We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent relaxing stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed overnight after spending the day exploring Salisbury. From the minute of entering the reception the atmosphere was efficient, relaxed and friendly. The bedroom and ensuite were delightful, clean and cosy.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening having three courses and drinks being pleasantly surprised by the quality, presentation and taste of the food. Excellent advice from the restaurant staff about choices of food.
Relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea in the lounge with a real fire to sit round.
Do not stay here if you want contemporary and modern but if you enjoy cosy, historical, friendly and value for money then this is the place for you.
The staff could not be more professional or helpful than if this was the Ritz!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    359
    181
    74
    53
See reviews for
168
428
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The service is quick and the room was large. Food was good. The hotel needs updating but the bathroom was modern and very nice. It was clean. It made traveling with kids easy. Parking behind the hotel was close by and easy access. Stonehenge wasn't far. City center.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze_p123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Character filled hotel and great location

Downside! Rooms need renovating, hard beds and no parking! Could park around the back in a council car park.

Nice touch with a soft teddy lion on the beds

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Try it I liked it close to cathedral and town centre, good close parking outside only after 6 pm it's free

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpcorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Comfortable double room with full breakfast for two, costing £50, via hotel web site. They also gave us voucher for £1 each off a drink in the bar. Meal in the restaurant was excellent and good value.

Staff really are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed in Salisbury on business recently and The Red Lion hotel was recommended to me. I am a bit confused in writing this review as I have nothing negative to say about the hotel but I just can't work up how it cost £250 a night for a room and breakfast considering places like the Four Seasons just up the road in Hampshire can charge less.

The rooms were very comfortable but fussy. I had dark red walls, a four poster bed, lots of drapes etc. it was very dark and spooky. It barely had any room for working/desk space given the size.

I met my colleague in the bar. A bit of an odd place again. No one in it. It felt a bit like a working men's club bar area.

The staff throughout the stay were very friendly and faultless.

Breakfast was superb. Great service (like the bar) and speedy. Fresh hot English breakfast and buffet continental was available. Could not fault the breakfast and in fact, was one of the best I have had in a hotel.

So - I like the Red Lion, but it just wasn't my taste - and most of all, £250 a night for the room? I left happy but most of all, because I was not paying.

Room Tip: Not sure. Ask?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

After spending nearly 5 months tooing and froming from the Red Lion, I can categorically say that it is the most incredible hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff are the politest, most helpful people I have ever met and every room is furnished to the highest standard. I genuinely can't recommend this hotel highly enough...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel, they are the same price, but MUCH nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing