We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 14th Century Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A 14th Century Gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was a stepping-off point for a quick one week trip my son and I took to this summer.

The hotel is a charming old building, loaded with interesting old furniture and bric a brac.
An arched entrance gives on to a cobbled courtyard with tables and chairs for fair weather dining.

The rooms a smallish, but comfortable, well appointed and impeccably clean. My son and I had to share a king size bed, but we didn't mind. Don't expect the new, somewhat sterile "Best Western Standard" in the rooms. What you get is old English quirky charm.

Dinner was very good and breakfast substantial. The staff were all very gracious.

You can't ask for a better location -just five minutes walk from the cathedral close and forty five minutes by car from Stonehenge.

Good value and a real experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel, I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Red Lion Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    366
    190
    77
    55
See reviews for
172
443
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very good price for a double room!
Large, tidy and hygienic room and bathroom.
Good breakfast
Free wifi
Authentic atmosphere

- : No Parking at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the trouble to write the review on the hotel. I will pass on your comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We loved the olde worlde hotel and its interesting old clocks & furniture made the place full of character. The courtyard is beautiful. Hotel location is great for all of Salisbury including the cathedral. No hotel car park but public car park at rear - expensive though. Do bear in mind that town-centre means pubs & clubs nearby with associated late-night -revelry - kept us awake for a bit.

The family room we were given was large but the furnishings were very old fashioned and 'chintzy'. Just because the hotel is super old doesn't mean that the soft-furnishings have to be. On the plus-side the en-suite had a large bath as well as shower - really useful if you've got kids.

The cooked breakfast was sadly of 'Truck-Stop' Quality i.e big and greasy. The staff were in-attentive and did not resolve an issue I had - tomato juice that had been watered down with Sparkling Water - Uugh.

Overall a bit of a let-down.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank for taking the time to review the hotel and for the positive comments made from your stay.

I was sorry to read your comments on the room and can confirm that as a hotel we are constantly upgrading and refurbishing are rooms and have highlighted the importance of making sure all rooms are of an excellent standard. I was also sorry to read about your breakfast and apologise that this was for you poor on the day. We have many great comments about are breakfast, but sorry we failed to meet your expectationson this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel was ok, nice big rooms but all very dated and old fashioned. The staff were very friendly.
The shower was not good, could really do with an up-date. And the main reason for my "not so good" review is that the hotel has made the awful choice to have the sheet/blanket/quilt cover scenario instead of just a plain dovet. I find this option very unsatisfactory as you know that the blanket/top quilt does not get cleaned inbetween stays!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler99Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartearp, General Manager at Best Western Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel after your stay. I was sorry to read that you were disatified with our choice of bed linen used in all our indivdually decorated rooms, we are looking into changing to duvets but at present feel the whole experience of a 13th century hotel best served by keeping the decor and bed offer to a more traditional standard.

We hope this will not put you off from revisiting the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We visited the Red Lion in early June, at the end of a week and a half in London, at the beginning of a 4 day trip through Wiltshire for genealogy and family research. Salisbury was our first stop. We needed to be near St Thomas and also the Cathedral, and the location and price of the Red Lion worked nicely for our purposes. We were late in arriving due to delays in London, and only had one day and one night in Salisbury (not long enough !). The staff, through the reservation process was helpful, although there was a conflict between a rate shown on the web site and what I was offered. We had 3 in our party, and they were able to accommodate us in one room. Two of us have celiac disease, and the the staff at the Vine was very helpful with gluten free food. Overall, the Hotel had charm, friendly, helpful staff and a great location. The room was ok, and the location was great. We would certainly stay there again, and do plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLouBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

From: Leigh, Simon [mailto:LeighS@autonation.com]
Sent: 15 August 2011 00:04
To: Rachael Adams
Subject: RE: birthday cake message



My Dear Rachel



What a wonderful experience we all had at the luncheon for my mother. You had done everything you had promised, the flowers were beautiful and the cake made my mum cry. I did not and could not have expected more. Thank you so much for your effort, it made our day very special. I wish that all services were offered with your level of professionalism. My I only disappointment is that I did not get to thank you in person.



Take care........Simon.



Simon (Sam) Leigh (Prod Mgr)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We spent one night here, and hope to return for a longer visit. The hotel is a 13th century building and staying here is like going back in history, in terms of some of the physical features, which have been retained and incorporated into the design. The hotel is well into the 21sy century in terms of facilities, comfort and staff's attention to detail and courtesy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellightScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing