We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

room 73:
- cheap decor and furniture which my grandma would have loved in cca 1970
- cheap, disgusting geen bathroom lino
- tile grout around shower/bath is dirty, black and stained
- pillow is from concrete?
- blankets look horrible, old and worn out. Using sheets on top of them, instead of quality duvets, is unacceptable these days
- kettle and spoons were dirty
- cheap, random pictures on the walls
- hot room felt suffocating and had to have windows closed due to the noise from the street
- no fridge and cold drinks
- beds are the smallest single size we have ever seen
- smallish TV screen hangs very low on the wall, just next to the table
And for all this luxury we have had privilege to pay GBP 103.50.
Management should go to Continent to see what you get for that sort of money. In Prague - butique hotels around the Castle or Intercontinental out of season.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler1234596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Guest

I was sorry to read your comments on your stay at the hotel. We have an on going refurb programme looking at pillows and tiles and am sorry that the room you stayed in was not upto your standards.

On the rest of your feedback I must say that I feel you booked the wrong hotel as we are a 13th century family owned hotel with 51 individually decorted rooms by the owners wife. All decor is in keeping with the history and surroundings of the building and we get great feedback for doing this. We are not a group of hotels offering the same in each room.

I do take on board your feedback and with discuss your comments with our owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    366
    190
    77
    55
See reviews for
172
443
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

red lion is right in the centre of town, so parking is a problem not really hotels fault, very easy to get where you want, depending on location of your room things can get noisy at night, our room was at the side of hotel so resonably quiet and very well laid out and spacious, one of the most comfortable beds in a hotel ever, food is of an excellent standard and not expensive, my only thoughts for improvement would be more information in rooms eg, places of interest , restaurant menu, ironing board and iron as available in other hotels, and please sort out some parking, overall a pleasent stay in salisbury will definately return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warboyskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Myself and 9 friends spent a day at the flower show at the cathedral. At nine oclock in the morning we could not find a place for coffee and in hindsight wish we had then thought of the Red Lion Hotel.
We had booked lunch at The Red Lion, (£10 for two courses, very good value) for a specific time to fit in with our tickets, our meal which was superb was served quickly and efficently giving us plenty of time to get to the cathedral.
We were so impressed we returned for afternoon tea, which was equilly well served and excellent quality

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My family and i just stayed at the weekend. Although the rooms are a little dated the journey up to our family room was dead quirky and old style, with my eight year old saying "ooh mum Its a bit spooky!. No ghosts in our large faimly room which had ample space to swing a toy or too. Comfortable bed although well springy. Had a good nights sleep apart from the fact that this is a central city hotel and late at night the local club can be heard. Saying that there was a hotel opposite and a few others scattered about that would have also had this issue. I notice on a few of the reviews on this hotel that this has been mentioned so for the record yes if its a saturday evening you will hear the clubs in the distance but it wont stop you from sleeping,if anything it will send you off into a deep sleep. My husband is dead fussy but to my surprise he loved this hotel, for all its oldie worldie quirkyness the staff couldnt have been more helpful, the breakfast was super and the lounge area and courtyard to the hotel is real asset. Its a relaxed base to stay from despite the old bit of wallpaper comng off the wall or the chinz style bed covers its great value for money in a good central city location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulkums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Red Lion after your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel is really beautiful, the staff was super helpful (even bringing us a space heater when we couldn't warm up from being in the rain at Stonehenge all evening). Salisbury is a lovely little town, we bought all kinds of things at the Charity Shops and many little independent shops along the way (so much so that we had to buy an additional piece of luggage to go back to London with). The hotel was charming, the food in the restaurant was horrible, I would strongly advise you to eat somewhere else, its a town brimming with nice places to eat, but our meal was just the worst.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lion Hotel

I was pleased you enjoyed shopping in our wonderful city and also enjoyed the hotel and surroundings.

I was disappointed to read your comments on the food you were served and wished you had brought your concerns to the staff working that evening so we could have exchanged your meals for something that suited you better. I dont get many complaints about our offering but apologise that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for one night as a precursor to holding a family lunch the next day as a celebration for my Nan's 90th birthday.

The accommodation was wonderful. We stayed in room 17, which has a 4 poster bed and a bathroom that my wife loved - particularly the bath!

We ate breakfast in the hotel the next morning. I had the cooked breakfast and the quality was good.

The main reason for using the hotel was the family get-together. The staff provided a lot of support and help in arranging this, including ordering flowers and balloons from the nearby florist. The staff during the event were very helpful and the quality of the food was excellent and appreciated by everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PColmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lion, I must also thank you for the kind letter you sent and email to Best Western head office

All the staff were pleased to read your comments and all enjoyed serving your family on this special day.

We hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

After reading some mixed reports from recent reviewers i was pleased with what was an entirely pleasant night away. All the staff friendly and attentive. The restaurant was superb, the waiting staff were knowledgeable and unintuitive and the food beats many far more awarded restaurants i have eaten in recently. The room was comfortable and full of period charm. Lovely Hotel, lovely room, Lovely food, Lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRUMPTON1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to write this kind review. I was glad you sure past a couple of mixed reviews and came and sampled the true Red Lion experience.

I will of course pass on your kind words to all the staff.

We hope to see you again soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing