We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An cosy gem for a trip into yesteryear and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An cosy gem for a trip into yesteryear and beyond”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Discovered by chance late on a Saturday afternoon, we could not have found a better place for a sort visit to Salisbury. Connected since the 1200's to the city, the hotel, cosy old leather lounge and bar, generous victorian rooms and bath, sleeping under blankets, it provides a lovely and calming trip into more gentle times. Similarly breakfast was a traditional treat. Comfortable, like an old couch, but not lacking any amenities. Perfectly situated in the centre of historic Salisbury, an easy walk to the Cathedral, shops and restaurants. Further, it is really affordable and an excellent option for travellers or friends of all ages. Parking is convenient too. Look out for a feature cat and bird on the hotel roof.

Room Tip: Some rooms are connected, ours faced inward toward the quad and pub, which may be more quiet than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    363
    187
    75
    54
See reviews for
170
435
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We went to the cafe of Best Western Red Lion Hotel. I must say we were surrounded with very authentic atmosphere. We had English afternoon tea- amazing value for under £10! Highly recommended.
The only downside was luck of the baby changing room facilities.
Would go back again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMTRIPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had a city break in Salisbury at end of February 2013. First time in the city. We found the Red Lion hotel far exceeded our expectations, as did Salisbury itself and surrounding area. The hotel is centrally located, of venerable age, with parts dating back to 12c. The old coaching area has outside tables ( for whatever summers we might get) festooned with a creeper of equally venerable age. Inside there are many seating areas, with open fires, a friendly bar, restaurant, great cooked breakfast (I had haddock with poached egg cooked to order), interesting clocks and furniture - parts of reception felt like an old (and wonderful) film set. Prices very reasonable, our bedroom comfortable, quiet, spotlessly clean, very large and with generous tea and coffee making facilities. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, but can't believe it wouldn't be to the same standard as everything else. Staff offered just the right level of attentiveness and everyone keen to ensure we enjoyed our stay - which we absolutely did. No hesitation in saying the Red Lion one of the most pleasant hotels we've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Can't offer an orientation but our room was on 1st floor in the new-ish (but very well done) ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Funny but I would recommend a stay at this hotel even though my room was cold for the two days I stayed at the Red Lion. The hotel itself has loads of character, the food (breakfast) was fine, the staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 1630hrs and was made welcome with a speedy booking at reception. Advised where our rooms were but as we were on a KGB deal we were in an annex and not the main part of the hotel so did not see the Gothic beds. Our room was a very good size and clean, television and free WiFi The only complaint about the room was they were very noisy at night as we overlooked a side street
Went out at 1700hrs to a couple of local pubs as we are CAMRA members and had dinner booked at the hotel at 2000hrs. Had one pint of real ale in the Red Lion on our return which was especially brewed for them, it was the worst pint we had all weekend!
The waitress was efficient and friendly, the dining room is lovely with blue willow plates of all shapes and sizes hung in every available space.The food was excellent and very good value, £22 for 3 courses. Each course was delicious and very tasty, My only complaint was the dessert, I ordered Bakewell tart with clotted cream but the cream was a dash of whipped cream which was disappointing but the tart made up for it as it was superb and the pastry was divine. Would love to stay in this hotel in the summer as there is a beautiful courtyard outside with tables and chairs and you can imagine sitting there in the shade with a drink.
The lounge area is very comfortable with gas fires and plenty of seats available.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard as you would not be disturbed by late night revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulanwy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crookham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Fantastic central location, the staff were very attentive indeed and the place is fascinating, full of artefacts from years gone by. Great to read the history of the hotel in the information book in the room. Very well furnished and appointed room, some décor slightly 'tired' but didn't detract from our enjoyment. The breakfast was great, a wide choice of cold and freshly-cooked food available.

Room Tip: Quietist rooms probably on 2nd floor away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie504041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

What a pleasant change to stay in an independent hotel, a real contrast to the stereotypical chain, the hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Salisbury, there are only six parking spots but the public car park next door is close and free between 6-00pm and 8-00am, if you pay the evening before the ticket doesn’t start to run until 8-00 am the next day, great system and no early morning dash to pay.
The hotel is a wonderful eclectic mix of furniture with some magnificent dressers; the lounge and bar have a variety of chairs, all comfortable and an open fire.. The bedroom was looking a bit dated and the mattresses and pillows are ready for a change but they were comfortable and the whole room was immaculately clean and well-equipped. We overlooked the internal car park so we heard no noise at all, some of the rooms face the street but I do not if this is a problem or not.
The staff were unfailingly cheerful and helpful, we had a bar meal the first night which was freshly cooked and well-served, the bar staff in particular were very interactive and helpful.
We have stayed many times in Salisbury at Hotels and B&Bs and have paid a lot more for a lot less, we will be returning. A good old-fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Red Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Address: Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Red Lion
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing