We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We loved this hotel, the staff are very professional and polite. Wonderful rooms with the little touch of Rory the Lion sitting on your bed. Great breakfast in the morning, it is so good to get a decent poached egg - great selections for breakfast. We had a minor problem with breakfast and it was immediately replaced and refunded - amazing

In the afternoon we sat in the lounge area, read a complimentary newspaper and truly relaxed with tea and cake.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

The red Lion is a beautiful old hotel right in the centre of the city. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the public rooms are beautiful and welcoming and all the staff are friendly and helpful. It is a real 'home from home' and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: All our rooms were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifuljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is what a hotel should be. Welcoming, busy and warm. Fantastic position and a very attractive courtyard. Comfortable rooms and good service. My third hotel this week - and the runaway winner!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Red Lion is really well positioned in the heart of Salisbury. Its what you'd expect from and old English hotel. Room was comfortable clean - old fashioned but nice.
The bar area was very good and the staff were very helpful.
I didn't eat there but the restaurant was busy.

Overall - great old fashioned Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shorehambeachUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Another unexpected stay in a place we hadn't planned on staying in. Had a flat on the rental car which came without a spare. Towed into Salisbury but were told the tire couldn't be repaired until the next day. As we had an open agenda, we booked ourselves in the Best Western. The hotel has some deep roots (read it is an old building). Our room was comfortable if not unique in shape and size. Had a fireplace but we hit England in a heat way. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try for a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agforguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed overnight after spending the day exploring Salisbury. From the minute of entering the reception the atmosphere was efficient, relaxed and friendly. The bedroom and ensuite were delightful, clean and cosy.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening having three courses and drinks being pleasantly surprised by the quality, presentation and taste of the food. Excellent advice from the restaurant staff about choices of food.
Relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea in the lounge with a real fire to sit round.
Do not stay here if you want contemporary and modern but if you enjoy cosy, historical, friendly and value for money then this is the place for you.
The staff could not be more professional or helpful than if this was the Ritz!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The service is quick and the room was large. Food was good. The hotel needs updating but the bathroom was modern and very nice. It was clean. It made traveling with kids easy. Parking behind the hotel was close by and easy access. Stonehenge wasn't far. City center.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suze_p123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
581 reviews
3 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing