We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City Lodge(Salisbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
King's Head Inn(Salisbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
328
396
203
87
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
396
203
87
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe vinecar parkbeautiful courtyardafternoon teaold coaching innlovely old hotelhistoric hotellounge areasuperior roomlots of charactersconesfour poster bedold buildingcentre of towncentral locationbreakfast was excellentsalisbury cathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
933 - 938 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

room 73:
- cheap decor and furniture which my grandma would have loved in cca 1970
- cheap, disgusting geen bathroom lino
- tile grout around shower/bath is dirty, black and stained
- pillow is from concrete?
- blankets look horrible, old and worn out. Using sheets on top of them, instead of quality duvets, is unacceptable these days
- kettle and spoons were dirty
- cheap, random pictures on the walls
- hot room felt suffocating and had to have windows closed due to the noise from the street
- no fridge and cold drinks
- beds are the smallest single size we have ever seen
- smallish TV screen hangs very low on the wall, just next to the table
And for all this luxury we have had privilege to pay GBP 103.50.
Management should go to Continent to see what you get for that sort of money. In Prague - butique hotels around the Castle or Intercontinental out of season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler1234596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Guest

I was sorry to read your comments on your stay at the hotel. We have an on going refurb programme looking at pillows and tiles and am sorry that the room you stayed in was not upto your standards.

On the rest of your feedback I must say that I feel you booked the wrong hotel as we are a 13th century family owned hotel with 51 individually decorted rooms by the owners wife. All decor is in keeping with the history and surroundings of the building and we get great feedback for doing this. We are not a group of hotels offering the same in each room.

I do take on board your feedback and with discuss your comments with our owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

red lion is right in the centre of town, so parking is a problem not really hotels fault, very easy to get where you want, depending on location of your room things can get noisy at night, our room was at the side of hotel so resonably quiet and very well laid out and spacious, one of the most comfortable beds in a hotel ever, food is of an excellent standard and not expensive, my only thoughts for improvement would be more information in rooms eg, places of interest , restaurant menu, ironing board and iron as available in other hotels, and please sort out some parking, overall a pleasent stay in salisbury will definately return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warboyskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Myself and 9 friends spent a day at the flower show at the cathedral. At nine oclock in the morning we could not find a place for coffee and in hindsight wish we had then thought of the Red Lion Hotel.
We had booked lunch at The Red Lion, (£10 for two courses, very good value) for a specific time to fit in with our tickets, our meal which was superb was served quickly and efficently giving us plenty of time to get to the cathedral.
We were so impressed we returned for afternoon tea, which was equilly well served and excellent quality

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My family and i just stayed at the weekend. Although the rooms are a little dated the journey up to our family room was dead quirky and old style, with my eight year old saying "ooh mum Its a bit spooky!. No ghosts in our large faimly room which had ample space to swing a toy or too. Comfortable bed although well springy. Had a good nights sleep apart from the fact that this is a central city hotel and late at night the local club can be heard. Saying that there was a hotel opposite and a few others scattered about that would have also had this issue. I notice on a few of the reviews on this hotel that this has been mentioned so for the record yes if its a saturday evening you will hear the clubs in the distance but it wont stop you from sleeping,if anything it will send you off into a deep sleep. My husband is dead fussy but to my surprise he loved this hotel, for all its oldie worldie quirkyness the staff couldnt have been more helpful, the breakfast was super and the lounge area and courtyard to the hotel is real asset. Its a relaxed base to stay from despite the old bit of wallpaper comng off the wall or the chinz style bed covers its great value for money in a good central city location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulkums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Red Lion after your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel is really beautiful, the staff was super helpful (even bringing us a space heater when we couldn't warm up from being in the rain at Stonehenge all evening). Salisbury is a lovely little town, we bought all kinds of things at the Charity Shops and many little independent shops along the way (so much so that we had to buy an additional piece of luggage to go back to London with). The hotel was charming, the food in the restaurant was horrible, I would strongly advise you to eat somewhere else, its a town brimming with nice places to eat, but our meal was just the worst.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lion Hotel

I was pleased you enjoyed shopping in our wonderful city and also enjoyed the hotel and surroundings.

I was disappointed to read your comments on the food you were served and wished you had brought your concerns to the staff working that evening so we could have exchanged your meals for something that suited you better. I dont get many complaints about our offering but apologise that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews