We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tranquil on the river”
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We spent a week at the Rose and Crown in Salisbury, had a large family room with a BIG bath, tub with shower over.
Breakfast was full English every morning, and service was superb.
This is a very enjoyable place and a tranquil setting right on the small river through town, with lots of ducks and geese and swans for the kids to feed.
Highly recommend this spot. While breakfast was great, we only tried the Rose and Crown one time for dinner and were not impressed. One of the best spots in town is Italian....Prezzo....a little expensive, but everything is. Food there each of three times was fantastic.

  • Liked — Room size and good service
  • Disliked — Dinner
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryNulph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    307
    134
    59
    38
See reviews for
106
514
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NE England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Stayed here for one night during the week. The hotel says it's old and there are rooms in the old part, I was in a more modern extension on the side. The room was very spacious, overlooked the river and had a sort of bay window with two armchairs in it - nice to sit there and unwind admiring the view of the fields on the other side. That was the good bit.

I would agree with everyone else here who said that the rooms needed doing up. The arms on the armchairs were worn through to the padding, and in the bathroom the toilet lid was missing and bizarrely the toilet roll holder's spindle had disappeared and they'd put the roll on one of the arms so it fell off every time you used it.

Had dinner in the hotel, and again the dining room had a fantastic view with a large conservatory about ten feet away from the river with swans drifting by. However, the sill below the glass (and next to my elbow) was covered in dead flies which was a bit off-putting. The food was not bad although it appeared suspiciously quickly - it's the only place I've stayed where the soup arrived before the drinks!

A colleague I was with had a room in the old part. Apparently it had lots of beams, plus a hole in the roof through which you could see the sky.

Overall it's got a great location and ambience, but either needs more staff or more money spending on it.

  • Liked — The hotel's location and the size of the room
  • Disliked — Poor state of the accommodation
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneSlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We had contacted the hotel in February 2007 and made PREPAID reservations for June 12. When we arrived that day about 5:30 p.m. we were told they had no room for us as a bus tour had come in and taken more rooms. They said we were to stay at another hotel but did not initially have directions to this hotel. To date (end of July 2007) they have still NOT refunded our prepaid funds. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The woman at the desk was rude and not at all helpful.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMacCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2007

Great Location, in much need of refurbishment - - Curtains were torn, wadding coming out of bed, bathroom tiles dirty & black with mould!!! - - not very appealing to bathe in.
Some staff are of Eastern European nationality - some difficulty in making them understand what was required at meal times - Poached Eggs on Toast ordered - one piece of bread with one egg arrived followed by a single poached egg on a dinner plate!!
Warning: If paying by credit card Hotel applies a charge (£2.95) - not advised of this when booking by credit card.

Basil Fawlty would be at home here!!

SUCH A PITY FOR SUCH A GREAT LOCATION - A LITTLE TLC IS NEEDED

  • Liked — View over the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral
  • Disliked — Black & Mouldy Tiles in Bathroom !
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Had a great stay in Salisbury thanks to this hotel.
Our room was so big it was amazing as we had 3 adults and most of the places we stayed on our trip were tiny. All the staff were really helpful and very friendly and approchable.
The veiws along the river make for a lovely setting for a couple of drinks and the restaurant facilities are great.
Breakfast was huge and cooked to perfection. The location to town is an easy 5-10 min walk and its so beautiful.
Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Salisbury.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ABPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
762 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Property: Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing