We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for the nightclub across the road” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient for the nightclub across the road”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Our room was just above the night club across the road. All that separates you from the noise of the drunks on the street is a single pane of glass and even that was cracked. There are in fact a lot of rooms in the hotel facing this road. The nightclub quietens down at 3:30am...

If it wasn't for that it would have been fine.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    355
    178
    70
    53
See reviews for
160
417
45
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed one night free via my rewards points. Had a lovely room [21] although a little noisy due to the kitchen extractor fan, the room was lovely with some original beams and wonky floor which made it very cosy.
Bathroom was of a good size and had a corner bath with shower over.
The biggest let down was the food, due to the poor weather we booked a table in the restaurant [had planned to go to a nearby Thai] Starters where fine but we both ordered sirloin steak,for £16.95 you received an 8oz steak, chips, peas, half a flat mushroom and 1 onion ring. well one steak came out fine the other was underdone and consisted of approx' 45/50 % fat,
No body asked us at any stage how our meal was, so when the waitress collected the plates we informed her of the problem, she then went and got the assistant restaurant manager, Adam, He decided to argue with me and insisted that the steak had 'very little' fat on it, so I asked him to get the remains of it from the kitchen so I could show his manager, about 5 minutes later the manager arrived to apologise. This was accepted and we informed him that we would not be paying for the steak. This then followed by the chef coming out to also chat about the issue with us, all to much really for a bad steak.
Breakfast was also a shambles with luke warm full english which also consisted of have a slice of black pudding each?
So enjoy the lovely hotel and lounge areas including the bar but avoid the food, there are plenty of places to eat in Salisbury.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wachtberg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Red Lion Hotel is right in the center of Salisbury. Every corner of the hotel spreads the typical good old English atmosphere. The rooms to the garden side of the hotel are reasonably quiet. All in all, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon 40 years ago and thought it would be nice and romantic to return for our Ruby Wedding. We were given room 17 complete with 4 poster - a lovely old room furnished in period style. It was a shame that the mattress dips into the middle from all directions and that there was an old, worn-out brown blanket for bedclothes. Surely it's time to replace this!
The shower must be really difficult for staff to clean as there is no hose attachment just a waterfall showerhead hence the stained grouting.
The meals in the restaurant were really tasty and the staff delightful. One or two of the ledges require a bit more attention to remove dust particularly in areas impeded by tables. A resident ghost shook my chair (not a frightening experience at all) while I was waiting for my meal and I was informed that this is one of the areas in which they appear.
My main complaint that I had to make was that I put on a towelling robe after showering on the first night only to find a dirty tissue in the pocket - not nice! Clearly this hadn't been changed by housekeeping between occupants but the duty manager apologised and has assured us this will be brought to the team's attention. It was just disappointing that it had happened in the first place.
We paid for secure parking only to return after our first day to find that the car park was stuffed full with visitors who hadn't paid - one of whom was a woman with 2 dogs in her car who said she was going to be at least another hour while her husband completed his business there. She wasn't going to shift come hell or high water. The cars were shunted around but this did take up valuable time from our very short stay.
All in all we had a really nice time and the reception and restaurant staff are really helpful. If staying here you just have to accept that this is a VERY old building with its quirky ways and we had definite experiences of another friendly ghost but I'm not going to tell you where!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuccaSiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I wanted to treat my wife to a day of shopping in Salisbury, along with an evening meal and overnight stay for our anniversary. When looking on the Internet at various hotels, the Red Lion caught my eye. We walked under the arch into the lovely courtyard. We were greeted by friendly staff at check-in whom even helped with our luggage!

We stayed in Room 17 which considering this was a surprise for my wife for our wedding anniversary was quite adept in having a four poster bed thus adding me some extra romantic points.

The Room was a very good size and the decor is unlike any other hotel room we have had the pleasure to stay in. The Galley style bathroom is quirky with the skylight window above the shower cubicle inventive!

Our original plan was to have an evening meal in Salisbury but on first impressions of the Hotel, decided to eat in the Hotels Vine Restaurant. The food was very impressive as was the service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I had always wanted to see Stonehenge, so at the last minute we randomly found this hotel on the internet and booked, just for a place to lay our heads. WOW, from the moment we passed through the coach arch, under the drapes of Virginia ivy, into a flowerful courtyard, we knew we were in for a treat! The lobby kept the authentic decor, awesome clock! We were checking in late and the restaurant was past the 9 o clock seating, yet at 9:30 they stayed opened for us! So glad they did, the food was delicious! The pate with blueberry preserves was the best I have had in my life, and their take on Shepherds pie was absolutely divine!! The service was warm, completely hospitable, prompt, both in the restaurant and at the front desk.
We booked an upgraded room, opened the door to our room to be greeted by the most delightful lounge area, with a fireplace and seperate TV. The bedroom was large, beautifully decorated with a nice bathroom. We overlooked the courtyard, the noise did not bother us, the windows kept the noise out to our satisfaction.

After a day exploring gorgeous Salisbury, which has delightful surprises around every corner, we returned to the hotel to find the Morris Men (British dancing men in flowered hats and knickers with sticks!!) all dancing around in the court yard, which was packed with happy people from all over the world! They have a cute red lion statue which kids were playing on, what a fun way to end a perfect afternoon! We then had to dine at their restaurant again, and it was every bit as yummy as the night before, we had the steaks.

btw, they accidentally overcharged our room by about $20, and they cheerfully and immediately refunded it, what a concept!

We have already decided to make this our Salisbury hotel, we cannot wait to return and for sure will book here again! We loved every single thing about this hotel, and what value for the money!! We love the history of the hotel, built in the year 1220! We everything about it!

Room Tip: Ask for room 17, the four poster room with the beamed ceiling, I peeked in while they were cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, set in a great location. We stayed in room #27 which overlooks the courtyard which is alive with birdsong and covered in greenery and nesting birds. The room is a reasonable size with a separate sitting area which suits us just fine. However, the room smelt stale and needed a good clean. There are old-fashioned brown cellular blankets on the bed which, frankly have seen better days probably in the 1970's. It was from the blankets and the canopy at the bed head that the stale smell emanated from. There was a layer of dust clearly visible on the soft furnishings of the canopy which indicated that this has been in-situ for a considerable time. Beside the bed are two round tables covered in tablecloths which in turn have glass tops placed on them. A layer of dust around the edge of the tables at the edge of the glass tops is also clearly visible. All these items need washing. The blanket is so ancient that it looks as if it will fall apart if it is laundered and I suggest it needs replacing.

There are two wooden cat ornaments in the rooms both of which are attached by chains to the walls! Is this really necessary?

The shower cubicle is badly stained and the shower head is caked with deposits. I have posted photographs of all these things so they cannot be disputed.

On the first morning we ate breakfast in the conservatory. The table had not been cleaned after the previous diners and crumbs and sticky rings were clearly to be seen. We requested this was cleaned and was cheerfully attended to by a young waitress. We also noticed that a wooden dresser at the back of the room had a very outdated table lamp chained to it!!!!

The following morning we ate breakfast in the main dining room and this was much cleaner with a fresh table cloth. Breakfast itself is more than adequate with a great number of choices.

This review seems like one long moan and I am sorry about that. However, clean rooms, fresh smelling beds and linen are basic requirements.

We enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and the hotel is comfortable. We would recommend friends to visit here and we definitely would return if we could be assured that the basic cleaning had been carried out.

Room Tip: We were disturbed by noise from revellers on both nights but the hotel cannot be faulted for this. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Best Western
Salisbury Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing