We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great overall!”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights last week - had a lovely room facing the river, on the ground floor so the french doors opened to the garden. First morning upon opening the curtains, 2 ducks were there, waiting for handouts! What fun. They showed up morning and evening.
Breakfast was very good - nice susages, excellent porridge (any hotel that can make excellent porridge deserves special mention). The evening menu seemed a bit pricey, so we opted for suppers at the Greyfisher pub, a 2 minute walk away. Excellent pub grub for 5 quid.
I would highly recomment getting a river view room - you can see the Cathedral spire lit up at night. Walk to Cathedral and town a very pleasant 10 minutes - can see lots of roses and also gardens backing onto the river. Salisbury a great base to explore Old Sarum and Stonehenge. Stop by the Cathedral later in the day when they have Evensong (at 5:30 I think) and you can hear the fabulous acoustics...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schweizerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    129
    59
    38
See reviews for
104
504
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Stayed for 3 nights on a credit crunch buster deal which I booked through the main Legacy hotel site. Problem with that was I had to pay all the amount upfront, which was a bit weird. Then nearer the time, on checking with the hotel, they did not have my booking and I had to chase up the main hotel site. It seems that Legacy are some sort of holding company over individually run hotels. The price was really good. The hotel was in an excellent location, next to the river, with its own car park (an issue with some of the centrally-located hotels) and within a lovely walk away to the centre of Salisbury - the cathedral side. Unfortunately when we were there the weather was atrocious and we couldnt make use of the lovely riverside terrace. Service and staff were good and friendly. Food was odd. Breakfast OK though the quality of ingredients such as eggs and sausages could have been much better. The dinner menu looked good but the food seemed as if it had been brought in and heated up. Wine very expensive for what it was - we knew some of the wines and there was about a 300% mark up. However this price was countered by the excellent overall price so you would just have to be careful if you went to stay there. A mixed review - sorry! Overall not bad, but could be a lovely gem of the hotel with a bit of effort!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The Rose and Crown is a beautiful half timbered medieval building (at the front) with a large modern extension to the rear.
The hotel is located a pleasant 10 min stroll from the city centre through the cathedral grounds. Be warned the town gates are closed at 10pm prompt, to both pedestrians and vehicles. After this time you just have to return via the main road which takes a few minutes more. Large free car park to the rear of the hotel.
Our room was of a good size, with patio doors leading out to a garden and down to the river (don't leave the doors open as the ducks come in!) The bathroom was of above average size - but looking at some of the fitments I think we possibly had one of the 'accessible' rooms. The room was well presented with flat screen TV and plenty of storage.
Breakfasts were fine, usual hotel fayre - hot food was freshly cooked to order. We had one evening meal in the hotel which was good.
Dining room and housekeeping staff were friendly. However, two out of the three receptionists we encountered appeared disinterested and struggled to acknowledge guests.
Minor gripes which have been mentioned previously
Cold water - you can't get any. Cold taps at best give tepid water and sometimes water hot enough to wash in.
Toilets that flush themselves - at intervals our cistern would leak water into the bowl.
Noise from the room above. Can't believe that a relatively new build failed to include sound insulation. You could hear the chap in the upstairs room walk across the floor, put things down on the floor, move chairs etc.
One the whole a good convenient hotel from which to visit Salisbury and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

One of the best hotels I have ever been. Charming , in an excellent location. Breakfast by the river. Not far from the city centre.
I will certainly go back

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger_f1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We have stayed at a few Legacy hotels this was our favourite . This one has a stunning location right on the River Avon. Rooms very nice exceptionally clean , staff great and food very good. Fantastic value for money. Pleasant walk into the City took around 10 - 15 minutes cut through grounds of the Cathedral. Salisbury is great , good shopping and plenting of bars and restaurants . We had amazing weather when we were there may not hvae bben so good in the rain I guess.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julcull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, Cornwall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Our visit was to celebrate our wedding anniversay and booked as a surprise by our family. Our room was fine when we arrived apart from hot water coming from the cold taps. We asked to see the evening menu at 5.45 pm but were told it had not been printed yet. The restaurant manager was not at all helpful. We went elsewhere to eat. The following morning there was no hot water in our room , we reported the matter to reception who assurred us on our return that the problem was solved. The next morning again no hot water - confronted reception on our departure, they apologised and stated that head office was aware of the problem this was not a lot of help to us!! The service at breakfast on our first morning was dreadful and on the following morning the buffet breakfast was cold. We have contacted Legacy Head Office but they have not bothered to reply to our emails. Not being able to shower or bath is not acceptable our stay was not at all comfortable and we felt the hotel was not very well managed, we will not be recommending it again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverheads7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We booked on the internet the special offer of 2 night's B&B with two evening meals for a total of £139 - or at least we meant to. My wife omitted to untick the box on the hotel web site offering a "flexibility payment" of £10 enabling us to make changes to the booking. We didn't want this but we we ended up paying it - for no purpose at all. This is called "inertia sellIng" and I do not like it. Beware!
We were courteously greeted at reception and allocated room 1 before leaving for a spot of sightseeing. When we got back a lady approached us and said she wanted to move us to room 4 because of a "housekeeping problem". Or to put it another way someone had made off with the shower curtain. So we moved to room 4 where we found the distinct smell of cigarette smoke - this was not the fault of the hotel as it is total non-smoking establishment but someone should have noticed the problem. So another move to either our original room 1 or room 6 (our choice!). We chose room 1 but found that the curtains when pulled only covered half the window. We couldn't believe it and actually tried several times! So on to room 6 which was OK except that it the hot water flow was so low that it was impossible to take a bath (the solution incidently for anyone who gets room 6 is to use the shower to fill up the bath). Otherwise the room was OK although it was small (as were rooms 1 and 4) and the bathroom window catch was broken. Also having spent so much on refurbishment there shouldn't really have been black mould on three separate parts of the bathroom window.
The hotel itself is quite nice and is well situated about 7-8 minutes walking from the cathedral and about 15 minutes from the town centre. There is plenty parking available. Clearly a lot of money has been spent on it and there is a reasonable degree of "Olde English" charm. The restaurant was also well appointed. Considering what we had paid for our stay the evening meal was about acceptable but it was certainly not a culinary delight and the menu was limited. It was probably frozen food as I found out when I hit the cold spot at the bottom of my bread and butter pudding! The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and hot - in other words it wasn't a buffet! Well done.
There were other signs of disorganistion. There was only one set of towels in room 4 as we made our way round the hotel; we had to ask for a replacement toilet roll for room 6; no newspaper was delivered on the first morning although we had ordered one; and the Spitfire beer (which I really like) was unavailable in the bar first night because, according to the barman the following night, it had not been connected. So we went round to the local pub - first left out of the hotel, first right, about two minutes.
All the staff were very pleasant and, despite the problems, we enjoyed our stayed although we were not sorry to be moving on. In value for money terms it was quite good (but don't forget the inertia selling!) and the hotel is well appointed. Nevertheless some effort needs to be put in to get the detail right.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing