have to pay seperately for anything as we did, they made nearly £6 out of us!
all in all a nice hotel in a pretty position, but lacking in atmosphere, decent drinks, and the extortionate credit card charge mean we wont return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkHappysleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Picked this one from other's reviews. When checking rates found that booking an evening meal in the rate was much cheaper than just B&B so went for this option for 3 nights. Expected dull food with little choice but was pleasantly surprised. Whilst we did not get the full menu choice, there was enough to be interesting, & there was a different menu each night. Cerainly quality and quantity were not sacrificed.
Has a downstairs room in the new part of the hotel that was larger that usual and the only minor complaint was heavy feet upstairs (first night only - Thursday) and loud TV next door (again Thursday only). Seems like when the business people left for the weekend the remaining couples were much more considerate!
A potentially more serious problem was a continuously running toilet after first use (perhaps a common complaint as the receptionist did not seem surprised). However, he could not fix it this time but a plumber was called and it was fixed whist we had dinner. It's the way a hotel reacts to and solves problems like this that makes them stand out.
Overall a wonderful location with great food and service.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSLeicestershire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Just returned from a week-end break staying at this hotel. The check-in was quick and informative. We stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms. Everything was spottlessly clean. The room was very cosy, plenty of hot water and views over the river added to our pleasant stay. We walked into the centre of Salisbury via the Cathedral grounds which took us approx. 10 minutes. Breakfast was of high quality served in the Conservatory which too overlooked the river.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyQYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

The Legacy Rose & Crown is clean, quiet, comfortable and within a 10-minute walk of the town center. That would be good enough, but in addition it was in a beautiful location on the river and had a very good restaurant.

We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, and were slightly disappointed not to be in the older part. However that soon passed given the comfort, size and amenities of the rooms.

I can't recommend it highly enough - it was definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our trip.

  • Liked — Charm and location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastings1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The Legacy Rose and Crown is an absolutely georgous hotel! First off, we got lost for an hour thanks to our google map, and when I called the hotel for directions the receptionist gave us step by step directions from where we were. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and friendly, and told the best route to Salisbury Cathedral (a pleasant, picturesque 5 minute walk).

When we got to the room (room 5 the Heath Suite) we were dumbfounded. Stepping into the room, it was as if we walked into history. The room was a very well preserved historic site, from the high ceiling to the four poster bed. As a history teacher, I was in seventh heaven!

The hotel pub is a warm cozy enclave off the reception area, and was staffed by a genuinely warm and friendly young lady. A plus was that when we checked in the receptionist who had just finished her shift had a dead battery in her car, so we gave her a jump start, and she had a bar tab set up for us!

The food at the hotel is lovely. The pub menu selections are few, but classy and delicious. The full English breakfast in the beautiful patio area was fabulous...This was the best English hotel we have ever stayed in, and only 80pounds!

  • Liked — Very friendly and courteous staff, excellent location, comfort.
  • Disliked — Using a google map to find it!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nemoandchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
413 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

To arrive at someplace charging £80 for B & B , and be told that the hotel wi-fi was not working, did not impress.
Neither did the lipstick stains left on the "cleaned" cup in the bedroom.
The best thing was the Thai restaurant half a mile away en-route to Salisbury centre.
Unlike others, I didn't get a view of the river, just the terrace across the road.
Go back ? I doubt it !

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing