We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Crookham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, attentive staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Fantastic central location, the staff were very attentive indeed and the place is fascinating, full of artefacts from years gone by. Great to read the history of the hotel in the information book in the room. Very well furnished and appointed room, some décor slightly 'tired' but didn't detract from our enjoyment. The breakfast was great, a wide choice of cold and freshly-cooked food available.

Room Tip: Quietist rooms probably on 2nd floor away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie504041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    366
    190
    77
    55
See reviews for
172
443
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Mids
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

What a pleasant change to stay in an independent hotel, a real contrast to the stereotypical chain, the hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Salisbury, there are only six parking spots but the public car park next door is close and free between 6-00pm and 8-00am, if you pay the evening before the ticket doesn’t start to run until 8-00 am the next day, great system and no early morning dash to pay.
The hotel is a wonderful eclectic mix of furniture with some magnificent dressers; the lounge and bar have a variety of chairs, all comfortable and an open fire.. The bedroom was looking a bit dated and the mattresses and pillows are ready for a change but they were comfortable and the whole room was immaculately clean and well-equipped. We overlooked the internal car park so we heard no noise at all, some of the rooms face the street but I do not if this is a problem or not.
The staff were unfailingly cheerful and helpful, we had a bar meal the first night which was freshly cooked and well-served, the bar staff in particular were very interactive and helpful.
We have stayed many times in Salisbury at Hotels and B&Bs and have paid a lot more for a lot less, we will be returning. A good old-fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we stayed for valentines weekend. we had a double room ,we looked at upgrading but preferred the cosyness and decor of the double.The room was very clean as so was the bathroom ,the shower was powerful and nice and hot.The staff were very helpful and gave good information where to park and about the hotel facilities ,we had the cooked breakfast which was really tasty .We skipped out on the hotels restaurant due to prices ,we found lovely places to eat about town though.The only down point or should i say funny point was the wall to the next room was thin and we could hear valentine goings on with the couple next door.but we did laugh about it.Over all we enjoyed our stay here and would come back .we had a living social deal so it was very reasonable.

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room as some are near the aircon/airducts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubedoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We managed to find a special offer for this hotel and boy was it a bargain. A centuries old hotel, its origins date back to the thirteenth century. If you cant stay there whilst in Salisbury, go and have a coffee and see how lovely it is.

Right in the centre of Salisbury, great for the Cathedral. Twice a day there is a tower tour at the Cathedral for a birds eye view of the city but it books up quickly so maybe worth prebooking.

No lockable safe in room. Good bath with good shower above. Nice towels. Plenty of tea/coffee

Room Tip: The hotel can offer limited parking but you can park next to the hotel very easily. If you check th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill.e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in Red Lion for two nights. Hotel was just what we were expecting, our room maybe even more. I loved decor of our room and bathroom. Breakfast was good. Hotel is very close to tourist info (tickets to Stonehenge tour) and bus station. Salisbury Cathedral is in a walking distance and so is train station too. We would stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0ffee_Break
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

After the disaster that is the "bonnington beach hotel" this was Nirwana.
Beautiful 12th century inn jst oozing opulence and charm.
Nothing was too much trouble for any one.. Great gothic bed, flat screen ty and spotless throughout.Would not hesitate to stay here again or sing its praises to anyone .

Room Tip: From our stay, would not think there is a bad room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Red Lion in Salisbury is currently owned by a member of the Maidment family. It is run by Great Western company. It is a charming building which was built in appreox 1245. It is ful;l of original features and the rooms have old oak beams a\nd panels. It has a very unusual clock in the entrance area and is full of history and old furniture. Carvec bed heads with characteres in them and the legs have figures carved in the feet. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival. The rooms are all en suite and have tea and coffee provided. The beds are very comfortable with deep mattrresses and very plump pillows. If you love history you will love this hotel. The Salisbury Cathedral is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. also there are some charming shopping areas.

Room Tip: we had room 19 and it was lovely. There is also a restaurant and 2 bars. Food is very good there as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
772 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing