We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge(Salisbury)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$157
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
328
396
203
87
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
396
203
87
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe vinecar parkbeautiful courtyardafternoon teaold coaching innlovely old hotelhistoric hotellounge areasuperior roomlots of charactersconesfour poster bedold buildingcentre of towncentral locationbreakfast was excellentsalisbury cathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We visited the Red Lion in early June, at the end of a week and a half in London, at the beginning of a 4 day trip through Wiltshire for genealogy and family research. Salisbury was our first stop. We needed to be near St Thomas and also the Cathedral, and the location and price of the Red Lion worked nicely for our purposes. We were late in arriving due to delays in London, and only had one day and one night in Salisbury (not long enough !). The staff, through the reservation process was helpful, although there was a conflict between a rate shown on the web site and what I was offered. We had 3 in our party, and they were able to accommodate us in one room. Two of us have celiac disease, and the the staff at the Vine was very helpful with gluten free food. Overall, the Hotel had charm, friendly, helpful staff and a great location. The room was ok, and the location was great. We would certainly stay there again, and do plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLouBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

From: Leigh, Simon [mailto:LeighS@autonation.com]
Sent: 15 August 2011 00:04
To: Rachael Adams
Subject: RE: birthday cake message



My Dear Rachel



What a wonderful experience we all had at the luncheon for my mother. You had done everything you had promised, the flowers were beautiful and the cake made my mum cry. I did not and could not have expected more. Thank you so much for your effort, it made our day very special. I wish that all services were offered with your level of professionalism. My I only disappointment is that I did not get to thank you in person.



Take care........Simon.



Simon (Sam) Leigh (Prod Mgr)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We spent one night here, and hope to return for a longer visit. The hotel is a 13th century building and staying here is like going back in history, in terms of some of the physical features, which have been retained and incorporated into the design. The hotel is well into the 21sy century in terms of facilities, comfort and staff's attention to detail and courtesy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellightScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Red Lion is perhaps the oldest purposed building in the UK, being built in the 13th century. The decor is very attractive, down to the stuffed lions on the beds. We had a nice stay here though they did not have the rooms we requested. The mattresses could use replacement as well. Still, the rooms were large and the bathrooms as well. The lounge was comfortable and there was adequate staff to take care of visitors - something we have found not always to be true. Also, the location is excellent, being in the city center and near the cathedral. Parking is nearby but not terribly convenient as you have to feed the meter in the car park until 6pm. It is free from 6pm to 8am, but then you have to pay again for the morning. The courtyard is lovely with a Virginia creeper vine overhanging the terrace. It was raining when we were there, but it would be a wonderful place to sit and have dinner. Internet was free and easy to access.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

room 73:
- cheap decor and furniture which my grandma would have loved in cca 1970
- cheap, disgusting geen bathroom lino
- tile grout around shower/bath is dirty, black and stained
- pillow is from concrete?
- blankets look horrible, old and worn out. Using sheets on top of them, instead of quality duvets, is unacceptable these days
- kettle and spoons were dirty
- cheap, random pictures on the walls
- hot room felt suffocating and had to have windows closed due to the noise from the street
- no fridge and cold drinks
- beds are the smallest single size we have ever seen
- smallish TV screen hangs very low on the wall, just next to the table
And for all this luxury we have had privilege to pay GBP 103.50.
Management should go to Continent to see what you get for that sort of money. In Prague - butique hotels around the Castle or Intercontinental out of season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler1234596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Guest

I was sorry to read your comments on your stay at the hotel. We have an on going refurb programme looking at pillows and tiles and am sorry that the room you stayed in was not upto your standards.

On the rest of your feedback I must say that I feel you booked the wrong hotel as we are a 13th century family owned hotel with 51 individually decorted rooms by the owners wife. All decor is in keeping with the history and surroundings of the building and we get great feedback for doing this. We are not a group of hotels offering the same in each room.

I do take on board your feedback and with discuss your comments with our owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews